37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been looking for the ULTIMATE Mac N Cheese recipe--and this is it! This the most moist and yummy I have ever made. It reheats in the microwave and is still creamy and moist as when it first came out of the oven!! I added a few of my own touches--a small amount of yellow mustard and nutmeg and topped it off with some crushed Ritz cracker crumbs drizzled with melted butter before baking.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yorkie29 October 22, 2011

This was very good mac and cheese! You have to like velveeta though! I cut the sauce in half and used the same amount of noodles and while I could have used maybe 3/4 of a cup more milk when making the sauce (it will look on the thin side and you want it thinner because it will be absorbed when baking), it was just about perfect. It made just shy smaller than 13X9 pan (I think it was 10x8 or something). I would recommend mixing the sauce with the pasta well before pouring into the baking pan. I personally didn't like the dry noodles on the bottom. I like my sauce thoroughly mixed throughout! Also leave your pasta on the underdone side when boiling so that it will be al dente after baking. Since I had a smaller pan, I also baked for less time. Thanks for posting kmdipaolo!!! Great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef of 5 December 23, 2010

This is the best macaroni & cheese that I've ever had. It's better than my mothers, grandmothers, or any restaurants. I didn't use the sliced cheese on the top though. Instead I shaved velvetta that was left over. It was so cheesy & delicious unlike the traditional floury & lumpy recipe that I've been making. I will never make another mac & cheese again. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobbiny28_11415296 November 15, 2011

I decided to try something new this week and saw all the good reviews for this recip. I must say I was disappointed in this recipe. It has a very nutty flavor and you really can't taste the distinct flavor of the Velveeta. I'll just stick with margarine, evaporated milk and Velveeta, but no flour. This actually had a bland taste and I don't believe I will make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynthia A. November 28, 2008

Amazing. This was incredible. My kids asked me to make 2 nights in a row. Has anyone tried using 1% milk??

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmalesi October 26, 2008

I make many different mac and cheese recipes. This is a great basic one cheese type using velveeta cheese. My only change is arrowroot instead of flour, it does the same thing as the flour which is nothing kore than a thickening agent without giving it the flour taste use about a tablespoon to start and more if needed slowly whisking it in till desired thickness is reached. Use more as needed. Also bread crumbs on top when baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris H. July 12, 2014

Surprisingly good! I was snowed in this weekend and was unable to go to the store for cheddar cheese that I use in my usual recipe. So, I found this recipe and thought "what the heck". It was delicious! I actually liked it better than my recipe that calls for cheddar. I especially liked the creamy texture. I didn't top it with Velveeta slices but used buttered bread crumbs instead. This recipe is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gdeezy December 09, 2013

The whole picky family loved this! It was very creamy and I was surprised that the Velveeta was not overpowering. I only used a 1/4 cup flour instead of a 1/2 cup so I had to increase the baking time to one hour. Half way through I stirred the mac-n-cheese and then let it finish baking. It's perfectly creamy and reheats very well. I'm looking forward to making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlaro April 14, 2013

Best Mac and Cheese ever. I have made this several times now and it is a favorite for pot lucks and holidays. Everyone loves this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kwyndala B. February 22, 2013
Velveeta Macaroni and Cheese