42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Best marinade I have found for venison so far. I soaked my steaks in FF milk overnight while they were defrosting in the fridge. Then marinated according to directions but for a full day before cooking. The deer steaks were so good that I cooked my last batch the same way. THanks for the recipe. It's going in my recipe tin! Oh yeah, I omitted the canola oil-- used just a Tablespoon of olive oil instead.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spuffed May 23, 2009

Wow! My husband got a deer this year and our first taste of it was the inside loin. I used this marinade on it and what a wonderful flavor. I browned it in my fry pan then removed it and added mushrooms and sauteed them until slightly browned then put the loins back in and baked for about 25 minutes. We couldn't stop eating what a great flavor. I will be using this marinade for more than venison. Thanks so much!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young December 02, 2008

I made this with a piece of tenderloin tied with kitchen string. It marinaded 1 1/2 days due to busy work schedules and it was really fabulous. I cooked it on my stove top in my Everyday pan, seared it a bit then covered it for about 20 mins, until it felt tender in the center. I did replace red wine for the soy sauce.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancygirl October 23, 2008

I didn't belileve the reviews that this is better than beef steaks, but I tried it. And glory be, this is true! My husband never comments on food no matter how great it is, but this he loved! It was every bit as tender as filet mignon without exaggeration and extremely tasty!!! I've made it several times now and it really is the best. The first time the BBQ got covered in a snow storm so I cooked it in a pan with Olive Oil and Butter. Really good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itskristine February 06, 2014

This deer marinade is fantastic. My husband got a deer and we were trying to be creative that the Children didn't know it was game. We tryed this marinade and the whole time out 8 year old was eating it she kept saying "This is the best steak ever" we then told her it was deer meat and she said "I don't care when can we have it again"! She is a picky eater and it is good for her :) Hooray!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TroopersGirl April 15, 2013

Great marinade! Added a little white wine vinegar for an extra acid to tenderize meat some more. Will use again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsteacher22 July 20, 2011

this is extremely tender and could not tell it was venison. It does need alittle more flavor, maybe marinate longer but it was very tender which was impressive.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gooshbaby May 12, 2009

Excellent Excellent Excellent! Can you tell we loved it! Actually marinated the venison and then made kabobs with it. Mixed it in with the hawaiian chicken kabob recipe and it was wonderful. Ii was worried that venison might be tough as kabobs but not at all. Thanks for a Great marinade recipe. No one in my fam has ever marinated their venison in anything other than milk wow have they been missing out!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WildWaysPaige February 08, 2009

This was the most delicious steak that we have had in a long time. I marinaded the venison rump for over 24 hours and followed your recipe exactly I could not better it if i tried, thanks so much for posting. I served it with a potato salad and a green tossed salad. with a nice glass of red wine

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyfulCook January 25, 2008

This was excellent. I marinated a venison roast for 3 days before cooking it. The meat had no gamey taste and was extremely tender. Wonderful recipe. I look forward to using it many times more.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crisci December 20, 2006
Venison Steak Marinade