Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Split Pea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2010

      We like food with flavor and use a lot of spices, herbs and hot pepper in our cooking. I agree that this is a thick, hearty, and very heart healthy meal. However, when we tasted it, the first word was "bland." There was no "fresh, hearty flavor." After trying a few additions, including granulated garlic, fish sauce, and sherry vinegar, we each ate about half a cup and decided, "Not bad." I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      This smelled awful as it was cooking, and I am a definite veggie lover. I finally realized that it was the smell of overcooked peas that I really disliked. The final result was thick and tasty, though. I think that if I make it again, I will save the spinach (I used fresh) as a late addition, and cook it just until it has wilted to add a bit of fresh flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      This had an amazing flavor for such simple ingredients. Don't breeze past this recipe without trying it. I did use oat groats instead of rice (I have a ton to use up) and even after cooking it on low for 9 1/2 hours my split peas still were firm. But the flavor was so good that it just didn't matter. It makes a lot so I'm going to freeze it in individual portions for a quick lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      This is delicious, I love it! I did not have a turnip so left it out, but will try it next time. A very hearty soup! I had it in the crockpot for 8 hours and the peas were soft and fabulous. I usually pulse soups a bit with a hand blender, but this one mixed together so well I didn't have to. Thr rice softens up and blends with the peas, you can barely tell it's there. The leftovers taste great! So healthy and satisfying, Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      This was great! As with another reviewer, my peas were also just a little hard still (although it was still yummy!). I think next time I will give the peas their own time in the crock for an hour or two before adding the rest of the ingredients. I was going to put some liquid smoke in per another reviewer's recommendation, but had some bacon grease on hand for another recipe, so I added some of that! Oh, and this IS thick!! I halved all the recipe accept for the water/broth. Will be making this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This is definitively a stew, not a soup, but who cares. It tastes delicious. I strongly recommend serving with lightly buttered bread of some kind, as the buttery taste really shines combined with this hearty stew. I also added a rather large amount of parsley, which turned out great in my opinion. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      I have to confess, I have always had a fear of split pea soup. It simply sounded too bland to me. When I saw this recipe I simply could not pass it up, (although I tried to talk myself into it)! because ALL of the ingredients are good for you and NONE of them are bad! I omitted the turnip and added an extra potato instead. It was, as others said, more like stew than a soup, but to me, that didn't make a difference. The taste was wonderful and the meal itself was very filling and satisfying. Thanks BelleTerre for the great recipe! You've changed my world!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      This is a great recipe. I added about 2 cups extra water a few hours before it was done. It tasted wonderful. I had a hard time getting my split peas to completely soften, even cooking it longer, but other then that I will be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      This was very good. It IS thick - mine turned out as thick as mashed potatoes - but I liked it hearty. It came out a bit bland so I added about 2 tbsp of "Liquid Smoke" - it gives the soup just a bit of a ham flavor. We also added quite a bit of salt and served the bowls with a dollop of sour cream. We'll do this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      Very tasty in general, but mine was way too thick to call it a soup. It was more like a very very thick stew. I did add an extra few cups of water, but it was still VERY thick. I also think it could use some extra salt, but maybe that is because my broth was salt-free. In any event, we all liked it quite a bit, and it was a hearty meal to get into my boys. Many thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Split Pea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (243 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.1
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    13%
    Total Fat 4.8 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 55.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.3 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 15.4 g
    61%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 15.6 g
    31%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes