8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this several times. The first time I had to substitute lentils for mushrooms and it was very good like that! I didn't use the food processor either. I found that steaming the cabbage a little or dipping it in hot water really helped to remove the leaves in one piece. I served mine with unsweetened yoghurt dollops on top of the cabbage rolls and just a hint of grated Parmesan cheese. This is an excellent stuffed cabbage recipe! My friends and family enjoyed it enormously. I'll be making this again and again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SucculentSister February 11, 2012

Great recipe! I was afraid the filling would be too bland, but it wasn't. I followed the recipe except for the chili tomatoes, I left them out and I added a glove of garlic to the sauteed onions and mushrooms. I think I might add some more mushrooms next time. I baked covered for an hour and then uncovered for about half an hour until the cheesy became golden brown. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing this great keeper recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview May 18, 2014

We liked this recipe and thought it to be pretty easy to make. We did use the food processor, though I could see how it would not necessarily be essential. Paul Newman's marinara sauce was tasty in this dish. I did use the optional Rotel tomatoes and actually felt like it detracted from this particular dish (though I am a fan of Rotel tomatoes in other things). I think I would have enjoyed it more with just the taste of the marinara shining through, which is how I will make next time. Shredded monterey jack cheese on top was very complimentary. All in all this made for a tasty dinner and we enjoyed leftovers for lunches. I served with Cookgirls Mushroom and Lavender Rice Pilaf (Vegan) as a side.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny April 23, 2013

This was really good. I added the tomatoes and green chilies and cheese. I used Ragout sauce instead of Marinara as that is what I had on hand. It smelled amazing while it was cooking and tasted even better. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea April 13, 2013

I enjoyed this vegetarian version. Like Prose, I didn't bother to process the filling. I also didn't sprinkle the cheese on top. I have frozen half of the rolls for a night when too busy to cook. Made for ZWT 6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coasty May 26, 2010

This is REALLY good! I subbed brown rice for the barley to make it gluten free. I only used the outermost 12 cabbage leaves and saved the smaller inner leaves for another recipe. I skipped the food processor step (seemed unnecessary), and reduced the cooking time. The rolls were nicely browned on top after about 35 minutes, so I took them out of the oven, and they were perfect (I suspect that my oven runs hot, though). Thanks for posting! I will make this again! Reviewed for Veg*an Swap, May 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose May 16, 2010

REALLY loved this! I had never cooked with cabbage before so I love when I venture out of my norm and find a real treat! I made the recipe exactly as written (didn't use the extra tomatoes or cheese). The flavors were excellent together. I did not use a food processor and was still quite happy with the result. I found that the darkest outer leaves of the cabbage held up the best in the boiling water. Some of the inner, yellow leaves disintegrated a little. I know I'll be making this again. This is going in the "loved it" cookbook! Would also be delicious substituting rice or quinoa for the barley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook April 24, 2010

I really enjoyed this dish! I added just about a tsp. of sugar to the sauce and halved the recipe. It made 6 med. size rolls, and I have had 2 days in a row for dinner. Thanks for a tasty meal! Made for PRMR game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 February 06, 2010
Vegetarian Stuffed Cabbage (Ww)