Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Veronica's Lemon Buttercream Frosting Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Veronica's Lemon Buttercream Frosting

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2003

      Oh wow! This was very good! My DH wouldn't stop sticking his finger in the bowl! We have some left from the small cake so he ended up layering some in between cookies to munch on. No more sugar for him!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2003

      I was very impressed with this frosting. It turned out very with a very light texture, almost like a whipped cream frosting with a very nice lemon flavour. I had enough icing for a two layer round cake but I didn't use it to fill the cake. Maybe I just like more frosting on the cake than others. It was not to sweet at all which is something else I liked about it. I will definitley use this frosting again. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      A keeper! I made this for a yellow cake that I baked in a 8 3/4" x 12" pan. After the cake cooled, I cut the cake in half, so that I had a square 2-layer cake. I followed the frosting directions just as printed, the only thing I did not in the recipe is sift the powdered sugar before adding to the other ingredients. This was very easy and quick and had enough frosting to not only frost the top and sides of the cake but between the two layers generously. Both my husband and I like lemon flavor and did not find it was a strong flavor at all. Thank you Veronica, it was a winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      LOVED IT! Thank you Trixy for a keeper. It was light and fluffy and just the right balance of flavor. I used dried lemon peel. Please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      Yum! I am in love with this frosting. I did use slightly less sugar just as a personal preference. I'll be using this frosting a lot in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Totally delicious recipe! I used raw spring butter - so the frosting was a bright yellow with no need for food coloring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This frosting was deeelicious! I love the fresh lemon taste. I just picked a bunch of lemons on my tree and was wondering how to use them and I found this recipe. I put it on a white cake and boy was it tasty. I will use this one again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      What a great frosting and so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      This was a great lemon frosting. I did not use the lemon rinds and it was still lemony enough. Keep in mind that this is a very light frosting, so if you are looking for something dense, skip it. I will definitely be using this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      This frosting was perfect! The lemon flavor was not overpowering and the consistency of the frosting was was perfect. I was able to frost two 8" cake rounds and the middle with plenty of frosting left over. Thanks Trixy for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2008

      This recipe was simple and came out flawlessly. I had one large lemon and the juice was just over 3 Tbsp, as called for. I couldn't find my zester, so I skipped it. This was perfectly tart and sweet. It covered two 8" round cakes with frosting in the middle. I even had almost 1/2 cup extra. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      While I really wanted to love this it wasn't very lemony, even after I added WAY more lemon zest. The frosting didn't hold up as well as I'd liked. Just ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      take it from a farm girl who took this to a church bake sale ..It was a hit ..asked for the recipe numerous times ..try it you will like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      This was very very good. I used 2tsp of dried lemon rind and 3-4T of "Real lemon juice" from the bottle. It was VERY lemony (and I'm a lemon fanatic), perhaps it might have a "softer" taste with real rind and lemon juice. I will cut back on my own improvisations for this recipe as the kids said "Too Much Lemon". My frosting was VERY fluffy - tip is to have the butter so soft that it's glossy -- seems like it will melt if you heat it up anymore. Even my husband enjoyed this when he announced that he wanted me to make vanilla frosting; he didn't like lemon. This made enough to put a thick layer in the middle and generously frost the sides and top of Cake. Thank you very much for a nice frosting recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      So easy to make and very nice lemon flavor, tart but still sweet. If you are looking for a lemon buttercream recipe this is the way to go!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      I was not impressed with this frosting. It wasn't fluffy like buttercream usually is. I didn't think it was lemony enough and I frosted a lemon cake with it and it needed more lemon. Sorry :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      Very nice lemon flavor!! Just what I was looking for...thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2007

      This was nice and fluffy with just the right amount of lemon. I frosted a 2 layer carrot cake with it, simply wonderful together. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2004

      we did not like this frosting. it didn't have a good consistancy like buttercream does.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Veronica's Lemon Buttercream Frosting

    Serving Size: 1 (694 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 3446.8
     
    Calories from Fat 2072
    60%
    Total Fat 230.2 g
    354%
    Saturated Fat 145.7 g
    728%
    Cholesterol 610.0 mg
    203%
    Sodium 2033.8 mg
    84%
    Total Carbohydrate 363.1 g
    121%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 353.6 g
    1414%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites