28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great stew! I coat the meat with flour, salt and pepper before browning though. That way you don't have to add it later to thicken the stew and you avoid that raw flour taste you ocasionally get when adding flour straight to a soup or stew.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth Williams November 27, 2001

This Is definitley the best stew i have had yet i used beef insead of Venison since i didnt have any but i also added 1 tablespoon of liquid smoke Marinade WOW!! its great you can also cook this is a crock pot for 6 hours on high

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer1 October 24, 2001

I have been trying stew recipes for a couple years now and just never found the perfect one - my search has finally ended! I added a tbsp of minced garlic when I browned the meat (because I add garlic to almost everything). I also put dumplings in the crock pot for the last 25 minutes (the Bisquick Dumpling recipe from this site). Thank you for such a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mysuns March 10, 2010

I made this stew for deer camp this year and it was a hit. I didn't use the carrots(not a fan of cooked carrots)but did add green pepper. All at camp raved and want it again next year. One inch squares of green pepper adds a unique flavor to it. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KingJackQueen December 05, 2004

This stew was fantastic. I followed another reviewers suggestion and pre coated the meat with the flour, that way I could just cook it the whole day while I was at work. I also added a bunch of extra veggies, just cause I had them on hand, sweet potato, turnip, spinach and some celery. My kids loved it and asked for it for lunch the next day. Thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colleen M. October 22, 2011

BIL said to throw it out. made it according to directions except for browned meat with flour and seasonings. Bland and the mushrooms were an odd ingredient (he likes mushrooms). I won't bother trying to make again, even with modifications.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LolaJ October 15, 2011

This is an amazing stew. I don't have a slow cooker so I did in on the lowest setting on the hob for about half the time. It was tender and had great rich flavour for such a low calorie dish. My DH is a hunter and we are always looking for a way to use the stew meat and I think that this will be our go-to recipe from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl May 18, 2011

Great Stew and VERY easy to make! I used presliced & washed mushrooms, baby carrots and two 14oz cans of beef broth. Cooked in crock pot overnight. Put in fridge during the day and then heated at dinner time adding Bisquick dumplings on top. WOW! Already planning to make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bdaz1 December 30, 2009

This has turned out to be a great favorite of mine and my hungery hunter! Perfect comfort food recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TotallyCluelessCook July 26, 2009

Turned out great. I must have tender venison, because it was done after less than 6 hours on high. I tossed the stew in the flour, salt and pepper, and browned it then. I doubled the other seasonings. No mushrooms for us. I put Bisquick "dumplings" on top and let cook for about 15 minutes at the end. Family liked it. I might try some red wine, instead of water next time to add some richness. Now I just have to beg some more venison off of my in-laws! LOL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead February 24, 2009
Venison Stew