Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Venus De Milo Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Venus De Milo Soup

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2002

      This is almost EXACTLY the "Quick" recipe I use for soup. If I don't have time to simmer for hours and hours. Instead of the frozen veggies, I use Veg-All and I also add a can of dark red kidney beans. Sometimes I use sausage instead of the ground beef. Gives it an extra "Kick". I'm a Soup kinda girl. Love Soup!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      This is a fantastic soup recipe! I had this cooked and on the table in 40 minutes. I had printed this out some time ago and up came the perfect opportunity to try it. I added a can of navy beans and still put in 1/4 cup of pasta. I also added 1 t garlic powder and 1/4 t red pepper flakes. Heat it up a little!! Barb, I love this soup! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2002

      Excellent Soup - Yummy and great for those cold Manitoba nights! I added a few more veggies to mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2002

      This excellent soup. Half my family don't care for the pasta in it, so I cook the pasta before serving, and add it to the one that like it. When I freeze it I don't put the pasta in so it may be served as is or add pasta at serving time. Tastes just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      Hey! When I told everyone that we were having soup, I got mixed answers: mostly ones against it. "Can't we just have spaghetti?" Nope. I stuck with it, even though their pessimism gave me some doubt towards the recipe. But, when everyone got some and tried it, they loved it! We actually ran out and my brother wanted me to go make some more! The vegetables in this soup were fresh and the mixture of chicken broth and onion soup mix really hit the spot. We will have this again in the future...Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2002

      I'd forgotten that I had this recipe until I saw it posted. Wonderful taste and easy to make. I omitted the pasta since I'm doing the "no-carb thing" and added some fresh mushrooms, but still a great tasting recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2002

      i tried this soup and its wonderful exspecially on cold days my boyfriends family is portugees and they said it is great also

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2002

      this recipe is ok

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2002

      I haven't tried this but it sounds so good I have to give you a five. I will send this on to friends. I love to make soups and this one sounds really yummy. Thanks. And since it can be frozen, all the better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2003

      The response when I served this recipe for dinner was "ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC, IS THERE ENOUGH FOR SECONDS?" Slight variation did not detract from the basic intent. True to my heritage, and mother's habit, I added a splash of balsamic vinegar (its just something I do)and instead of frozen veggies, I used a pesoaked mixture of dried legumes (yellow and green split peas, white and red beans, lentils and barley). I must say also that the combination of chicken broth and packaged French Onion Soup had sufficient seasonings.... While it was cooking, I could not stop myself from frequent "taste-tests"...each taste was better than the last. It is a good recipe and worthy of its name....I shall be making this one again...and again....and again. Many thanks for sharing...I will continue to share as well...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      This recipe is simple, quick, and filling. I left out the ground beef, and I'm still stuffed! The flavor from the french onion soup mix was so good, that I didn't have to add any spices. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      As it is, for us, it is a little too bland. I added some crushed red pepper, fresh garlic, oregano, chopped parsley and some sauteed mushrooms to zing it up some. I've also tossed in a heel of parmesan to melt into it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      Great, easy, cheap soup! I did have to add more herbs, and spices to give it a little zing. I made it with fresh veggies from the crisper, a little of everything I had, and some ground turkey to round out the too-small quantity of ground beef I had. As others commented, I put in a small can of kidney beans too. I will be doing this again with some different combos, but what a great way to use up one of these and one of those in the criper! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2004

      Mmmmm this was perfect for the COLD winter weather! And my 5 yr old was disappointed the night AFTER I made this soup, I made steak that night, he was hoping to have this soup AGAIN! I used the canned Veg-All homestyle, NO LIMA BEANS...not a lima lover here. And I added an extra can of tomato...also didn't have orzo at the store, so I just got the smallest pasta they had, and it turned out really great! Great as leftovers too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      I had planned to make this a long time ago...and finally did this week. Excellent, easy and a great soup for a cold winterday! I added a can/tin of white beans, a good grinding of black pepper and fresh parsley when I served it. It was even nicer the next day! Thanks for posting Bloomers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      this was great! so flavorful and easy...next time, I'm having DD#1 make it. I added an extra can of tomatoes (love tomatoes) and threw in some extra chopped leftover turkey (cleaning out the frige) Very good...definite do again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      This soup was even better when re-heated the next day. A very good recipe. Great with crusty bread or rolls. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      Stick with the recipe, and this soup is EXACTLY like the one served at the Venus DiMilo restaurant in MA. (I like to add two soup mix packets though!!) With autumn here soups and crusty breads are just perfect dinners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      Made a double batch to get me a few lunches too... nice quick and easy... can't ask for more...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Simple and good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Venus De Milo Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (482 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.8
     
    Calories from Fat 90
    42%
    Total Fat 10.0 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 39.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 751.4 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 18.0 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Lipton French Onion soup mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites