9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, great coffee cake! I made this for a quick dessert - it goes together quite easily and bakes up beautifully. I used a combination of frozen and fresh berries, topped it off with whipped cream. Just lovely. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. September 14, 2008

This turned out great! Had it after church for brunch on Sunday. I followed other reviews and baked it for 45 minutes after using frozen berries. Great taste, but did add a little brown sugar sprinkled over the top. Thanks for a great recipe! *Made for Summer berries and salads 2008 game*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsteacher22 May 19, 2008

What a great coffeecake! I used mixed berries that were frozen. I also used sour cream instead of yogurt. I had to bake it 45 minutes because of the berries, but it turn out delicious. I served it with vanilla ice cream, but my husband had a dish this morning for breakfast without the icecream and he loved it. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando February 21, 2008

We enjoyed this recipe but even after extra baking time, some of the batter was not cooked ~ of course that didn't stop us from eating it, LOL! It was probably operator error. It was easy to put together and I'm sure I'll be trying it again. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook July 01, 2007

Very nice. I am omitting the stars because I increased the yogurt to milk ratio since I needed to use up my yogurt, apparently ran out of nuts so I had to omit those from the topping and only used 2 kinds of berries. The flavor was good, all-in-all. I used raspberries and blueberries, but I think that the third flavor of blackberries would have added a lot. I also feel that the pecans would have made this even tastier as well. Mine ended up being a tad dry around the edges because of my yogurt sub. So... I think this would have been really excellent had I made it as directed! As I made it, it was still pretty good... thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie June 17, 2006

Great coffee cake! Used frozen mixed berries (blueberry, blackberry, raspberry and strawberry) and needed about an extra 15 min to bake. I also used walnuts in topping. Next time I have to try it with fresh berries.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil'PG May 28, 2006

Enjoyed this coffee cake very much. I didn't have any yogurt so substituted sour cream and it turned out fine. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shirley August 25, 2005

This was a very good (and somewhat healthy) breakfast. I used frozen blueberries, raspberries and blackberries and whole wheat flour. I also substituted finely chopped walnuts in the topping. There was a berry in every bite - yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill Jump July 07, 2005

This is a wonderful coffeecake! It's a moist cake and the berries add some extra flavor. The cinnamon/sugar topping is a little much, so I will probably use half the next time. I also omitted the salt. A great coffeecake to take to work for a meeting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
takaiser99 June 22, 2004
Very Berry Coffee Cake