Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Best Banana Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Best Banana Loaf

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2009

      I've been trying Banana bread recipes for more years than I care to remember, looking for the perfect one. I came across this one recently and have made it 3 times now ... excellent results each time. I always have trouble with my loaves falling, with a doughy centre, no matter how long I leave them in the oven ... don't know why. But not this recipe for some reason! I've shared the result with neighbours and have been asked for the recipe. I think I'll stick with this one from now on ... I'm not sure what the cola does, but I think the secret is the dark brown sugar. I just stirred all the dry ingredients together in a big bowl, and whizzed the bananas, oil, eggs, vanilla and cola up with a hand blender separately, them dumped all the liquid into the dry and gave it a good stir before pouring in to sprayed pans & baking. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      I made this yesterday morning and stuck to the recipe exactly. It turned out perfect. In fact, I wrapped one of the loaves and put a bow on it and took it to my sister-in-law's house for dinner last evening. She is an excellent baker and I would never take anything to her house unless I was very, very pleased with it. Thanks, Susie, this one will be made again at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I cannot tell you how greatful I am to have found your recipe on this website. Everyone I know wants to thank you, it is absolutly outstanding.When I made it for the first time the flavor just exploaded in my mouth. I have tried alot of recipes but you certainly have the best one. Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2003

      I just want to thank AuntWoofieWoof for pointing out that the batter will seem to be too thin. I neglected to mention, in my instructions, that the finished batter will be thinner than most recipes for banana bread and do not let that scare you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2003

      This is an EXCELLENT banana loaf recipe!! It was delicious! Very moist. I made it at a friends house; She did not have dark brown sugar, just "regular" brown sugar. It still came out very good. We both thought it was so good. I did not add the nuts to it. When I had it all mixed up, the batter looked thinner than I thought it should be but I poured it into the pans anyways without adding a thing. The loaves turned out perfect! I will definitely be making it again!! Thanks Susie for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      Excellent banana bread! This one's a litle different in that it's darker and has a richer flavor from the dark brown sugar and cola. Cooking temp and time was perfect. Finally, banana bread that's not too dark on the outside but raw in the middle. Uses lots of bananas, which is usually what I'm after. Keep well in a covered container and wrapped in the fridge. Of course it would freeze beautifully. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

      THE best banana loaf ever! Moist and full of flavour. I used golden brown sugar instead and it turned out great. I made 2 loaves and froze one, and it passed the test!... it was still very fresh. Thank you for sharing this recipe. Will definately do again. 5*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      This is a very good recipe. I was quite doubtful about the coca cola, but it helps make the cake rise since it acidifies the dough. I slightly modify the recipe though. I substitute the oil to heavy cream (or butter) and I use whole wheat flour (actually one cup of teff flour and the rest is whole wheat). I use a mix of walnuts and pecan nuts, coarsely ground. I generally spread with a brush some apricot marmalade on top of the cake after baking. Hydrocynus

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      My first attempt at banana loaf and I wil not have to try a different recipe. Exactly what I was looking for...moist and delicious. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      excellent...the only banana bread I will ever make from now on...everyone asks when I am making it again...I always add a cup of blueberries....so delicious thanks very much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Hi Susie - thanks so much for this recipe, it's ace. I've baked the loaf a few times now and it's always been delicious! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This is an awesome recipe!! By far the best banana loaf I have ever made or eaten. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Beautifully moist cake with lots of banana flavour. I've made this twice now. The first time was when I was visiting my parents in Scotland. I only had white sugar, no cinnamon and substituted Irn-Bru (a Scottish fizzy drink that is orange!). Then I dropped one of the loaf tins on the floor so half the recipe was wasted! Then I discovered that the oven only works on grill so you just play around with the temp and cover the top with foil to bake something. It still turned out good apart from the very middle. Now that I'm back home, I had to try the proper recipe - and I have to say that it is brilliant! I only made one loaf this time and the recipe scales down well - and it does need 1 hour 20 minutes baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I've made banana loaf in the past but not to my satisfaction. This recipe comes very close. I am still wondering if we can replace coke with boiling water? The loaf tasted awesome and every one liked it. I've shared the recipe with my friends. Thanks much for this perfect recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      This was the best banana loaf I've ever tasted.It was outstanding.Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      I've made dozens of different banana bread recipes, but none as moist as this!! Should be allowed to give more than a 5 star rating. I was doubtful when I saw how thin the batter was, but the resulting loaves were delightful. My loaves were more brown in color than the ones shown, but the moistness and flavor are incredible. I left out the nuts. Thought I might try the recipe with cranraisins next time. Thanks Susie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2005

      this is the BEST banana bread i ever had

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      Oh my gosh...Miss Susie...This is the best banana bread I have ever eaten...And I eaten quite alot. I used a can of vanilla coke because thats all I had. This deserves a 10+ rating...Yummy. Thanks so much for sharing your delious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2005

      Susie- this is delicious and your right, you'd never know there was coke in there. I made 1/2 the recipe and baked in 3 mini loaf pans for about 50 minutes.I didn't have any dark brown sugar so used the golden brown.I used walnuts as I have a walnut tree so they are free. Thanks for posting this unusual recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2004

      Definately a winning recipe banana bread!. I used melted butter instead of oil, and added about 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips and a handful of walnuts to the batter, and baked mini in mini loaf pans for about 45 minutes. Susie, thanks so much for a great recipe!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Best Banana Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (1950 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2605.1
     
    Calories from Fat 598
    22%
    Total Fat 66.5 g
    102%
    Saturated Fat 10.6 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 372.0 mg
    124%
    Sodium 2342.2 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 473.8 g
    157%
    Dietary Fiber 10.0 g
    40%
    Sugars 297.6 g
    1190%
    Protein 35.6 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites