Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Texas Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Texas Tacos

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 10, 2011

      Flavorful and simple, and we didn't miss having taco meat. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      Very good! I used black beans, chipotle chile powder, Corn Salsa from Trader Joe's, Chipotle Tabasco Sauce and flour tortillas... turned out yummy! This will go in our regular rotation, I plan on trying different combos too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      DElicious! such a simple concept yet so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      This was wonderful and for very little effort too. I reduced the cumin to 1 tsp and used extra salsa. On the side I served chopped tomato, cilantro, cheese and lettuce. I had tortilla so I made them up as wraps. My family loved these. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      I had a friend for lunch today who is a vegetarian so I tried this recipe. It was better than I even expected. I used just about everything except the peppers, in smaller quantities since it was for two. I mixed black beans and pinto beans and, as an additional topping, stripped an ear of fresh corn and pan roasted it with a little onion and olive oil. An extra step but well worth it. The avocado was so good combined with the lime, green onions, iceberg lettuce, corn and cheese- we didn't even need the salsa to dress it up (especially since there was some in the bean mixture anyway). I forgot the cilantro but I am sure that would have been nice too. Loved it with the crunchy shells but next time I think I'll do my own shells because the little ones are so hard to stuff. Anyway, awesome recipe. My friend was impressed and I can't wait to make it again. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      Loved this. I used black beans, and added a bit of diced red bell pepper with the onions & garlic. I mashed about half of the beans so it was still pretty chunky. I used a deep oven-safe skillet to saute the veggies, so I just popped it into the oven to bake. It got bubbly & delicious. We topped ours, using crunchy & soft tortilla shells, with Spicy Guacamole, more shredded cheese, hot sauce, sour cream and lettuce. This is full of flavor & just yummy! So easy too - dinner was on the table in 30 min. Next time, I want to try it using 1 can of black beans and 1 of pinto.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      This is now my favoirite way to make vegetarian tacos. I am a vegetarian and a huge Mexican food fan. I made this for a get together today and also made regular meat taco filling for the meat eaters. The meat eaters loved the vegetarian filling! They were spicy and tasty. I liked that you could create the consistency you wanted and baking it in the oven with cheese topping really made it special. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2004

      awesome dish! there were only two of us, so we enjoyed the left overs for days. we also used flour tortilas for soft tacos. the bean mixture is more spicy as left overs as the salsa as been able to sit. very enjoyable, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2003

      Made these for lunch today. The bean filling was muy zesty. I used a potato masher and mashed the beans until the consistency was mostly smooth. I left a few chunks in there. I also thought your idea of setting all the toppings out so everyone could make there own taco the way they liked it was good. My husband and father ate 4 tacos a piece. This one was a winner for us. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Texas Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (183 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.9
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    31%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 3.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 220.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 7.4 g
    29%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    limes

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites