10 Reviews

We like food with flavor and use a lot of spices, herbs and hot pepper in our cooking. I agree that this is a thick, hearty, and very heart healthy meal. However, when we tasted it, the first word was "bland." There was no "fresh, hearty flavor." After trying a few additions, including granulated garlic, fish sauce, and sherry vinegar, we each ate about half a cup and decided, "Not bad." I won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OliveLover December 29, 2010

This smelled awful as it was cooking, and I am a definite veggie lover. I finally realized that it was the smell of overcooked peas that I really disliked. The final result was thick and tasty, though. I think that if I make it again, I will save the spinach (I used fresh) as a late addition, and cook it just until it has wilted to add a bit of fresh flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dstomko January 08, 2010

This had an amazing flavor for such simple ingredients. Don't breeze past this recipe without trying it. I did use oat groats instead of rice (I have a ton to use up) and even after cooking it on low for 9 1/2 hours my split peas still were firm. But the flavor was so good that it just didn't matter. It makes a lot so I'm going to freeze it in individual portions for a quick lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace4Gayle February 22, 2009

This is delicious, I love it! I did not have a turnip so left it out, but will try it next time. A very hearty soup! I had it in the crockpot for 8 hours and the peas were soft and fabulous. I usually pulse soups a bit with a hand blender, but this one mixed together so well I didn't have to. Thr rice softens up and blends with the peas, you can barely tell it's there. The leftovers taste great! So healthy and satisfying, Thanks for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gogoroxx March 20, 2008

This was great! As with another reviewer, my peas were also just a little hard still (although it was still yummy!). I think next time I will give the peas their own time in the crock for an hour or two before adding the rest of the ingredients. I was going to put some liquid smoke in per another reviewer's recommendation, but had some bacon grease on hand for another recipe, so I added some of that! Oh, and this IS thick!! I halved all the recipe accept for the water/broth. Will be making this again, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
somebodys_sweet_pea February 26, 2008

This is definitively a stew, not a soup, but who cares. It tastes delicious. I strongly recommend serving with lightly buttered bread of some kind, as the buttery taste really shines combined with this hearty stew. I also added a rather large amount of parsley, which turned out great in my opinion. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jiktes January 21, 2008

I have to confess, I have always had a fear of split pea soup. It simply sounded too bland to me. When I saw this recipe I simply could not pass it up, (although I tried to talk myself into it)! because ALL of the ingredients are good for you and NONE of them are bad! I omitted the turnip and added an extra potato instead. It was, as others said, more like stew than a soup, but to me, that didn't make a difference. The taste was wonderful and the meal itself was very filling and satisfying. Thanks BelleTerre for the great recipe! You've changed my world!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniCat January 14, 2008

This is a great recipe. I added about 2 cups extra water a few hours before it was done. It tasted wonderful. I had a hard time getting my split peas to completely soften, even cooking it longer, but other then that I will be making this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SugarPlum336 February 04, 2007

This was very good. It IS thick - mine turned out as thick as mashed potatoes - but I liked it hearty. It came out a bit bland so I added about 2 tbsp of "Liquid Smoke" - it gives the soup just a bit of a ham flavor. We also added quite a bit of salt and served the bowls with a dollop of sour cream. We'll do this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawn_dupriest January 23, 2007

Very tasty in general, but mine was way too thick to call it a soup. It was more like a very very thick stew. I did add an extra few cups of water, but it was still VERY thick. I also think it could use some extra salt, but maybe that is because my broth was salt-free. In any event, we all liked it quite a bit, and it was a hearty meal to get into my boys. Many thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah Chana November 10, 2006
Vegetarian Split Pea Soup