50 Reviews

Made this up for fourteen of my co-workers for lunch. Everybody loved it! I had to double it to accomodate everybody, but that was simple! (I put it all together in about 15 minutes, then cooked it for three hours in a crock pot.) I would recommend this dish for any group, large or small! Well done!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prissbucket Black April 24, 2003

Super easy and filling. I was hoping for a little more flavor so I might try using veggie broth instead of water. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 19, 2015

For a single guy, who doesn't cook and wants to eat healthy, this is a perfect and very easy soup to make...absolutely LOVE IT!!!! Highly recommend...thank you!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SmoovNerd December 22, 2014

Ok, well for some reason I can get my star rating to work but. I easily give this 4.5 stars. I am really just getting started with eating vegetarian so its a journey. I followed the recipe completely except for green beans and black eyed peas (didn't have them) after reading other reviews I also rinsed and rinsed and rinsed the beans, I also used low sodium taco seasoning after this it was still a bit salty, but cheese helped tone it down. Wonderful recipe, even our teenager went back for more!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jolynsnow January 28, 2013

What a kick this had! I only used black and pinto beans and added some green chilies. I used more/less of a lot of the ingredients as well since I sight measured. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS May 27, 2010

I'm a bit of wuzzie for heat so even with the milder rotel tomatoes this is plenty hot. This is tasty and very filling. I eat one measured cup as a lunch portion and I'm getting much more than 8 servings. I didn't add the black-eyed peas. Not something I have on hand. Used an extra can of some beans, I think black beans and I used cannelini beans. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ February 12, 2010

This was a good soup, and pretty easy to prepare. I found I personally don't like the flavor of black-eyed peas, so I would leave them out if I made this again. The ranch dressing is what makes this soup good--don't skimp on that. I rinsed my beans so it wasn't too salty. I didn't have pinto or navy beans, so I used a can of white kidney (cannellini) beans, and the rest was black beans. I served with a dollop of fat free sour cream on top and that was really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujubegirl January 06, 2010

Great taste. I would cut down on the ranch dressing mix b/c it tasted a bit too salty after all the canned beans. Then the sour cream at the end can be mixed in to give it that milky look / flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rengetsu October 13, 2009

This soup was very good, I didn't have navy beans or black-eyed peas, so I used butter beans and kidney beans for those two. Other than that no changes. Both me and DH liked it. Added shredded cheddar cheese on top with some crackers and tobasco. Perfect on a cold rainy night like tonight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LinzScissors September 11, 2009
Vegetarian Taco Soup