20 Reviews

I made this cake this morning Steve, as soon as I read your response in "Request A Recipe". It looked just too good to resist. This coffee cake is just as fabulous as I thought it would be by reading the ingredients! Very easy to make with excellent results. I made this recipe using fresh blueberries and it tasted like a great big blueberry muffin.....only better! This will be a great coffee cake to make when we have guests or simply for my coffee cake cravings! Thank you so much, Steve for posting!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev July 09, 2002

I love this cake and keep making it for breakfast, for guests and to give as gifts. But I have problems with the crumb topping sinking and the baking time is waaaaaay longer than 35 minutes as posted. Those are the only things that keep me from rating it 5 star because the taste is fantastic!Guests love it also. I've adjusted the way I make it to preserve the crumbs to the top of the cake. I bake it for 30 minutes then add the crumbs. It takes another 25-30 minutes after adding the crumbs to bake the cake through.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phunny Pharmer August 07, 2010

Fantastic! Followed directions exactly and it was perfect. Used some huge fresh blackberries we picked that day. Refrigerated overnight then served at room temperature for breakfast the next morning. Cake was tender and buttery, streusel topping was just right, beautful and bursting with flavor of blackberries. So, so good. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama June 10, 2012

Great coffee cake! YUM! I made some minor adjustments: since many reviewers said theirs didn't cook through or that the berries collapsed, I left out the milk, especially because I used all fresh berries and they have a higher juice conent. I used 1/4 cup sour cream... I still had to bake it an extra 20 minutes or so, but then it was just about perfect! Its a pretty thick cake so I am not surprised at the longer baking time...Since I was using unsalted butter, I added an extra 1/4 tsp over what the recipe called for. Finally, I added a touch of cinnamon to the cake for more flavor and next time will add 1/2 tsp to the cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michaluna July 22, 2011

This is a great recipe. I tried to make it a bit more healthier. So I substituted the 1 cup of sugar with 1/2 cup of splenda (1 cup makes it too sweet) and I also substituted the flour to be 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup regular cake flour. These changes do not compromise the taste at all. I made the actual recipe together with the changes and the difference was basically nothing and that cut the calories in half. Thank you so much for this posting. Now I don't have to go to Starbucks every time I get a craving and I can have my own berry cake with half the calories of Starbucks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harsanip May 30, 2011

Excellent! I did end up cooking it 15 extra minutes than the original time. I used Service Berries or June Berries! It was wonderful. Great with Tea. My hubby really enjoyed this. I plan on adding this to my favorites! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scottandlornel June 10, 2010

Didn't change a thing & it was really lovely. I am now about to print off this recipe & hand it out to 2 different people that requisted it. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bellamarie. February 17, 2010

i must have done something wrong because the crumble topping just melted through the batter

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razavisara December 25, 2009

Love, love, love this! Had company over and it got rave reviews. Thanks for recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking for the guys August 31, 2009

This is a really great recipe. I used 1/2 cup each of the three berries listed. My cooking time was more like 45-50 minutes. I think next time I make this I will only put 1/2 of the crumb topping on top because I thought it was just too sweet. Thank you so much for this great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeannevaughan August 03, 2009
Very Berry Coffee Cake