12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the first recipe that I have made from Food.com. I made it tonight :) I am a beginning cook and have tried a few other chili recipes but this one blows them all out of the water. The only change I made was that I used 2 pounds of ground venison with beef fat instead of the cuts of venison the recipe called for. I also browned the meat first. My boyfriend absolutely loved it too and that's what I was aiming for :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tura_satana November 12, 2010

This was very good. I did have to add salt to it though because I didn't have any beans in the house at all, which made my hubby happy. I will be making this again as it is simple to make and tastes good too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 January 25, 2004

Our entire family enjoyed this delicious and easy to prepare dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tdepre January 18, 2010

I was just looking up this recipe to make it again for the 3rd time! Saw the review that gave one star and thought I should balance it out!! We LOVE this recipe - I combine all the ingriedients in the evening and then stick into our wood stove in the morning - cook all day and it is simply fantastic! Great for entertaining as you can forget it. I add a tablespoon of cocoa powder - seems to make it just a little better! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Purple Becca June 03, 2008

sorry, but I didn't think the recipe was spicy enough or that it cooked long enough to make the venison tender.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
an.tlq17 November 08, 2006

I made a double batch for hunting weekend so I could freeze some. I added a can of black beans and some corkscrew noodles. Served it with Fritos, sour cream and sharp cheddar... YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coomic November 20, 2005

I made this for DH today and he LOVED it. It was so easy to make. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie R January 14, 2005

Hi Rita, I made your chile and my wife and enjoyed it very much. One thing though, as I am very new an amateur cook I was left in doubt as to whether I should brown the meat or saute' the onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wayne Reglin March 23, 2004
Venison Chili