30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

10 inch pan: I trippled the base. Used the same amounts for the filling. I used a steambath and kept my heat at 325 F for 45min and turned heat off leaving cake in oven for a few hours to cool completely. No cracks.. perfect. I Iced it with with ganache; equal part heavy/whipping cream & semisweet choc chips. Boil cream, remove from heat quickly pour over choc chips and whisk till smooth. Cool 10-20min before icing the cold cake. Don't fridge until it has cooled for at least 25min on the cake. Dress with rasberries.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethyBaby December 06, 2009

Fantastic! My youngest daughter has been begging me to make a chocolate cheesecake for a while now. I made it today and she and my husband LOVED it! Thanks for sharing!!!. I think next time I will try to put a layer of chocolate mousse on top like they do at the "Cheesecake Factory" endless possibilities!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southside Princess June 11, 2008

I have been looking for a chocolate cheesecake recipe and this one is a winner! It's very rich, so cut the slices small. I added a little coffee to the filling and used a store bought oreo cookie base that came in it's own pie pan. The pie pan was filled to the top but it didn't overflow. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jneen April 18, 2011

This was very very rich.Too tasty and I had to stop myself sneaking to the fridge to take another small slice....I made it for my daughter's party-doubled it up too! I also did a whipping cream and semi-sweet chocolate ganache on top-yummo. Best served with plain whipped cream as it is too sweet to serve with icecream, I will make again a definite keeper.Thankyou!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cardamomstars May 20, 2010

Everyone really liked this. I thought it tasted more like a flourless chocolate cake then a cheesecake. Super chocolatey! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meltedcountry January 25, 2010

My lovely DIL is extremely sensitive to gluten but loves chocolate,so I took a chance and made the crust with crushed cornflakes mixed with butter.It was surprisingly good.A nice neutral tasting crust made the filling really shine. Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LSchuell S. October 12, 2013

Awesome! Very rich but everyone loved it. They all started with a sliver of a piece and went back for more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lsunset350z December 27, 2012

I couldn't find the chocolate wafers at the grocery store, so I made a crust with 18 chocolate cream filled Oreo's and 1/4 cup of melted butter. This was the second cheesecake I've ever made in my life, and it's been at least 5 years since I made the first. Well it will not be another 5 years before I made a cheesecake again. This was amazing!! This was definitely restaurant quality. This was so rich, like eating a truffle. I topped it with Jeni's Chocolate Ganache #97213. Made this Friday, started digging into it Saturday night. It's now Sunday and it's gone! Will definitely be making this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boxergurl September 19, 2010

This is the first chocolate cheescake I ever made .... no words can describe it - absolutely a 100 stars!!! My boyfriend was amazed - he just loves cheesecake...thanks for getting me brownie points! Followed another poster's suggestion, glazed the cake with chocolate ganache and served with real whipped cream. I used an Oreo cookie crust. This cake should have a warning label....just like eating truffles!!! Next time I am going to go overboard and spoon cherry pie filling over the cake then add whipping cream!!! Thanks so much for such a great recipe MizzNezz...you are my hero!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue's Kitchen August 03, 2010

wow! this is by far the RICHEST chocolate cheesecake you will EVER taste. it is BEYOND yummy!! i made it for our Easter Dinner yesterday and EVERYBODY loved it (it was the PERFECT dessert for the Port Wine we had). i only made 2 very minor changes to the recipe...1) i used a store bought oreo cookie pie crust, which worked beautifully 2) i made a bittersweet chocolate glaze for the top of the cake that i added a little espresso to. other than that, for the basic cake itself i followed the recipe to the letter. This cake is OUTSTANDING and definitely a keeper of a recipe...thank you so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fancy-pants April 05, 2010
Very Chocolate Cheesecake