Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Tacos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Tacos

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on January 14, 2010

      This recipe is awesome! The only variation I made was to use about a cup of Salsa. My son and I are being vegetarians for 21 days and this is one recipe that is going to carry beyond. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2010

      This was very good and all three of our children ate it. It was quick, inexpensive, and certainly on the repeat list.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      These are great! Can't wait to make them for the bf and sis. I made other recipes online and they were not good. The spices combo is just right here. Some things I did: *To make this quick, I used frozen diced green peppers. And jarred jalepeno pepper (slivers) that I diced. *For nutrition and most importantly flavor, I doubled the veggies. (Highly recommend using 50% veggies, and 50% beans... this is also why I also added in more of the spices). I left out the celery. *I added more of the same spices listed in ingredients, but in the same ratio here (1:1). For cooking: I sauteed the onions good, by themselves on med-low heat for a while. Added jalepeno peppers, and then threw in the green peppers and turned the stoves heat up. Let cook about 7 mins. Added the beans and salsa and salt. This is when I tastes for extra spice. I used Taco Bell hard shell tacos. Easy to cook. Turn them upside down in the microwave and mic for 30-45 secs depending on the quantity (2-4 at a time). Crispy and wonderful. Only needed lettuce these were so good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      Awesome! Great recipe for newbie veggies. I substituted black beans for garbanzo beans, and tortilla chips for taco shells. I turned out quiet well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      Enjoyed this addition to my expanding collection of vegetarian recipes! I didn't follow the recipe exactly: didn't include celery, only used 1/4 of a jalepeno ( to suit tender tastebuds), used about half a 4 oz can of tomato sauce instead of salsa, only 1/4 tsp. chili powder, AND I included some refried beans with the garbanzos, mashing them together (to increase my chances of getting the kids to try and enjoy this dish as well as adding to the "stick -togetherness" of the beans. I am pleased to say that the children in question did try this and even said "this is ok"! (Instead of the usual response of disgust I have been getting as we are trying to improve our diet).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2003

      These are REALLY FABULOUS!!! The flavors really ROCK and the garbanzos are a greattttttttt substitute for the meat in tacos!!!! I love the addition of cumin, because it is one of my most favorite spices!! And the coriander was also a very nice addition :-) I topped these bad boys with vegan cheese (non-dairy), some hot salsa, and shredded lettuce and a small amount of tomato!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2014

      I love this taco recipe! Thanks so much sharing it! I changed it up a bit and posted the results on my blog! Great recipe! Thanks :) http://theironrangevegetarian.wordpress.com/2013/12/31/tinos-vegetarian-taco-night/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      This was too good to be true. Nice and spicy, but nicely tempered by the sour cream. I don't think anyone in my family missed the meat in these tacos. In fact, they were surprised that there was no meat, but they still enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      These are great. I would like to eat less meat but have never found any vegetarian meals which leave me satisfied. These are the first vegetarian dish going into the rotation.

      Notes: I used diced tomatoes instead of salsa, since the rest of the ingredients in salsa were already added (peppers, garlic, onion, cilantro, salt). I left out the coriander because I didn't have it on hand. Thanks for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2010

      I am a vegetarian .... and this ISN'T the BEST I ever had it needs more protein you should add tofu and beans..... but it was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      These are great! We had these on a very busy day and supper was ready in a flash! No one even asked for usual hamburg/taco mix -- yummy! We will be having these again soon -- in fact I am going to stock up on the garbanzo beans and the other ingredients so I can make these whenever I don't feel like making dinner but want something fast and good! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Yum! Who needs meat!? These were really good. I didn't use the garbanzo beans because I was out. So Instead I sauteed the green peppers and onion in OO until soft (didn't use celery), then I used a package of organic taco seasoning I had and cooked it as if the veggies were the meat. It turned out really good. I made burritos out of this. Put down about a tbsp of re fried beans, then the seasoned veg, lettuce, tomato, salsa, and raw cheddar. They were great. I did not miss the meat! My husband even liked them (Huge meat eater, and very picky!) KEEPER.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2008

      Wow these are excellent, great combination. My Husband does not even like Tacos but he loved these. My Son's girlfriend is a vegetarian so these worked perfectly. I also cooked some hamburg for those who missed the meat. Personally I did not miss it one bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      excellent proportions

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      We are very new to vegetarian dishes, so with each recipe I try, I'm hopin' and prayin' that it will be edible! Not only was this recipe edible, it was delicious! Thanks for making our new lifestyle change a yummy one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      This recipe is wonderful! I used a small can of garbonzo beans and 1 can of pinto beans. I also only did half the jalapeno because of serving little ones. It was a big hit all around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      My husband made these last night and they were fantastic. Even he, who often doesn't like vegetarian dishes, raved about them. We followed your directions and ingredients exactly and they came out great. (I might use a soft flour tortilla next time, kind of like a burrito, just so I can fit more of the yummy filling in each serving.) Thanks for this great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      I tried ur recipe for the first its really great ... as said ... it takes 20min and its very efficient ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      This came out fabulous !! I did not have garbanzos and substituted refried beans. It still tasted great. I cannot wait to try this out with garbanzos. I will never use taco seasoning ever again !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2006

      This recipe was fantastic. I skipped the garlic, celery, jalapeno, and subsituted chick peas for black beans. I think the salsa I had (Garden Fresh Screamin' Hot) added a lot of flavor. My husband and I typically cook Indian food, and this was a great break from our routine. I plan on making it again next week. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Tacos

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 334.5
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    28%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 589.7 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites