Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Spinach, Cheese and " Sausage" Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Spinach, Cheese and " Sausage" Casserole

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on February 08, 2013

      I made this last night and it was easy and delicious! I used Morningstar breakfast sausage, a combination of pepper jack and reduced fat cheddar cheeses and 0% fat cottage cheese. It was a little runny even after additional baking time but it was great. My one year old LOVED it. My three year old liked it but didn't want to admit it. We will be finishing it up tonight and I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      This is really good. I didn't have any ground soy sausage so I used 2 morningstar sausage patty's and crumbled them up. I also added 1/2 cup of sliced mushrooms and topped it off with some sliced tomatoes and alittle more cheese ontop. Will be making this often. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2013

      This was pretty good. I ended up doubling the recipe as I wanted to use up the entire pound of the GimmeLean sausage substitute. I used fatfree cottage cheese and egg substitute to save on calories and fat grams. I also added a generous helping of chopped garlic and added extra grated parmesan cheese to the top. This was enjoyed for two dinners in a row at our house. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      Yummy! Family liked it and my husband went back for seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      This was outstanding. I used a little less cottage cheese because my daughter wanted some to eat plain, and we added 16 cherry tomatoes, and used the whole lb. of GimmeLean. This was absolutely wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      I had to cook my casserole quite a bit longer to get it to set, but that may have been due to the cottage cheese I used. I have noticed that some brands of low fat or reduced fat cottage cheese are less runny than others.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      Talk about super easy! It was good too! I might make again, but I would try using fresh spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      Brilliant recipe, I make this all the time now, at least once a fortnight! I use 3 or 4 diced quorn sausages for the meat substitute. And I only get fresh spinach, so microwaved for 2 minutes in a covered dish. Easy peasy. Love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      this recipe was so yummy!!!! Cooked it last night for dinner did use normal sausage instead of soy but was really good. This is a super easy recipe that the whole family can enjoy! My daughters (5 and 3) asked for seconds!!!! 5 stars all the ways from this house hold

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2010

      I made this last night for dinner. I used quorn mince and browned it with a stock cube instead of the sausage. It was super easy to make and so good to eat! 3 of us loved it though my sometimes fussy son thought it was a little 'wet'! Def a hit in our house and will make it many more times. I might bake it a little longer next time, for his majesty, but the rest of us liked the moistness.
      Thank you so much for this recipe!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      I made this for dinner last night. Very scrumptious! My fiance and I are lactose intolerant and subbed ground tofu for the ricotta cheese. The texture was firm, but there was

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Yummy and easy! Healthy too! I omitted the cheese all together and it still turned out so good. I used ham and white onions with mushrooms rather than the sausage and green onion. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Wonderful recipe, very flavorful even with non-fat cottage cheese and reduced fat cheddar. The green onion seemed like alot but it wasn't. I also added some red bell pepper, my favorite. I finally just added the entire pack of cut-up soy sausage links as to not waste anything. Will make this again, and it's healthy too with reduced/non-fat items.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Super creamy and yummy! This recipe can be very versatile. I'll definitely try different veggies and meats next time. I ate this as a 'breakfast burrito' by putting it in tortillas with sour cream and hot sauce. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      I substituted kielbasa for the ground soy sausage. I was worried that it wouldn't turn out well, but it was delicious. Very quick to prepare, satisfying, and economical. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      this was so good. my wife was a bit nervous, but ate two servings of it. like others i used the morning star farms breakfast sausage patties -- we used cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. didnt have any frozen spinach, so i used 10 ounces of fresh spinach and cooked it down a bit before adding it to the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      This was great. Super quick to throw together and easy and very yummy. I made it exactly to the recipe (except maybe a bit more of the soy sausage and onion than called for) Thanks! This is going into my favorites list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Great recipe, nice flavor and easy to make. I did use sweet vidalia onion and breakfast sausage instead, added a little milk, italian bread crumbs, and parmesan cheese to the mixture. My kids loved it and so did I. This is a dish I will make again. Thank you! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      I concur, a simple, tasty recipe. The only thing I did differently was use a pound of regular sausage... also had a bunch of fresh spinach to use up so I steamed it first and then added it to the mix. De-lish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Loved this! Don't do soy sausage, so used regular hot, othewise followed it to a T. What a great base too, if one wanted to add other ingredients...one thought was roasted red peppers for color. Yum - Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Spinach, Cheese and " Sausage" Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 186.2
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    45%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 146.2 mg
    48%
    Sodium 452.8 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 19.2 g
    38%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    soy sausage

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes