62 Reviews

delicious! - we couldn't stop eating it. I only gave it 4 stars because I didn't follow the recipe exactly but I worked with what I had on hand. I used 2 garlic, 2 celery, 2 carrot, a mix of onion & leek to make 2 cups, 1/2 tsp mustard seed & no potato, bay leaf & a small piece of kombu, salt & pepper. I sauteed the veggies then added the dry split peas (2 1/2 cups) - didn't want to deal w/ cleaning 2 pots. At the end I took a tip from "101cookbooks" split pea recipe. I added lemon juice from about a 1/2 of a lemon (to taste) & that really punched up the flavors. Then to each bowl I sprinkled on some smoked paprika which gave it that wonderful smokey flavor. This was a huge hit among non- veggies!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RBES January 26, 2013

Hands down, the BEST vegan split pea soup Ive ever had. I followed almost to the tee. Except for: - I used vegetable stock, not plain water - I cooked the tomatoes (small yellow ones cause thats what I had), rather than a topping - no sesame oil (I just couldnt do it) - I added a little ditalini pasta, cause apparantly I used too much liquid. (Hoestly didnt even measure)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debra C. November 11, 2015

This is very good. I have always loved pea soup, and the idea of using dried mustard as well as the sesame oil really appealed to me. The only thing that might put someone off is the smell when it's cooked, which is normal. Plus the sesame oil balances it out. It freezes very well. And I love the potatoes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen S. April 29, 2015

This recipe is very good. I started with bacon. I got the ingredients first then looked for a recipe and found this one. So I just went with it except for the potato. I sautéed everything in the bacon fat. I Used brown mustard seed instead of powder. It came out so very good. I can't wait to try it again, and will do it exactly as written, and see if it is even better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim K. March 06, 2015

This was an excellent soup! I did make a few mistakes, though. I wanted to halve the recipe because I only had 1 3/4 cups split peas, but ended up NOT halving the vegetables by distraction. Still, after eating it, my BF and I thought it was perfect that way, we really liked all the veggies. Also, I completely forgot the vinegar, but we really liked it how it was. So yeah, we will be making it again! I used about 5 cups of water total.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elie de Combys October 04, 2014

Delicious - what split pea soup should taste like! I made 1/2 recipe and dud have to add more liquid - otherwise followed recipe exactly - enjoyed a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodycoach@yahoo.com January 26, 2014

This is an incredible recipe! I first cooked it @ 1979. It was my 'go to' great recipe. Then I divorced, my ex got custody of the book, and I searched for this recipe for the next 25 years, until now, with internet searching, I found it. I am over the moon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frances8barrett January 22, 2014

I really didn't expect to enjoy this. But it is great and simple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond October 18, 2013

nice guideline recipe. added about twice the recoed water/broth, but also an extra potato to thicken it up. as the split peas begin to boil i like to skim off the foam that accumulates at the top - makes for a less starchy taste. Also note the recipe does not mentioned to rinse the peas thoroughly before cooking (important). I diced the vegetables a little thicker for some texture, and sauteed in coconut oil on high heat very quickly to seal in some flavours. great recipe! thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simmadown August 08, 2013

I haven't finished cooking it, so I can't rate it on taste. But, I am rating the instructions a 1 out of 5. First of all, it says "may need more water". The recipe should be changed. It DEFINITELY requires more water, not "maybe". Second, I have cooked it for 40 mins as directed, but the potatoes aren't even close to done. They are still hard and crunchy. I then cooked it completely covered for another 20 mins, then another 20 mins. Still hard and crunchy!<br/><br/>If the potatoes were supposed to be cooked before throwing them into the pot the recipe should say so! It shouldn't be up to the reader to guess what the recipe means. I followed the instructions exactly and here I am an hour and a half later still waiting for the potatoes to soften. Lousy instructions, hope the taste makes up for it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
socalvegan July 29, 2013
Vegetarian Split Pea Soup