Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Venison Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Venison Stew

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on November 27, 2001

      Great stew! I coat the meat with flour, salt and pepper before browning though. That way you don't have to add it later to thicken the stew and you avoid that raw flour taste you ocasionally get when adding flour straight to a soup or stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2001

      This Is definitley the best stew i have had yet i used beef insead of Venison since i didnt have any but i also added 1 tablespoon of liquid smoke Marinade WOW!! its great you can also cook this is a crock pot for 6 hours on high

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      I have been trying stew recipes for a couple years now and just never found the perfect one - my search has finally ended! I added a tbsp of minced garlic when I browned the meat (because I add garlic to almost everything). I also put dumplings in the crock pot for the last 25 minutes (the Bisquick Dumpling recipe from this site). Thank you for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2004

      I made this stew for deer camp this year and it was a hit. I didn't use the carrots(not a fan of cooked carrots)but did add green pepper. All at camp raved and want it again next year. One inch squares of green pepper adds a unique flavor to it. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      This stew was fantastic. I followed another reviewers suggestion and pre coated the meat with the flour, that way I could just cook it the whole day while I was at work. I also added a bunch of extra veggies, just cause I had them on hand, sweet potato, turnip, spinach and some celery. My kids loved it and asked for it for lunch the next day. Thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      BIL said to throw it out. made it according to directions except for browned meat with flour and seasonings. Bland and the mushrooms were an odd ingredient (he likes mushrooms). I won't bother trying to make again, even with modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      This is an amazing stew. I don't have a slow cooker so I did in on the lowest setting on the hob for about half the time. It was tender and had great rich flavour for such a low calorie dish. My DH is a hunter and we are always looking for a way to use the stew meat and I think that this will be our go-to recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      Great Stew and VERY easy to make! I used presliced & washed mushrooms, baby carrots and two 14oz cans of beef broth. Cooked in crock pot overnight. Put in fridge during the day and then heated at dinner time adding Bisquick dumplings on top. WOW! Already planning to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      This has turned out to be a great favorite of mine and my hungery hunter! Perfect comfort food recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Turned out great. I must have tender venison, because it was done after less than 6 hours on high. I tossed the stew in the flour, salt and pepper, and browned it then. I doubled the other seasonings. No mushrooms for us. I put Bisquick "dumplings" on top and let cook for about 15 minutes at the end. Family liked it. I might try some red wine, instead of water next time to add some richness. Now I just have to beg some more venison off of my in-laws! LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Awesome stew! I followed the recipe exactly (which I hardly ever do) and it was fantastic! One of the best stews I've ever made. Thanks for posting, I will definitely be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      Before this recipe I thought I only liked venison that was ground with beef added. This recipe change that! This is excellent, not gamey at all, very tender and flavorful. I didn't have any mushrooms and added some frozen corn at the end. I cooked it for 6 hours on high. I added some sour cream to the leftovers and a bit more broth and served it over noodles the next night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      My husband said this was the best stew he has ever eaten! My kids were not too hot on it, but I think it was really good, too. I did not have mushrooms so did not add them, but will next time because I love them. The meat was great- falling apart and not a gamey flavor at all. Yummy recipe and sooo easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      This was wonderful! I've tried many stew recipes here on Zaar and I hadn't yet found a classic thick and meaty stew yet. Until this one. I love doing it in the crock pot and I love adding the flour later. I mixed the flour with a little cold water then let it cook down to the right consistency. I used beef and fresh garlic and it was heavenly comfort food with my fresh honey wheat rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      This is a keeper! I am not a big venison eater at all, but this was awsome! My family loved it! I made a big crock pot full, and all that was left was just enough for my husbands lunch the next day. He liked it so much that he asked me to make anothe pot so that he could take it to work to share with his buddies! I made some home made rolls with this and it was gone! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      This was the best stew I have ever had, also my first time making stew. I did make a few changes. I used one big potato cut up, and two small cans of mushrooms drained. I did not have beef broth so I just did 2 cups of water and two beef bulion cubes. I threw it all in the crockpot and cooked on high for 6 hours. I add the flour and salt in pepper in when I had two hours left, I kept stirring it and it turned out wonderful. This is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      Delicious!!!!!!! I had to put more meat in the second time I cooked it, the 1lb just fell apart and left the stew light on the venison. My brother had some and he was astonished that it was venison. A real winner in our household especially when Mike my husband, comes back from a long cold and rain or snowy hunting day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2005

      this stew was great...really easy to make (just throw everything into the crockpot) and so good! my husband almost ate the whole crockpot in one day. the meat was so tender when it was finished cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2005

      This was very good! I added peas and sprinkled with shredded cheddar cheese when it was done. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2004

      Made the stew as recipe stated. It was very good and we,ll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Venison Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (248 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 159.3
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    24%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 38.0 mg
    12%
    Sodium 245.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 14.2 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites