Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Venison Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Venison Stew

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2010

      This was well flavored & a nice crockpot recipe. We really enjoyed the addition of the turnips to the stew. It was something new to our standard stew, but really delicious. This does make a big batch and I froze the leftovers in containers. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      We really liked this, used elk and I didn't have any cabbage or rutabega but every thing else the same with one small addition. I added one cup of coffee to the broth believe it or not the coffee makes the broth heartier. Thank you will be making it this way from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      very good flavor,,, i did add turnip instead of rutabaga because i couldnt find one in the local market. also added 1/2 of leftover red wine . everyone loved it and it made the venison tender and not so gamey.... thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      I can only review, not rate, because I used leftover roast beef instead of the stew meat. I didn't have cabbage, but the rest of the veggie combo was great. It was my first try cooking a rutabaga; (I think I like it just because it's fun to say!) and it was really nice in the stew. Also, the roast that had been so tough a few nights ago turned out to be wonderfully tender redone as stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      This is the best stew I have ever made! The meat was so tender and yummy. The only thing I did differently was I didn't dredge the meat in flour 1. because the meat was frozen and 2. I totally forgot. I added the flour about an hour before it was done and stirred in well. It thickened up the juices just the right amount. Awesome meal that everyone enjoyed in our home. Thanks for the wonderful recipe that I will be making again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      These are the basic ingredients for my stew too but the addition of all the spices was new. They gave the dish a whole new flavorful layer so thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2008

      I had a large amount of wonderful elk meat to use up, and I am so glad I chose this recipe. I went back and forth on the rutabaga, but finally decided to stick with it, and I am just so glad I did! The cabbage was just great in this too. I did not use any butter, and I also used a homemade "Mrs. Dash" type of seasoning--Mrs. Dash Seasoning. I added a can of diced tomatoes, per other reivews, and also some fresh mushrooms that I needed to use up. Wonderful stew, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

    • on November 14, 2007

      It's simmering in the kitchen right now but I just snuck a taste and had to come and comment. My crockpot broke 2 days ago so I did it stove top but changed nothing else. It is so good and my house smells so good. I can't wait for my family to come in and try this. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      It's hard for me to follow someone elses recipe for stew, but this was a winner. The addition of cabbage is something I always do, so delicious! I did thicken it a bit, a family preference, with about 1/3 cup ultra-fine flour, (Wondra), to about 2/3 cup water, mixed it in about 1/2 hour before serving. This stew was DEE-lish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      I agree, this is a great stew. I used shredded venison, but otherwise, pretty much went directly by the recipe. The only thing I will do different next time is to add a can of diced tomatoes with green chili's. We like a lot of heat in our stews...can you tell?? Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2004

      Tasty, simple, and a wonderful crockpot dinner. Couldnt find a rutabaga (not exactly sure what that is) but the rest of it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Venison Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (598 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 602.3
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    14%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 198.0 mg
    66%
    Sodium 1035.5 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.2 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 11.5 g
    46%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 62.3 g
    124%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes