Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Venison Summer Sausage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Venison Summer Sausage

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2008

      This was our first attempt at Summer Sausage and it turned out great! Ours turned out a little crumbly but we didn't measure exactly so our ratios of meat could have been off. We also cooked it longer because we were a little nervous at the short cook time. We mixed everything in a ziplock baggie which worked great! We found it difficult to get it packed tight enough and are planning to use soup cans as a mold, line them with tin foil and then bake. Hopefully this works:) **Note our butcher told us to spray/oil just a soup can pack the meat in and bake it-it should slip out-we are going to try that next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      This received rave reviews from my kids and extended family. Be certain to give the ingredients a few weeks to blend. We tried it within the first week and thought we'd made a mistake, however, another week or so and we loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      Wonderful! We used all elk meat (no beef) and regular sea salt. I generally 1/3 the recipe and make 2-4" long rolls. Everyone loves the great flavor. I like the smoker idea that one reviewer had and will make a full recipe and do that next time. Can never have enough of this in the freezer! Great to take on camping trips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This is an excellent and very easy recipe that gives as good as Hickory Farms results! DD(7) said it was"off the hook",DD(9) said it was great and DH loved it He wants me to make more to give to some of his friends at work!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      This is a very tasty recipe! Last weekend was our first time making sausage. We used this recipe, some fibrous casings we bought off the internet, and smoked them in the BBQ for several hours and it turned out great!! It is a little salty at first but as it ages in the fridge the other flavors come though. I would recommend using a little less salt if you don't like allot of salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      I actually have to hide this from my husband when I make it. This was easy to make if a little messy. I ended up using the Morton's Tender Quick Salt as I was unable to find a substitute.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      Very easy to make and tasty too. I used 1 lb. of ground pork with the venison instead of the ground beef. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2007

      Loved the recipe, as did everyone who tried it. I will be making this, a lot more often. Do not let the 4 star rating fool you, as I rarely if ever , give anything a 5 star rating. Love the recipe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2006

      I used more garlic (1 teaspoon per pound of meat) and it turned out phenomenal. I scaled this recipe up to use 4.5# vension and 1.5 # chuck and the salt content was a bit much. I will probably only use 4 tbsp. of Tender Quick for 7.5 servings, but it still turned out wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I was skeptical as I feared I would end up with 5 little baked meatloafs. But not so. The Tender Quick gives it the right color and texture. This was very, very good. I will definitely be making this again and again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Venison Summer Sausage

    Serving Size: 1 (2316 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 599.9
     
    Calories from Fat 260
    43%
    Total Fat 28.9 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 276.8 mg
    92%
    Sodium 267.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 78.0 g
    156%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Morton Tender Quick salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes