23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

excellent...the only banana bread I will ever make from now on...everyone asks when I am making it again...I always add a cup of blueberries....so delicious thanks very much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pamzilla September 13, 2009

Hi Susie - thanks so much for this recipe, it's ace. I've baked the loaf a few times now and it's always been delicious! :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rothko March 23, 2008

This is an awesome recipe!! By far the best banana loaf I have ever made or eaten. Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snappi.1 March 20, 2008

Beautifully moist cake with lots of banana flavour. I've made this twice now. The first time was when I was visiting my parents in Scotland. I only had white sugar, no cinnamon and substituted Irn-Bru (a Scottish fizzy drink that is orange!). Then I dropped one of the loaf tins on the floor so half the recipe was wasted! Then I discovered that the oven only works on grill so you just play around with the temp and cover the top with foil to bake something. It still turned out good apart from the very middle. Now that I'm back home, I had to try the proper recipe - and I have to say that it is brilliant! I only made one loaf this time and the recipe scales down well - and it does need 1 hour 20 minutes baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RonaNZ February 03, 2008

I've made banana loaf in the past but not to my satisfaction. This recipe comes very close. I am still wondering if we can replace coke with boiling water? The loaf tasted awesome and every one liked it. I've shared the recipe with my friends. Thanks much for this perfect recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seren6ipity December 24, 2007

This was the best banana loaf I've ever tasted.It was outstanding.Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
594552 September 22, 2007

I've made dozens of different banana bread recipes, but none as moist as this!! Should be allowed to give more than a 5 star rating. I was doubtful when I saw how thin the batter was, but the resulting loaves were delightful. My loaves were more brown in color than the ones shown, but the moistness and flavor are incredible. I left out the nuts. Thought I might try the recipe with cranraisins next time. Thanks Susie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerNurse July 24, 2007

this is the BEST banana bread i ever had

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dunskydmh March 26, 2005

Oh my gosh...Miss Susie...This is the best banana bread I have ever eaten...And I eaten quite alot. I used a can of vanilla coke because thats all I had. This deserves a 10+ rating...Yummy. Thanks so much for sharing your delious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burrheadssis January 27, 2005

Susie- this is delicious and your right, you'd never know there was coke in there. I made 1/2 the recipe and baked in 3 mini loaf pans for about 50 minutes.I didn't have any dark brown sugar so used the golden brown.I used walnuts as I have a walnut tree so they are free. Thanks for posting this unusual recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorel January 09, 2005
Very Best Banana Loaf