36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I feel like I just found the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. I mean come on: 12 grams of protein and 8 grams of dietary fiber per bun, wow! Now, let me tell you, applesauce is a decent substitute for butter in bread like recipes (quick breads, muffins, etc.) - Though to test this hypothesis, and so I didn't risk giving this recipe a faulty review, I made it both ways. Both turned out equally as moist and bouncy; although, they varied in taste ever so slightly. If you are a health-nut (in training) like I am, forgo the butter and use an equal measurement of applesauce. Also be aware of the bowl size you use: the width at the largest point of your bowl will likely be the size of your bun. I used this for the Honey Apple Grilled Cheese Sandwich. Made for PAC Spring 2010.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene April 08, 2010

Amazing low carb bun! I added 2-3 extra tbsp of the ground flax seed to get mine more like a paste and microwaved for about 1 minute 10 seconds. I thought this recipe sounded odd, but it turned out yummy, and tasted like a light fluffy bread. I will definitely be making this again - it made me feel like I wasn't missing out on a nice cheeseburger dinner by trying to make a lettuce wrap. Thanks for the recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oelkesm September 12, 2011

This is awesome!!! It makes the best bun for a bacon cheeseburger with a fried egg topping. Thank you!!! Perfect for the low carber. The taste is great but doesn't overpower the burger. Next time I might try toasting it after slicing it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chokolate911 August 19, 2011

Perfect for anyone watching their carbs! I am on Atkins and was very hesitant to try this but figured I had nothing to lose. I made this with a turkey burger, some lettuce and a little bit of Caesar dressing - yum! With grilling season here I have really missed a bun for my burger but I actually forgot I wasn't eating a real bun. Another benefit is I couldn't finish the burger because it was filling. That never happens with me! This is a keeper.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicats June 19, 2011

It was easy and fast to make and for someone who is on a low- carb diet this was nice with my burger. I would suggest adding onion and garlic powder and 1-2 more tbsp of flax to make it firmer. All in all it was good, and I will be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbie433134 April 29, 2014

Absolute winner! I was shocked that coming out of the microwave so fluffy and bread like. The only change I made was to use garlic/herb butter and added a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese. *note: to help with the

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Comonemo March 06, 2014

This was interesting! I definitely think the recipe is worth playing with. For me it was too eggy
and sort of moist, if that makes sense. I felt like it was too squishy when I bit into it. I will try using less egg or more flax see next time. Thanks for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word March 12, 2013

Wasn't good but it wasn't terrible either. I started to eat it with my burger but after a few bites I took it off & ate the burger without it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh December 24, 2010

Quick, easy and delicious! Now when we have hamburgers I can whip this up for my celiac stepdaughter who can't eat wheat - no fuss, no mess and she loves it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 April 11, 2010

This is a great recipe. I make a flat bread/pancake with the same ingredients by pouring the batter in a thin layer into a silicone cake pan instead of a bowl. I add garlic and onion powder or splenda and cinnamon for the pancake.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simmfan January 26, 2009
Very Low-Carb Hamburger Bun!