Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Venison Meatloaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Venison Meatloaf

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2009

      This was very moist and delicious. However, when I checked on it, it didn't look very appealing, so I poured my usual meatloaf sauce on it and finished baking - perfect! Mix 1/4 c tomato sauce (or ketchup), 2T brown sugar, 2 T apple cider vinegar, 2 T dijon mustard and spread on top. Very flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      YES, this is a incredibly delicious & simple recipe. I used all venison which we fine grind so it holds together well. Also, I used barbeque sauce in place of catsup, no worcestershire ( I didn't have any) & a teaspoon of smoke barbeque seasoning in place of salt & pepper. Hubby says this GREAT !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I was amazed and how well this turned out with as wet as it was when I put it in the pan. I would have liked it to stay together a little more though. This is such a simple recipe but really tasted wonderful. My son stopped by after dinner and ate the rest and said it was great and to make it again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      THIS WAS DELICIOUS!!! I used all lean venison (which I ground myself), added 1/2 tsp garlic powder and used Italian seasoned bread crumbs. Like everyone else I was amazed at how flavorful this was with so few ingredients. I used the juice that remained in the dish to make a wonderful gravy and the recipe made enough for my husband and I to have a generous dinner and 2 meatloaf sandwiches each for lunch the next day. I also used 1/3 cup of the finished meatloaf and crumbled it into a 2 egg omelet the next morning. Fantastic! Thank you for sharing. It was a little crumbly when I cut it so next time I will add 2 beaten eggs to the mix before baking.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      This is a fabulous recipe, finally found a meatloaf that my whole family enjoys. I did make some changes and I'm going to post a new recipe to save what I did, but I'm so grateful to you Kelly M. for giving me the inspiration. I used spicy pork sausage instead of the ground chuck, used a little less milk (and used regular instead of evaporated), added chopped onion and garlic and more spices. And topped with tomato sauce and ketchup. Thanks for the inspiration.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      I added chopped up onion, garlic, and montreal steak seasoning and LOVED it. I also did a brown sugar and ketchup glaze.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      VERY good meatloaf. My husband and I don't eat beef and we both loved this! I added a chopped up onion and one 15 oz can of drained diced tomatoes. I make this at least twice a month. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2014

      This was by far the very best meatloaf I've ever made. No offense to the original creator of this recipe but I altered it this way;<br/>1/2 lb more of Venison<br/>1 cup of Oatmeal in place of the breadcrumbs. <br/>Sweet Baby Rays Honey Chipotle BBQ sauce in place of the ketchup <br/>Added 1/2 diced white onion<br/>Added 1/2 diced green pepper<br/>Added 1 teaspoon Liquid Smoke<br/>Once the hour of baking was done I also spread some more of the BBQ sauce on top and put back in the oven to caramelize slightly about another 10 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2013

      I'm always trying to find different ways to use our venison and this recipe will be one we'll be using often!! We didn't have evaporated milk so I used 2/3 cup of 2% milk and 1/3 cup of half & half, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Super yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      I used all venison meat. The mixture in the bowl was too runny to shape into a loaf, so I poured it into a corningware dish Other than not using beef, the recipe was followed with no changes. After 30 minutes in the oven, the glorious smell hit me and I couldn't wait for the other 30 minutes to pass. The meatloaf sliced fine and I used a long narrow spatula to remove the slice. On the plate it was pretty crumbly to eat. That said, it tasted fantastic! Next time I would use an egg or two and cut back on the milk. Thanks for posting Kelly M.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Delicious. My husband combines our ground deer meat with smoked pork fat, so so chuck was necessary, though the meatloaf was practically drowned in juices. It ended up being even more moist (and my husband said he likes it more) than our usual beef meatloaf. I added a chopped onion, like several other reviewers, and I only had 1 Tbs of Worchestershire sauce, so I substituted some dijon mustard and some apple cider vinegar. Great use of ground venison!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

    • on May 09, 2009

    • on February 22, 2008

      I made this just as the recipe stated and it was very good for a venison meatloaf! Next time I would add a bit more worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper (it needs a little more flavor) and decrease the evap milk content. Just personal preference though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      This was DELICIOUS!!! I don't even like venison but this was great. I ate it with extra Worcestershire, & we went ahead & used chuck, too. Next time we may add more spices & onions. My dad (deer hunter & venison lover) thought it was great, too! Thanks for posting, will defenitly be making this again. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      This meatloaf is very moist! It was a big hit! The only thing I added was 1 lg onion. It turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      This is very tasty and very easy to make. I added some more pepper and roasted garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2006

      Delicious! I made it just the way it's written, except I added a lot more pepper to jazz it up. Makes good sandwiches later, too. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2004

      Absolutely the best meatloaf I ever made...so simple I can't figure out why it is so delicious. I messed with size of portions a bit but kept the ratio the same. Only thing I added was a couple tablespoons of good barbeque sauce. The texture was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      This tasted very good. I added some extra breadcrumbs and cooked it in the crockpot 1 hour on high then 7 hours on low. I also left out the ground chuck (for lack of any). Very moist and yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Venison Meatloaf

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 474.9
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    44%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 10.7 g
    53%
    Cholesterol 148.1 mg
    49%
    Sodium 921.2 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.6 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 41.0 g
    82%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites