Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Split Pea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2013

      delicious! - we couldn't stop eating it. I only gave it 4 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly but I worked with what I had on hand. I used 2 garlic, 2 celery, 2 carrot, a mix of onion & leek to make 2 cups, 1/2 tsp mustard seed & no potato, bay leaf & a small piece of kombu, salt & pepper. I sauteed the veggies then added the dry split peas (2 1/2 cups) - didn't want to deal w/ cleaning 2 pots. At the end I took a tip from "101cookbooks" split pea recipe. I added lemon juice from about a 1/2 of a lemon (to taste) & that really punched up the flavors. Then to each bowl I sprinkled on some smoked paprika which gave it that wonderful smokey flavor. This was a huge hit among non- veggies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2014

      This was an excellent soup! I did make a few mistakes, though. I wanted to halve the recipe because I only had 1 3/4 cups split peas, but ended up NOT halving the vegetables by distraction. Still, after eating it, my BF and I thought it was perfect that way, we really liked all the veggies. Also, I completely forgot the vinegar, but we really liked it how it was. So yeah, we will be making it again! I used about 5 cups of water total.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      Delicious - what split pea soup should taste like! I made 1/2 recipe and dud have to add more liquid - otherwise followed recipe exactly - enjoyed a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      This is an incredible recipe! I first cooked it @ 1979. It was my 'go to' great recipe. Then I divorced, my ex got custody of the book, and I searched for this recipe for the next 25 years, until now, with internet searching, I found it. I am over the moon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      I really didn't expect to enjoy this. But it is great and simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      nice guideline recipe. added about twice the recoed water/broth, but also an extra potato to thicken it up. as the split peas begin to boil i like to skim off the foam that accumulates at the top - makes for a less starchy taste. Also note the recipe does not mentioned to rinse the peas thoroughly before cooking (important). I diced the vegetables a little thicker for some texture, and sauteed in coconut oil on high heat very quickly to seal in some flavours. great recipe! thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      I haven't finished cooking it, so I can't rate it on taste. But, I am rating the instructions a 1 out of 5. First of all, it says "may need more water". The recipe should be changed. It DEFINITELY requires more water, not "maybe". Second, I have cooked it for 40 mins as directed, but the potatoes aren't even close to done. They are still hard and crunchy. I then cooked it completely covered for another 20 mins, then another 20 mins. Still hard and crunchy!<br/><br/>If the potatoes were supposed to be cooked before throwing them into the pot the recipe should say so! It shouldn't be up to the reader to guess what the recipe means. I followed the instructions exactly and here I am an hour and a half later still waiting for the potatoes to soften. Lousy instructions, hope the taste makes up for it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      I made this tonight for my dinner, and it is delicious! It was a perfect stand alone meal.....perfect without the extra calories of bread, etc. I did saute the onions/carrots/potatoes, so guess it wasn't vegetarian....also used half chicken broth/half water. Really loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Delicious and easy to make thanks in large part to my faithful crock pot. I lightly sauteed the onions, garlic, carrots and potatoes in a little bit of olive oil then transferred to the crock pot with the rest of the ingredients. Cooked on HIGH for 2 1/2 hours then LOW for 3 hours. Garnished with fresh parsley, a few drops of toasted sesame oil and a drizzle of dark aged balsamic. Made for Veg Tag/February.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      YUMMM!! If you like split pea soup at all you have to try this...it's amazing and super easy....I actually tossed everything in the crockpot and cooked it on high for about 5 hours..I like it when the peas break down and everything is creamy ....this is going to be a go to recipe for this winter! I thought the balsamic vinegar a strange ingredient but put in 2 TBS and it was a wonderful addition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      To me, this recipe deserves more than 5 stars. Its delicious, healthy, simple, quick, filling and last but not least inexpensive. Most importantly, it was delicious! I thought I might miss the smokey flavor from ham, but I didn't. I didn't add any balsamic vinegar while it was cooking, but did drizzle a tiny bit on my serving. I also topped it with a few good shakes of Frank's.I Served it with cornbread and it was a fantastic meal. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      Very good. I was worried the mustard would make it too hot, but it didn't at all. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      This was YUM-O with just the basic recipe. The only thing I did differently was throw a handful of large croutons on top instead of the optional ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2012

      This soup was enjoyed by myself, mother and grandmother for lunch today. I followed the directions as listed but was a little bit short on the split peas. This did not appear to be a problem and my soup was wonderful. I did simmer it a little longer in order to make it thicker. I used 7 cups of veggie broth/water combination. I did not saute the veggies first as I was being lazy and did not want to clean another pan. Just putting them in the soup worked fine. I did not top with the optional ingredients. I will make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      We liked this one a lot. I used about 5 cups chicken broth and 3 cups water. It was a nice, thick soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      adjustments i made: no dry mustard, adding ~3cups of water as i went, 3/10 cups of liquid were veg. stock.

      DELICIOUS. i'm never buying ready made split pea soup ever again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

    • on December 12, 2011

    • on November 13, 2011

      Very good! Definitely a step up from my usual water, pea, salt, and pepper recipe. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      I agree, you can't go wrong with Moosewood recipes.....an unfussy, satisfying recipe that makes great use of pantry/fridge staples. I made half the recipe, but like many others said, used quite a bit more broth than called for (about another 1 1/2 cups in my case). The only thing I did differently was to add the salt & broth powder after the peas had cooked, and I cooked it for quite a bit longer to let the peas really break down and get creamy the way they do. I'm sure the leftovers are going to be just that much better tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (386 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 403.1
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    21%
    Total Fat 1.4 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 833.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 74.4 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 27.7 g
    111%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 26.0 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes