Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vera's Rhubarb Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vera's Rhubarb Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2003

      This is a great recipe, the people at work quite enjoyed it. I also made the cake with apples and added the usual accompanying spices. I also found the topping to be too wet so I used half the suggested amount of butter the second time around and I still found it a little too wet. But no matter how much butter you use, it still is a terrific recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      This is an old favorite and your recipe was very close to the one I got from a dear friend, too. Your recipe uses less sugar and buttermilk, rather than regular milk. My friend's recipe uses a topping of 1/3 cup MELTED butter and 2/3 cup WHITE sugar with the cinnamon. I made YOUR recipe, (but I did use melted butter in the topping and spread it over the batter) and I think it's better! Not sure why people think the topping should be s struesel or crumb topping - it's supposed to be a sugar crust...and it's DELICIOUS! Thanks, bert, for posting this recipe for me...Just one more great way to eat more rhubarb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      This tasted good. The topping was the consistency of a handful of mud. I'll try the other topping or try it with chilled butter next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      Usually I try recipes "as is" before making any adjustments, but I wish I had made this the first time around using CountryLady's topping suggestion, or at least cutting down on the 1/2 C butter. It left the whole cake just WAY too buttery and greasy. It seems like a promising dessert; the batter was delicious (I know, you're not supposed to eat it at that stage)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Made this yesterday using the topping recommended by CountryLady. It was really, really good! I'll be making this one often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      I made this exactly as directed & it was fabulous! I will definitely make it again & again. I would not change topping. I have over 450 cookbooks & have tried many rhubarb recipes; but this is one of the best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      Vera!! I loved this cake and so did my finance'.Made it on the weekend. Turned out perfect. Change 1 egg to 2 eggs, regular milk for butter milk. And 3 cups of rhubarb instead of 2 1/2.cups worked perfect. The topping is sooo good. It didn't last long, so I went out and got more rhubarb on Sunday. Chopped and froze it all for the winter to make this cake again. I loved this recipe. Thanks again Vera , well done. Jean Finley (Jeannie Bean)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      Brought this to work today for my manager's 10yr anniversary - everyone loved it. The only change I made was subbing fat free sour cream for the buttermilk, as that's what I happened to have on hand. I made a double recipe & put one batch of batter in a 13x9 (which I brought to work), the other batch I split into two 8x8's (I kept one & shared the other with my parents). It's a wonderfully moist cake and the flavor of the rhubarb is complimented nicely by the brown sugar/cinnamon topping. I enjoyed a piece with Cool Whip, and I would imagine it would be even more delicious with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Thanks for posting a recipe I will be using again! -M :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      Thanx Bert, for a lovely cake. I followed CountryLady's advice and used the topping that she recommended in her review. The rhubarb is just coming out of the ground here and it reminded me that I had a bag from last spring still in the freezer. What a wonderful way of using it up. I will be using this recipe often. Thanks Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2003

      After reading the other comments about the topping, I decided to make my own. I combined 9 tbsps flour, 9 tbsps margarine, 3/4 cup packed brown sugar, 3/4 cup rolled oats, 2 tsps cinnamon & 1/2 tsp nutmeg. The mixture was too moist to crumble - so I took small handfuls which I flattened & distributed over the cake. I served it with ice cream for dessert last night & it was so good that I gave my husband 2 pieces in his lunch today - the 2nd piece is for the 19 year old student that is working for him this summer!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      This was excellent. The recipe is simple and so tasty. I have lots of rhubarb so I will definately be making it again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      This was very good! My son loves it. The only thing I did different was I added some flour to the topping because it was very wet but I think my butter was probably too soft and I added half the topping before I put it in the oven and then added the rest when it was about half done, just because that's the way I had been taught to add a crumb topping. I have a lot of rhubarb here to use all summer and I will deffinatly be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vera's Rhubarb Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 613.4
     
    Calories from Fat 230
    37%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 58.1 mg
    19%
    Sodium 438.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.6 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 66.0 g
    264%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites