Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Velvety Beef Stroganoff Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Velvety Beef Stroganoff

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2002

      I'd go higher than five if I could! I absolutely loved this recipe - as did the husband, and most of our friends who tried it one night during a get-together. The meat came out melt-in-your-mouth tender. Julesong does a really good breakdown of the steps, so it was very easy, and very straightforward when cooking it. The only really adaptations I did the second time in making it was that, first off, I doubled the recipe, yet didn't double the amount of garlic and wine used in it while adding even more mushrooms! It came out loaded, yes, but the pot was cleaned, and one friend didn't get any when he arrived late. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2002

      We are so happy to discover the secret of really tender beef for our stroganoff. Try it for yourself, it is amazing what the baking soda process does.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2002

      I have made this recipe on three different occasions. The first time I had to substitute white grape juice for the wine. The next two times wine was used...and rightly so. To counterbalance the sour cream something slightly astringent is needed. On the next two occasions was trying to determine precisely why this recipe is better than any other stroganoff i have tasted or made. The most concise thing is to say that one should take the adjective ‘velvety’ very seriously. There is an overall smoothness to this recipe that I have not experienced before. Yet there are layers of flavour for all the smoothness. The beef was indeed tender but for me that was only one of the positive components of this recipe. I’m afraid I haven’t yet captured the ‘magic’ of this recipe...so I will return after making it a dozen or so times more to see if I can be concise. Of course I could merely use my alternative review here...FANTASTIC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2002

      I have spent years looking for the perfect beef stroganoff recipe, and now I can stop looking! This recipe is incredible! I used New York Strip steak, and it was so tender that I could cut it with a fork! And my kids loved it! It was also very easy to make. I substituted canned mushrooms (that was all I had), and it was still good. I also used White Zin instead of plain white, and that was very good as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2002

      yummy, yummy, yummy! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2002

      I cooked this up for my wife, who 'loves' stroganoff. She found it far tastier then any she's had before. This would be a fun one to experiment further with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      Delicious! I used a full bodied red wine instead of white but the flavors where distinct and wonderful. Great recipe. Will make this again!
      And I made this Gluten Free by using King Arthur Gluten Free Flour and Gluten Free Worcesterchire sauce in the same amounts and heaped on a pile of gluten free noddles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      This was good, but not great. Meat was very tender but I thought it had a strange taste left on it. I did rinse well but something was off. My son, who eats anything, told me he just wasn't feeling it..LOL. Hubby loved it...I am middle of the road. While my sauce tasted great, it seperated and I am not sure why, never had that problem before. Will make again for the sauce, just not using the baking soda method for the meat. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this. This is our favorite stroganoff. My six year old loves this! I usually make it with ground beef and skip the baking soda step. I would have to agree with Dizwendy that when we used the sliced beef soaked in baking soda and water, it had a soggy texture we didn't like. If I used sliced beef again, I'd probably just use a tender cut and forget about the baking soda. The sauce is delicious and it's good served with the leftover bottle of wine used in cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I think this must be one of those love it or hate it recipes. I thought it sounded like a strange technique to achieve tender beef, but decided to give it a try since there were so many wonderful reviews. Unfortunately, my family hated it. The beef was very tender, but had a nasty texture. My 11 year old said it was too "mushy" and that's the best way I can think of to describe it. It didn't have the texture of beef at all and just wasn't pleasant to bite into. We also did not care for the baking soda flavor left in the beef. Even though I rinsed and rinsed and rinsed, you could still taste it. From a family that will eat basically anything that doesn't eat us first, we ended up throwing this out. :(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      The meat was very tender, I will definetely use that process again. The recipe was good and we really enjoyed it for our Sunday dinner and for leftovers. I would recommend this recipe and have told lots of friends about preparing the meat before hand. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I am so glad I decided to search past the first page of stroganoff recipes, because this recipe is everything I have ever wanted in beef stroganoff, and more! Thank you so much for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

    • on August 04, 2008

      The sauce in this recipe was awesome. I think next time I will use less sour cream, as one and a half cups was a little much. The beef didn't turn out velvety though. Maybe it was the cut of meat I used. I used a NY strip steak. Otherwise, it was really good and the bf gobbled it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Supreme! I thought I had perfected Stroganoff until I tried this version. Well worth the time & prep. Minor change: I used only 1 cup sour cream...added a dash of tomato paste...and, as per optional suggestion, drizzled a little white wine over the onion & mushroom/garlic mix (+ milled black pepper, rather than white). As per other reviewers, the baking soda treatment is KEY to this recipe. Don't omit. For best flavour, ensure you incorporate pan scrapings into the gravy mix before you add the sour cream. 5+ stars! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2008

      This was the best Stroganoff EVER!!! I always had a hard time keeping the meat from getting tough. I used stir-fry beef and baby portabella mushrooms and beef broth. I also used red wine (misread the recipe) but it came out awesome! It's a good thing I doubled the recipe...we gobbled it up! The baking soda trick really worked, and the meat was incredibly tender. Thank you for a keeper! I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      Made as posted, except I used beef broth instead of the bouillion. I think next time I will leave out the baking soda, as I couldn't see any reason to put it in the recipe. We had this over noodles along with a mushroom, tomato and cucumber salad. Excellent recipe Jules!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      Absolutely wonderful! DH and I loved this! It's not the beef stroganoff we usually eat, but a better, improved version. I used 1 cup low-sodium beef broth instead of the hot water and boullion and added a little more of the beef broth when cooking the mushrooms and garlic to moisten it, but followed the rest of the recipe to the letter. Served this over wide egg noodles with steamed broccoli on the side for a very yummy meal. Thanks for posting this, Julesong, it goes directly to my "favorites" folder!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Loved it! I used venison and the texture of the meat was incredible. I rinsed really well and had no issue with a baking soda taste. I followed the recipe exactly and my son and boyfriend loved it. I would make again and plan on sharing this with friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Wonderful recipe. My family is vegitarian. I made this with 2 bags of Morningstar beef strips and Knorr veggie bouillon. We loved it! By using already cooked "beef" it really cuts down on prep time. My girls have asked this to be added to our regular rotation of recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Velvety Beef Stroganoff

    Serving Size: 1 (520 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1575.6
     
    Calories from Fat 1411
    89%
    Total Fat 156.7 g
    241%
    Saturated Fat 66.9 g
    334%
    Cholesterol 236.3 mg
    78%
    Sodium 2112.2 mg
    88%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 18.6 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes