Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vermont Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vermont Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2002

      I've been on a kick to make homemade salad dressings and this one was a BIG HIT with my family. It will save for a few days (at least) in a glass container. High recommend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2002

      Wow. This was so easy to make, and well worth the minimal effort. I didn't even chop the onions and garlic, just tossed everything in the blender and whirled. I would categorize this as a Creamy-French type dressing, which I usually care for only occasionally, mostly because the flavor gets to be too overpowering, I think. But I will definitely make this one more than occasionally! I tried it because the maple syrup intrigued me, and because I happened to have a bunch of it on hand. I didn't make any substitutions at all (Just thought I'd throw that in there) and this dressing was wonderful. Flavorful but not too kick-you-in-the-face tangy like a lot of this type can be. I had a lot more salad than I usually do on the night I made this. The next day, I used it, along with a bit of mayo, on ham sandwiches, which was abosolutely fabulous. Then, we used it on a dinner salad with crumbled bleu cheese sprinkled over the dressing - a combination which I reccommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2002

      I don't believe I have ever had a dressing with maple in it before. This is a very nice change from French, Catalina, etc. I even drizzled some on a deli cold cut sub!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2002

      We can't buy cider vinegar or maple syrup here, so I used malt vinegar, golden syrup, and a little concentrated artificial maple flavouring. I have no doubt that it would taste better with real maple syrup, but it tastes great anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      This recipe is very tasty. It reminds me of Ken's Country French dressing. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2002

      This is a definite keeper that I will make again and again! The recipe is very simple to assemble and its taste is wonderful. I was initially intrigued by the inclusion of maple syrup in the recipe, but when mixed in, the individual maple flavor is hardly discernible. What it does add, however, is an incredible depth of flavor. The entire family, kids included, give this one 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      too sweet for me, but a crowd-pleaser! i will add this to my keeper file, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      Updated to say: I have made this sooo many times, I have to add the final star. It's HIZ favorite salad dressing; I must make it twice a week! I kinda like it myself! Original review: If you like French dressing, you'll like this. Too sweet for me but perfect for Him! Next time I'll halve the maple syrup. I added a little chili powder (to cut the sweet) and that worked. Also added a bit of parsley flakes and celery seeds. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Really good for DH and I. This salad dressing is easy to make. Its a nice sweet salad dressing with a bit of tang and it is creamy so it stays on the salad ingredients. Its colour is dark orange. I followed the recipe exactly using medium grade Canadian maple syrup (I think grade B American). I will possibly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Sorry, I just didn't care for this. As a lover of all things sweet, I was really looking forward to this, but somehow the maple flavor threw me off. It was fun to try though... thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

    • on February 23, 2008

      Much better than a store-bought French dressing. Served on field greens, yellow pepper. Loved the delicate sweetness. Thanks, Miller, for posting. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      My DH really liked the hint of maple in the salad dressing..Tasted alot like western dressing to me..Thank you for this recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      The maple syrup caught my attention so I gave it a try. Wonderful taste. I've used it on a salad and then on a Ruben. It's my new Ruben dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      B"H This was the first dressing I've ever made. It's fabulous! Easy and delicious. I'm making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      I've made it twice now. It's become my favorite salad dressing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      A very sweet, almost Catalina-type dressing. I would have preferred that more of the maple flavor had come through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      A tiny bit sweet for me, but i still love it & now the dressing that was found in Vermont, can now be found in a fridge in Victoria, Australia! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      Very good. The flavors work together so well. Recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      Really good dressing that has lots of flavor but isn't too overwhelming, and this coming from someone who doesn't like french dressings either. Like everyone said, slightly tangy and nicely sweet. I also used some of this dressing on stir fried veggies that had just soy sauce for flavoring. This stuff was the perfect thing to kick it up! The only change I will make next time is to add more garlic and onion only because I prefer a bit more tang to sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vermont Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (42 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 190.6
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    64%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 461.3 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 15.6 g
    62%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes