Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Venison Pot Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Venison Pot Roast

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2003

      Being a new wife of an outdoorsman I was bound and determined to prepare his vension in a mouth watering fashion that he would brag to all his buds about and this recipe did it. easy and terrific!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      Excellent recipe - smelled terrific while it cooked. I didn't change a thing. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2002

      I made this last night for supper; this makes 4 adult size servings. My husband, daughter and I loved it. The gravy was absolutely wonderful. I did substitute large-sized baby carrots for the 5; I'd say use as many as you can to fit into one side of the pan. You could skip the celery, (they shriveled up) and just add more large-sized baby carrots. I did use 1 tsp. of minced garlic to rub both sides of the roast. Tara, your recipe deserves more than 5 stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2013

      Excellent Roast! Wonderful Flavor, and the gravy from the stock was terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      Awesome recipe, a keeper and repeater. I had a venison roast I roasted and it was awful. Determined to save it I found this and wow! what a find. I made it gluten free using gluten free flour for the gravy and added extra carrots as suggested. My husband even said the celery was good and to add more next time. I didn't change a thing. I liked it even more as left overs for my dinner at work, my co workers all came to see what I was eating when I heated it up. I cooked mine in the crock pot on high, it took a long time but I just kept cooking it until it pulled apart easily. We made Bisquick gluten free biscuits to go along with it. Thanks for the save.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      The venison roast came out very good; I will make this again. I think I will do the gravy a different way next time though because I wasn't just crazy about the gravy. Very good though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      My roast turned out tender and really moist for a venison roast. However, I believe the carrots and onions were the star of the plate. Could of made a meal of just them.
      I pot it in a small dutch oven to bake. I had to leave for about 1 1/2 hours. When I came home, the house smelt wonderful. I will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Very good! This was a big hit at my house (venison always is!). The next night I made "pulled deer" with the leftovers. Worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      I've made this 3 times already! Hubby requests it again ASAP. I made it in the crock pot, 4-5 hours on high or 6-8 hours on low. We added extra carrots, subbed spicy BBQ sauce for the steak sauce, and subbed turkey broth and a fall harvest beer for the water/bouillon cubes. You'll want biscuits or hearty bread to soak up all the yumminess on the plate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      This roast is spectacular! The flavors are so good and there is no "wild game" taste with this recipe. I cooked for the full 4 hours and the meat was fork tender, not dried out. I thought that almost covering the meat with water would make it lose some of the flavor, but it did not. It was delicious and made great gravy. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      I made this in the crock pot with venison stew meat and it turned out wonderful! Made the gravy as directed with the juices. It cooked for 8 hours on low and the meat was super tender and had a wonderful taste! My picky son had two helpings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      Excellent! I didn't have the A-1 but had everything else and my family really enjoyed the flavor the juices imparted on the carrots and potatoes. Even my non carrot eating kids ate them all! We will be making this again. Oh and my husband made a gravy with the juices, some flour and milk and there was not a drop of that left either, lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      OMGosh!!! I was again worried that I would mess it up but my partner said it was the BEST venison roast he has ever tasted, yippee. Thanks for the help!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      This recipe is phenomenal - my DH has just started hunting again and I have been struggling to find recipes (no one hunted in my family when I was little, and so had no experience). The whole family (including a picky 9 year old) gobbled it up. I also forwarded this to a friend of ours whose family considers venison to be a staple food - and he was amazed at how perfect it was. I followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing! It was simple to make, and the meat was mild yet flavourful. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      This was an excellent recipe! It coincided almost exactly with the marinade I made. Will definitely use this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      This is a wonderful venison roast recipe. It was easy to prepare, and the cooking time was exactly right. In addition to the recipe ingredients, we also rubbed fresh ground horseradish on the roast and threw in a cup of red wine. Delicious, not gamy, and very tender!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      This was definitely very good. I cooked it in the crock pot for about 5 hours on low, and I think that even less time would have been better. The gravy was very tasty also, although I ended up with a lot of broth, so I doubled the amount of milk and flour. Overall, just a great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Unbelievable, Amazing, Spectacular, Wonderful!! This bring venison to a whole new level.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      Wowser! My teenage daughter had 2 heaping platefuls - unheard of! I was out of worster sauce so the substitute book said to use steak sauce so I just added the extra HP. Will definitely try with other type roasts since we don't usually have deer in the freezer (this was roadkill that cost us a new van)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      Four words.....OUT OF THIS WORLD! I am not a fan of venison, but We had some and I took your recipe and made it to the "T". The gravy was fantastic! All around just a wonderful dish. Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Venison Pot Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 69.7
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    93%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1395.7 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    venison roast

    HP steak sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes