Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Very Berry Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Berry Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2002

      I made this cake this morning Steve, as soon as I read your response in "Request A Recipe". It looked just too good to resist. This coffee cake is just as fabulous as I thought it would be by reading the ingredients! Very easy to make with excellent results. I made this recipe using fresh blueberries and it tasted like a great big blueberry muffin.....only better! This will be a great coffee cake to make when we have guests or simply for my coffee cake cravings! Thank you so much, Steve for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2012

      Fantastic! Followed directions exactly and it was perfect. Used some huge fresh blackberries we picked that day. Refrigerated overnight then served at room temperature for breakfast the next morning. Cake was tender and buttery, streusel topping was just right, beautful and bursting with flavor of blackberries. So, so good. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Great coffee cake! YUM! I made some minor adjustments: since many reviewers said theirs didn't cook through or that the berries collapsed, I left out the milk, especially because I used all fresh berries and they have a higher juice conent. I used 1/4 cup sour cream... I still had to bake it an extra 20 minutes or so, but then it was just about perfect! Its a pretty thick cake so I am not surprised at the longer baking time...Since I was using unsalted butter, I added an extra 1/4 tsp over what the recipe called for. Finally, I added a touch of cinnamon to the cake for more flavor and next time will add 1/2 tsp to the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      This is a great recipe. I tried to make it a bit more healthier. So I substituted the 1 cup of sugar with 1/2 cup of splenda (1 cup makes it too sweet) and I also substituted the flour to be 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup regular cake flour. These changes do not compromise the taste at all. I made the actual recipe together with the changes and the difference was basically nothing and that cut the calories in half. Thank you so much for this posting. Now I don't have to go to Starbucks every time I get a craving and I can have my own berry cake with half the calories of Starbucks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2010

      I love this cake and keep making it for breakfast, for guests and to give as gifts. But I have problems with the crumb topping sinking and the baking time is waaaaaay longer than 35 minutes as posted. Those are the only things that keep me from rating it 5 star because the taste is fantastic!Guests love it also. I've adjusted the way I make it to preserve the crumbs to the top of the cake. I bake it for 30 minutes then add the crumbs. It takes another 25-30 minutes after adding the crumbs to bake the cake through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      Excellent! I did end up cooking it 15 extra minutes than the original time. I used Service Berries or June Berries! It was wonderful. Great with Tea. My hubby really enjoyed this. I plan on adding this to my favorites! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Didn't change a thing & it was really lovely. I am now about to print off this recipe & hand it out to 2 different people that requisted it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      i must have done something wrong because the crumble topping just melted through the batter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Love, love, love this! Had company over and it got rave reviews. Thanks for recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      This is a really great recipe. I used 1/2 cup each of the three berries listed. My cooking time was more like 45-50 minutes. I think next time I make this I will only put 1/2 of the crumb topping on top because I thought it was just too sweet. Thank you so much for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I made this last night and it was delicious. The batter is excellent to work with, very creamy and easy to spread over the berries. A really great recipe. Thanks so much for a keeper. MaryL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      A versatile coffee cake that was enjoyed by my co-workers. I used 3 TB of low fat buttermilk instead of the sour cream, because thats what I had on hand. I used a bag of well drained frozen mixed berries. I also added pecans to the topping. The texture was still exactly what I was looking for. I loved the way the cake goes together. The layer of berries makes a beautiful presentation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      Incredibly yummy! I made this Saturday night for a Sunday brunch. As others have said, I sneaked a taste right out of the oven and it was delicious but it was even better the next morning. Now, two days later, it is even better. The flavors seem to deepen and the cake is more moist. I used all three berries and would do the same again. Thanks for a recipe that will become a staple for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      This is really yummy, and (for our tastes anyway) suitable for both breakfast and dessert...how I love dishes that multitask! At first I was skeptical about the instructions to refrigerate overnight then serve at room temperature. However, having eaten one piece right after it was made, another straight out of the fridge, and a third at room temp, my doubts were laid to rest. That last piece was the best by far. Thanks, 1Steve, I can't wait for summer so I can use fresh berries for this tasty cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      After reading all the great reviews and having tons of blackberries on hand I had to try this one out. It was easy to make, smelled great in the oven, and tasted delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      Truly delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      Boy,,, I must have done something terribly wrong... all these wonderful reviews,,and I thought it was terribly bland tasting. Hmm will have to try again. Also had to bake this quite a bit longer.. The middle of it just woundn't get done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      I am reviewing this for the second time! I have made this recipe almost every weekend using different combinations of fruit - each time with rave results! Last week - frozen rhubarb - today: 3 medium peeled, chopped gala apples tossed with a TBSP sugar and 1/4 teaspoon each nutmeg and cinnamon. The reason this coffee cake cannot fail is because the cake itself is a wonderful basic recipe - the fruit is irrelevant! AND - if you have any leftovers! they freezes really well. Again - Steve - thank you - for what is now this family's favourite coffee cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2005

      This was absolutely amazing. I used the 3 berry combo suggested and it was to die for! The topping blended beautifully with the coffee cake and I will definitely be making this in the future. WOW! I cant believe I made this! It taste like something you would get at a restaurant!!:) My only problem was after 30-35 minutes it was still gooey in the center so I had to bake for about 45 in my dark gray pan. But that isnt a big deal..Thanks Steve!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2003

      I made this for my husband and his coworkers for breakfast. I did not have a 9-inch square, so I used a 9-inch round. Because of the pan difference I did not have enough batter to layer properly, so I placed the batter on bottom, then the berries, then a double batch of the crumb topping. I used frozen (defrosted and drained) mixed berries. This recipe produced amazing results and I will be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Berry Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.1
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    41%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 61.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 189.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.8 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 22.4 g
    89%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    berries

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes