30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've been on a kick to make homemade salad dressings and this one was a BIG HIT with my family. It will save for a few days (at least) in a glass container. High recommend!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Victoria1 January 30, 2002

Wow. This was so easy to make, and well worth the minimal effort. I didn't even chop the onions and garlic, just tossed everything in the blender and whirled. I would categorize this as a Creamy-French type dressing, which I usually care for only occasionally, mostly because the flavor gets to be too overpowering, I think. But I will definitely make this one more than occasionally! I tried it because the maple syrup intrigued me, and because I happened to have a bunch of it on hand. I didn't make any substitutions at all (Just thought I'd throw that in there) and this dressing was wonderful. Flavorful but not too kick-you-in-the-face tangy like a lot of this type can be. I had a lot more salad than I usually do on the night I made this. The next day, I used it, along with a bit of mayo, on ham sandwiches, which was abosolutely fabulous. Then, we used it on a dinner salad with crumbled bleu cheese sprinkled over the dressing - a combination which I reccommend.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatBobbieGirl June 27, 2002

I don't believe I have ever had a dressing with maple in it before. This is a very nice change from French, Catalina, etc. I even drizzled some on a deli cold cut sub!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Napoleon XIV February 04, 2002

We can't buy cider vinegar or maple syrup here, so I used malt vinegar, golden syrup, and a little concentrated artificial maple flavouring. I have no doubt that it would taste better with real maple syrup, but it tastes great anyway.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guabi Guabi February 20, 2002

This recipe is very tasty. It reminds me of Ken's Country French dressing. I will make this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clw721 February 07, 2003

This is a definite keeper that I will make again and again! The recipe is very simple to assemble and its taste is wonderful. I was initially intrigued by the inclusion of maple syrup in the recipe, but when mixed in, the individual maple flavor is hardly discernible. What it does add, however, is an incredible depth of flavor. The entire family, kids included, give this one 5 stars!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss gracie October 21, 2002

I've had this recipe printed out for simply ages - finally made it today. I asked my husband how it tasted, and his first response was "weird" - but in a good way! The flavors combine in such a unique way - it's a little sweet, a little tangy, a little something else I can't quite put my finger on. Makes me want to go back for another taste. And another, and another . . .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrisLady January 25, 2015

too sweet for me, but a crowd-pleaser! i will add this to my keeper file, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carianne January 01, 2012

Updated to say: I have made this sooo many times, I have to add the final star. It's HIZ favorite salad dressing; I must make it twice a week! I kinda like it myself! Original review: If you like French dressing, you'll like this. Too sweet for me but perfect for Him! Next time I'll halve the maple syrup. I added a little chili powder (to cut the sweet) and that worked. Also added a bit of parsley flakes and celery seeds. A keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski November 01, 2011

Really good for DH and I. This salad dressing is easy to make. Its a nice sweet salad dressing with a bit of tang and it is creamy so it stays on the salad ingredients. Its colour is dark orange. I followed the recipe exactly using medium grade Canadian maple syrup (I think grade B American). I will possibly make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat October 08, 2009
Vermont Salad Dressing