Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 18, 2013

      The 1st time I made this soup I only had 1/2 an onion and no bay leaf - it was good but not great as was a little bland. Easily remedied with red pepper flakes, tomatoes, & nutritional yeast though! :) This time, I cooked *almost* exactly per recipe- used one huge yellow onion and the bay leaf - amazing the flavor difference. Much sweeter and tastier. I also used white pepper instead of black and a BIG dash of cayenne. Love how easy and yummy this soup is! Can't beat the fiber & protein for the calories either. I like the thick consistency but could imagine adding more water to make an even bigger batch without losing much if any of the flavor. This time and last I put in Tupperware and stored in the freezer. Was ez to nuke from frozen and tasted just great (just needs to be stirred). The first time I did the low and long, the 2nd the short and hot - the short and hot made for a chunkier soup (some of the carrots and just a little bit of the onion stayed 'in tact' whereas slow and long they pretty much dissolved into the soup- either way works for me so personal preference I guess) . And I still like putting red pepper and nutritional yeast on it but now it doesn't *need* it! Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      I looked up this recipe a few days ago and made it tonight. It's perfect! I just added Hungarian paprika, Mrs. Dash, and a pinch of Adobo seasoning and its absolutely perfect! It's a great addition to my winter soup book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      This is a real winner! I've made this several times, and have developed a variation on the recipe. I cut the salt to 1 teaspoon, and use vegetable stock instead of water. I also add 1/2 teaspoon of hickory smoke and 2 small cloves of garlic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      Delicious soup! Had to tweak my seasonings a bit though, and I ended up adding some cooked barley to it because it turned out rather thin for my taste... But I love the ease of throwing it in the crock and supper is ready when we get home!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      This was very tasty and filling. I will make the following changes next time: add another cup of liquid (I used vegetable broth); 1/2 the salt and pepper. Otherwise, I really enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2013

      Excellent soup. Enjoyed by all. I've made this severaL times. I'll never make split pea soup on the stove again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Effortless and delicious! Followed the recipe exactly for the first try. I think I'll cut the salt in half next time, then just add as needed once served (was good for me, but others may find this too salty). Perfect weeknight dinner with a good baguette and a salad. I prepped all ingredients the night before, so that in the morning I could simply add everything to the crock pot and go to work. Turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      This is an awesome recipe. So easy. I made it exactly by the recipe and it was perfect. I don't know why people think there has to be ham in split pea soup. I will take it this way every time.
      I put a dollop of veganaise on it and mixed it in the place of my usual sour cream and it was creamy and delicious. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      Doesn't get much easier than this! I had this in the crockpot in less than 5 minutes. The only thing I added was a little smoked paprika..... just a personal preference of mine. The finished soup was the perfect consistency. Loved it. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Fantastic! We've started adding this to our weekly menu. Very easy to prep, and taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      We love this recipe and make it at least once a month. I try to use less salt to lower the overall sodium. I also use my immersion blender right in the crockpot to blend the entire batch. According to the Nutrition Facts, each serving is 1/6 of the full recipe: it is a huge, delicious serving and a family favourite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Thanks for this, I've never tried to cook dry split peas in the slow cooker before...who knew, so ridiculously easy! I halved the recipe and it gave me two very hearty portions. I followed the directions and resisted the urge to stir ;) The consistency was great. I did use veg broth instead of water, but I found it was still a wee bit bland. Towards the end I added some thyme and sage. I also found it very sweet with so much carrot, might cut that in half next time and add a little celery. Thanks again, I'm full!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This is a great recipe with a lot of flavor. My picky husband loved it, the kids ate it and everyone was happy. It was so simple in the crock pot. I have made it several times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Very tasty for such a basic soup. I'm not familiar with he world of split pea soup so I wanted to start simple. This was cooked perfectly and I can really taste the split peas. I will be serving this with a whole wheat roll and salad for no-cook weeknight meal. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Slow Cooker Split Pea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (288 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.1
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    16%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1210.5 mg
    50%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.4 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 20.9 g
    83%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 19.3 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites