Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Tex-Mex Shepherd's Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Tex-Mex Shepherd's Pie

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2003

      This was delicious! Great flavors with just the right amount of heat. I've never cooked with bulgur wheat before, and I'm glad I did. It was a perfect substitute for meat in this dish. I used fresh sweet corn kernels, which added a really nice touch to the filling I'll definately be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

      I ended up using 2 cups of vegetable stock and simmering for an additional 10 minutes to cook the bulgar past the 'crunchy' stage. Flavor was great but I would caution less than a pinch of cayenne if you don't like heat on your tongue. I actually have a 1/16th measuring spoon (which is considered a pinch) and it was a tad too much for me, although other family members said it was fine. I used a ready made Bob Evan's mashed potatoes as we don't normally use potatoes and I didn't want a bag sitting around. It was just the right amount for this recipe. I have to say that I think this was actually better the second day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

    • on April 29, 2010

      Absolutely delicious! I used only four potatoes and left out the butter. Otherwise, I made it as directed. It was too spicy for my dad, but I loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      This is an "ease into vegetarianism" recipe. It is not overly bland, nor is it too spicy. The textures are wonderful in combination, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      My honey is a vegetarian so I have been looking for tasty recipes to add to my repertoire. This one is very tasty and the bulghur takes on a meat-esque texture. I soaked the bulghur first for 30 min, used some canned peas for color and substituted instant potatoes for simplicity. Delish! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      This has become one of my favourute recipes. I add a little pecorino cheese on top of the mashed potato for extra flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      My husband and I were blown away by the taste of this recipe! I'm a new vegetarian and this is my new alternative for shepherd's pie. I won't miss having it the old way. This was also my first time having bulgar wheat, and it was great. This recipe is DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Tex-Mex Shepherd's Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 493.7
     
    Calories from Fat 102
    20%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 17.4 mg
    5%
    Sodium 720.7 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 91.9 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 13.5 g
    54%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites