10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We enjoyed this. It made only one 9x13 pan. I think splitting it into 2 casseroles that size would not have worked. We will definately have this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy13 December 01, 2011

Pure comfort food. Yum. I made this for myself and dd, and a different but similar recipe for dh using meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario October 26, 2013

Delicious! The combination of flavors is excellent. The only changes I made were to substitute Corn for the pinto beans and fire roasted diced tomatoes for the chopped tomatoes and to take out the shredded cheddar. I will definitely be making this again. Next time I might consider using two cans of tomatoes. Like another reviewer, I was only able to make one 9 x 13 dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmschn August 20, 2012

Very tasty dish! We used spicy refried beans instead of whole pinto beans and 1/2 the cheese. It came out great!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda March 03, 2009

This recipe is very good, but is is not extraordinary. That is why I'm only giving it 4 stars. I used canned fire roasted chopped tomatoes and they gave this casserole a wonderful flavor. I made this dish for a family dinner, with my children. Therefore, I used mild chilis and mild salsa. But, it could be made with hot chilis and salsa. This casserole is like a Mexican lasagna, with the tortillas acting as the noodles. It is tasty, healthy, and nutritious. I recommend it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MargieS2008 November 07, 2008

Easy , healthy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaritalady July 03, 2008

This recipe is absolutely fantastic! Easy to prepare, healthy, tastes great, and is so filling!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenbacca February 21, 2008

We loved this, it has a great flavor combination! Since the salsa we have on hand is hot I used 12 oz., and it was still nicely spicy. I also wanted to lower the fat, so I used reduced fat Irish cheddar only on top (1/2 cup for a half recipe) and it was still delicious. Topped it with nonfat sour cream and cilantro (which are musts!). I definitely recommend this if you like Mexican-inspired dishes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 20, 2008

My boyfriend said this is a keeper which means it gets 5 Stars. Very easy to make and turned out delicious. The only thing I changed with this recipe was the last layer I did with crushed tortilla chips instead of more flat tortillas. I also did not chop my tortilla in to strips but laid them flat to make a pie. This recipe made 2 decent size dishes and reheats up well in the oven again as leftovers. Recommended as a cheap, easy, meat free meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koshka February 03, 2008
Vegetarian Tortilla Bake