8 Reviews

I have used this recipe for 30 years. Makes the best apple pie you ever ate. Make and give it as gifts all thte time..My kids would eat it straight out of the jar. It's DELICIOUS!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cleo #2 October 25, 2009

This recipe is great, I would give it more than 5 stars. It is so convenient to have this on hand!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yvonne43 October 02, 2009

I just made this and it is boiling as I type this. I tasted the filling and it is fantastic. I made this to give as Christmas presents with a homemade mix for a cobbler, and a homemade apple candle. I WILL be ready for Christmas this year (for once). Thank You so much for posting such a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z September 15, 2009

Thanksgiving I had made a caramel cheesecake and apple pie using the canned apples, the best..
Thank you for a heirloom recipe, will be making for years to come.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elmo49vera December 06, 2011

A great recipe, soaking the apples in soda water stopped them from browning. Smells fabulous and i am hoping all that i give it to for Christmas will approve

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef from oz October 13, 2008

What a Great Recipe, tastes wonderfull on ice cream! I have shared this with many people & all rated it 5 Stars! Planning on giving this for Christmas presents and will it ever taste good during the winter months, like fresh off the tree. Ramona Smith

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mona_smith_reggae October 10, 2008

I made this down to one quart with 4 apples to use right away in an apple crisp for my bf's early birthday. I added a lot more of nutmeg and cinnamon to the mixture, but other than that I followed the recipe and it tasted excellent. Will use this recipe much more often when I need apple pie filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme August 22, 2007

This is the apple pie filling I have been looking for!! The filling itself is wonderful and just thick enough, and the apples stay nice and crunchy so they won't turn to mush when you bake your pie. I used 13 nice sized Pink Lady apples and got 12 pint sized jars out of it, with about 2-3 cups of sauce left over. I should have bought more apples! Thanks for sharing this recipe, AshK!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chilicat August 12, 2007
Vera's Apple Pie in a Jar