38 Reviews

I have been looking for the ULTIMATE Mac N Cheese recipe--and this is it! This the most moist and yummy I have ever made. It reheats in the microwave and is still creamy and moist as when it first came out of the oven!! I added a few of my own touches--a small amount of yellow mustard and nutmeg and topped it off with some crushed Ritz cracker crumbs drizzled with melted butter before baking.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yorkie29 October 22, 2011

This was very good mac and cheese! You have to like velveeta though! I cut the sauce in half and used the same amount of noodles and while I could have used maybe 3/4 of a cup more milk when making the sauce (it will look on the thin side and you want it thinner because it will be absorbed when baking), it was just about perfect. It made just shy smaller than 13X9 pan (I think it was 10x8 or something). I would recommend mixing the sauce with the pasta well before pouring into the baking pan. I personally didn't like the dry noodles on the bottom. I like my sauce thoroughly mixed throughout! Also leave your pasta on the underdone side when boiling so that it will be al dente after baking. Since I had a smaller pan, I also baked for less time. Thanks for posting kmdipaolo!!! Great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary N. December 23, 2010

We loved this recipe, but I made a few changes as suggested by other reviewers. I pre-cooked the macaroni, but only for 5 minutes--not the 9-12 minutes suggested on the box. In that way, the macaroni, even after being in the oven, was still firm and not mushy. I used the amount of milk suggested, but lowered the chunk cheese amount to 7 ounces (so it wasn't as cheesy). And, for the last five minutes of cooking, I put my dish under a low broil so it melted and browned the cheese on top. We'll definitely make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty M. August 18, 2015

Surprisingly good! I was snowed in this weekend and was unable to go to the store for cheddar cheese that I use in my usual recipe. So, I found this recipe and thought "what the heck". It was delicious! I actually liked it better than my recipe that calls for cheddar. I especially liked the creamy texture. I didn't top it with Velveeta slices but used buttered bread crumbs instead. This recipe is a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gdeezy December 09, 2013

This is the best macaroni & cheese that I've ever had. It's better than my mothers, grandmothers, or any restaurants. I didn't use the sliced cheese on the top though. Instead I shaved velvetta that was left over. It was so cheesy & delicious unlike the traditional floury & lumpy recipe that I've been making. I will never make another mac & cheese again. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobbiny28_11415296 November 15, 2011

I have made every one of the mac & cheese recipes on the zaar and this one is my favorite with just a couple of tweeks. I added just a tiny bit of dry mustard, about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar using the full amount of milk. I topped with buttered ritz crackers for baking. The butter and flour mixture has to cook long enough for the flour to cook before adding the milk, or it will have a bland flavor as will any roux mixture. I also always cook my roux with the salt and pepper in it assuring a good seasoning. To me this is the traditional, basic, and by far the best!!!! This is the recipe I used for years but after joining the zaar I got lost in all the choices only to find as in a lot of cases back to basics works. I thank you so much for the reminder of classics that never go out of style!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Country Cook in Oklahoma April 04, 2010

I decided to try something new this week and saw all the good reviews for this recip. I must say I was disappointed in this recipe. It has a very nutty flavor and you really can't taste the distinct flavor of the Velveeta. I'll just stick with margarine, evaporated milk and Velveeta, but no flour. This actually had a bland taste and I don't believe I will make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynthia A. November 28, 2008

Amazing. This was incredible. My kids asked me to make 2 nights in a row. Has anyone tried using 1% milk??

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmalesi October 26, 2008

I have been looking for a great mac and cheese recipe and finally found it! My kids loved it. As a father, it gave me great pride to make this for them. This was easy to make. It took an hour to make ,as the recipe states, but well worth it. H-Mississippi

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hboover November 20, 2007

It's the only recipe I use now. It's creamy goodness, baked! No separation. Top it with buttered bread crumbs for extra yumminess. Maybe add some cheddar in once in a while for some extra zip! I used this recipe for a football award banquet for 300 people and got all thumbs up on it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferPT September 10, 2007
Velveeta Macaroni and Cheese