Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Creamy Vegetable Chowder a la Moosewood Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Creamy Vegetable Chowder a la Moosewood

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2003

      OH MAN,This soup is still dancing across my tongue!!Even though I have every other vegetarian cook book known to man (so my DH says),I don't have the classic, Moosewood.I can see I really am going to have to get it!!Thanks for posting this WONDERFUL soup,Tish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Update- this has now become my favourite soup. I make a pot on Sunday and freeze some (yes it freezes fine) and use it through the week. Thank you! mmmm I thought this was lovely, YUM YUM YUM. Thanks for this great recipe. I just added some mushrooms and some chilli flakes as well. Really really good! Will be making this loads :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2003

      my friend teri made us this soup when my son was born. what a fantastic welcome!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      Very tasty, even the carnivore hubby loved it, and no processed cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2012

      This is delicious. Added a can of northern beans for some protein, skipped the cheddar to cut down on calories, skipped the parsley as I didn't have any, subbed 1/4 c cottage cheese for the cream cheese and used water instead of stock to cut down on salt. Very tasty and flavorful soup! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      I thought this was really good. DH thought it was ok. We made last night and let the chowder meld for lunch today. My vegetable broth was unsalted and therefore, I thought the chowder needed quite a bit of added salt for flavor. Thanks for posting. This was enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      totally yummy and best veggie chowder ever! serving size is really 4 main dish bowls or 8 side dish bowls. 2 c onions = 1 medium-large onion; 1 c carrot = 2 carrots; 1.5 c potatoes = 2 medium potatoes; 1 c zucchini = 1 small zucchini. If use maggie brand veggie stock dilute it as it's too strong/salty by itself. Less salt is ok if using veggie stock instead of water. Canned green beans is fine but add them when adding the peas. Can add any other veggies, but rsuggest add 1/2 c. chopped mushrooms when add peas. Use sharp cheddar cheese, shredded is fine instead of grated. Serve with crusty french bread, garlic bread, cornbread, or sandwhiches (like egg salad).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      This was really delicious! Made as written except that I didn't have fresh parsley so just left it out. I was happy to see that it freezes well because I want to take it to my son who is vegetarian! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      This was an ok soup. Nothing special. A great way to add veggies to a diet though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      I highly recommend making this with fresh vegetables. The first time I made it, I tried to cheat and use frozen, but it just watered down the soup and made it very bland. Fresh vegetables are always best, but especially in this soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      Yummy! The technique of blending the cooked veggies with creamcheese and milk produced an outstandingly smooth soup! I re-seasoned my soup after re-adding the puree, putting in more salt and pepper and a pinch of cayenne for some heat. A real winner, and produced a restaurant quality result!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      This was a great recipe! Very easy to make. I just used all the different vegetables I had around and cheeses that I had and it turned out great. Mine did take a little longer to cook, but it was nice and satisfying without being too heavy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      This was fantastic! I used frozen corn instead of zucchini and added extra green beans because I wanted to use them up. I think you could probably use whatever vegetables you like in this recipe as long as you use a variety. It was so delicious and creamy...I will make it over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I've never given any Moosewood recipe less than 5 stars and I'm not about to stick it to this recipe. It was terrific. Oh, and I made it a tad more healthful by using only 1 cup of low fat milk and fat free cream cheese. The cheddar was full fat. This was creamy because the milk and cheeses were blended together. If they had not been blended, I'm certain the cheese would have melted and stayed at the bottom of the pan. This could also have been avoided if you used a processed cheese such as Velveeta, but many people are not Velveeta fans. P.S. I substituted corn for peas because it was what I had on hand. I think I reduced the butter and oil a bit too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      Will be making this again and again. Perfect on a chilly day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Tasty! I just added whatever veggies were in my fridge-- onion, carrot, eggplant, red and yellow peppers, sweet potatoes, regular potatoes etc. I substituted goat cheese and rice milk, and added a pinch of cayenne for a bit of zing. Also, I didn't puree any of it and ate it chunky style and it was still oh so tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      YUMMY as can be! So healthy, delish for me! Makes you feel good to make! For YOUR OWN health...good for goodness sake! Exactly what was looking for today! Makes me FEEL better is a veggie way! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      I made this last night for a small gathering of friends and family. Everyone loved it! Based on some of the comments from other reviewers about the soup being bland, I added a little cayenne pepper and used sharp cheddar cheese. This is simple comfort food at its best. Thanks for posting Tish! (I tried to give this five stars, but I can't get it to work)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      This was really good! Even my picky fiance and kids loved it! I served it with homemade green onion bread to dip in it I was making about 6 other things at the same time and forgot to miz the milk with the cheeses! I just added it right into the soup, heated and it was still fine. I also had just made make ahead mashed potatoes, so I put a spoonful in the soup to thicken it up a little. I think next time I'll make it with extra sharp cheddar, or garlic and onion cheddar. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      Fantastic! Even my family who don't really care for vegetables liked it! Thank you for sharing this recipe. We will make it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Creamy Vegetable Chowder a la Moosewood

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.7
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    52%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 32.4 mg
    10%
    Sodium 618.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes