Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Low-Carb Hamburger Bun! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Low-Carb Hamburger Bun!

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2010

      I feel like I just found the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. I mean come on: 12 grams of protein and 8 grams of dietary fiber per bun, wow! Now, let me tell you, applesauce is a decent substitute for butter in bread like recipes (quick breads, muffins, etc.) - Though to test this hypothesis, and so I didn't risk giving this recipe a faulty review, I made it both ways. Both turned out equally as moist and bouncy; although, they varied in taste ever so slightly. If you are a health-nut (in training) like I am, forgo the butter and use an equal measurement of applesauce. Also be aware of the bowl size you use: the width at the largest point of your bowl will likely be the size of your bun. I used this for the Honey Apple Grilled Cheese Sandwich. Made for PAC Spring 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      Amazing low carb bun! I added 2-3 extra tbsp of the ground flax seed to get mine more like a paste and microwaved for about 1 minute 10 seconds. I thought this recipe sounded odd, but it turned out yummy, and tasted like a light fluffy bread. I will definitely be making this again - it made me feel like I wasn't missing out on a nice cheeseburger dinner by trying to make a lettuce wrap. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      This is awesome!!! It makes the best bun for a bacon cheeseburger with a fried egg topping. Thank you!!! Perfect for the low carber. The taste is great but doesn't overpower the burger. Next time I might try toasting it after slicing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      Perfect for anyone watching their carbs! I am on Atkins and was very hesitant to try this but figured I had nothing to lose. I made this with a turkey burger, some lettuce and a little bit of Caesar dressing - yum! With grilling season here I have really missed a bun for my burger but I actually forgot I wasn't eating a real bun. Another benefit is I couldn't finish the burger because it was filling. That never happens with me! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      This was interesting! I definitely think the recipe is worth playing with. For me it was too eggy
      and sort of moist, if that makes sense. I felt like it was too squishy when I bit into it. I will try using less egg or more flax see next time. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      Wasn't good but it wasn't terrible either. I started to eat it with my burger but after a few bites I took it off & ate the burger without it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Quick, easy and delicious! Now when we have hamburgers I can whip this up for my celiac stepdaughter who can't eat wheat - no fuss, no mess and she loves it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I make a flat bread/pancake with the same ingredients by pouring the batter in a thin layer into a silicone cake pan instead of a bowl. I add garlic and onion powder or splenda and cinnamon for the pancake.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      This was wonderful. I was truly amazed. I did use 1/2 flax and 1/2 oat flour. This is my new miracle bread. Also used Smart Balance instead of butter. Thank you sooooo much....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      Hello, I wanted to thank you for posting this recipe. I made it this morning as I wanted bread! Ate it with some smoked herring, it was delicious. Very like a flaxmeal bread I make often. Thanks again MissJam

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2014

    • on October 02, 2014

      This is a great hamburger bun. Instead of using just flax seed meal, I used 2 T flax seed meal and 2T soy flour. The bun is not only tasty but it is firm enough to hold a burger patty with all the fixings for a delicious meal. Thank you Jainene !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2014

      This is the best! Please note for users new to flax seed meal...you have to use GOLDEN FLAXSEED MEAL. The brown will taste chemical. That being said, this is a very flexible recipe, but in the end I like it best toasted after I slice it. I pour half into 2 ramekins, cook for 1.30 min, let cool, cut in half and toast. This will give you 2 buns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2014

      It was easy and fast to make and for someone who is on a low- carb diet this was nice with my burger. I would suggest adding onion and garlic powder and 1-2 more tbsp of flax to make it firmer. All in all it was good, and I will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      Absolute winner! I was shocked that coming out of the microwave so fluffy and bread like. The only change I made was to use garlic/herb butter and added a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese. *note: to help with the

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      Excellent. More like an English muffin than a bun. Toasting removed the eggy-ness. I added an extra T of flax, used 1/2 C egg substitute, and added 1/2 t onion powder. Next time I will use applesauce. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2013

      Worked great toasted for a tuna sandwich. Might try something instead of egg next time, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2013

      I'm sorry to disagree, but these were awful. I couldn't stand more than one bite. Not even edible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2013

      Just made this to-day and it actually had the look and consistency of bread. The calories and fat were high, so I left out the butter and nuked for 2 minutes in a quiche bowl....turned out great. Any suggestions on what could be added for a less nutty flavour?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      Awesome easy recipe! I made this for lunch and got four slices, so 2 small sandwiches. I used a straight sided soup mug and this rose to the top of it. I cut the fat quite a bit by using egg white, a shy 1/3 cup, and one tablespoon of grape seed oil rather than butter. This needed about twenty seconds longer to cook, probably because I used such a small diameter mug, but the end result was fantastic. Tastes like a whole wheat, but with a lighter texture. Thanks for sharing! Update 3/19: Just did this on an oiled plate (olive oil) with the batter spread super thin and made a flatbread breakfast sandwich with it. Just nuked for about thirty seconds at a time and checked it. Loosened and flipped it over so it wasn't too "wet," then filled and folded.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Low-Carb Hamburger Bun!

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 425.8
     
    Calories from Fat 356
    83%
    Total Fat 39.6 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 17.1 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 247.0 mg
    82%
    Sodium 541.2 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes