8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, great frosting and so easy. The cupcakes look perfect and taste even better. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jopratt_8678964 April 13, 2011

Thank you sooo much for posting! My son has multiple food allergies and this tops his cake every year and it makes it so yummy!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny March 02, 2011

Just the sort of birthday cake icing I was looking for! If you have a stand mixer, this is the recipe for you. The ingredient amounts were perfect, I maybe used 1/2 tbsp less milk than called for. I used a high quality organic cocoa powder and subbed coconut oil for the shortening. In hind sight, I should have melted to coconut "butter'/oil first to remove those little bits that never quite break down otherwise. But that's OK, the icing is still very smooth. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner May 14, 2010

I wish I could give this recipe 6 stars. It is that good. And your directions were very clear, rsarahl, thank you. I was really worried because I used up the last of my vanilla extract making the cake. But even with that ingredient missing, this frosting was incredible. Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda #3 January 27, 2008

I used this fluffy frosting on Kittencal's vegan brownies. Very good. This is a excellent frosting recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JOY1998 January 04, 2008

This frosting is so good, so easy to make and goes very well on the vegan cupcakes that I'd just made. I will reccommend this recipe to everyone, it tastes so much better than the regular frosting I used to make!!!! Veganmom

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deannamoore August 19, 2007

Delicious and easy to make. My only changes were to use coconut oil in place of shortening and reduce the sugar to 2 cups. I might even reduce it further as it was still very sweet (not a bad thing' we want to cut down on sugar though). It's very spreadable and pretty looking too. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shonniel September 08, 2012

this is really good! i had to use pudding instead of the shortening, and it came out really well! the only drawback is that the yield is a little smaller than expected. otherwise a very helpful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leeza K. February 19, 2014
Versatile Vegan Chocolate Frosting (Dairy Free, Egg Free)