Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian "meatballs" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian "meatballs"

    Average Rating:

    121 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 121

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2009

      I think that the people who thought it was too salty were putting the broth packets into the meatballs, (understandable because the first instruction says to 'Mix all ingredients together," which is really not correct). The broth packets are used later in the recipe and should not be mixed in. .... I thought they were delicious and not too salty at all; I served them with a sweet & sour sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      These are out of this world delicious! My boyfriend (like other reviewers I noticed) said he likes these better than meat-meatballs. I used whole wheat breadcrumbs and added oregano, basil, parsley, and garlic powder (just eye balled the amounts). During the initial baking stage, make sure to turn every 5-10 minutes or they will stick and burn. Once they had cooked for 20 minutes I covered them in marinara sauce to bake for an hour. There are so many variations on how to make and use them (read other peoples' reviews like I did for ideas). These are going into my regular rotation. I love them!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      The veggie meatballs are part of our regular roation of meals at my house. These are EXCELLENT. When i first made them I did not have the Lipton Onion Mix so I added some Onion power but now I don't even bother as it is flavorful enough at it is. Also, there are times when i don't bother to bake the meatballs for the remaining hour. This is fine if you eat all of them but be warned that they might dry out if you need to reheat them the folowing day. You may need to rehydrate them (i.e. sprinkle some water on them) before you pop them in the microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      I just took them out of the oven and can't stop popping them into my mouth!!!! I used almonds instead of walnuts, because that's what I had on hand, and they're delicious! The mixture was a little too salty, so I added some oatmeal and two extra eggs to the mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      I have been making this recipe for years and forgot to review it. Fantastic! My husband was shocked when he tasted them because he always thinks vegetarian=boring. The onion mix is salty enough so no other real need for salty spices. I love putting these in a vegetarian sauce and even a vegetarian chili. Who am I kidding, I'll eat them right off the pan!

      As for people with nut allergies, it is well known that we live in a world where more and more people are becoming prone to allergies. No matter if you know the person or not you should always state if their are nuts in the dish. Having said this, I'm sure NO ONE would deliberately mislead someone and not mention that this dish has nuts in it. That would be offensive, rude and dangerous. Please take into consideration of others, even when leaving reviews. They can come off as rude, especially if you are stating "not to trick people."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      Lipton onion soup mix is NOT vegetarian. Please relabel this recipe so that well-meaning cooks are not feeding beef stock to their vegetarian guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      All in all these were among the best vegetarian meatballs I have had. They were also quite easy. I would definitely not say that they taste just like meat but I think a carnivore would happily eat them on occassion. They kind of just taste like flavorful cheesy stuffing/dressing balls. That being said, I will definitely make them again but with a few possible modifications.

      1) Incorporate some mashed up silken tofu to make them a little more dense and a little less spongy.

      2) Use a combination of mozzarella and cheddar to cut the calories and hopefully make them a little more Italian tasting. Potentially even include a tiny bit of parmesan.

      3) Use plain bread crumbs and cut out all the soup mixes, instead adding my own dried garlic powder, onion powder, basil, marjoram, oregano and thyme. It will give me more control over the exact flavor of the "meatballs."

      4) Go easy on the chopping of the walnuts. It's nice to have little chunks in the meatballs for extra texture.

      5) Fresh onion and garlic...would be amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      This is easily the best meat substitute recipe I've found. I altered the recipe a bit to make it more like an actual meatball recipe. The most helpful thing you can do is to grind up the walnuts in a food processor. Otherwise, your meatballs have a little too much crunch in them to pass for meat. Once you do that, take out a 1/4 cup of the cheddar cheese, and replace it with parmesan cheese. It also helps to add basil, oregano, parsley, garlic, and a little salt and pepper. Make you sure you keep turning the meatballs every few minutes as you brown them in the oven, or they will burn. Then, when finished browning, instead of pouring vegetable broth over them, throw them right into your pot of pasta sauce to finish cooking. These will look and taste like real meatballs. I've already had three meat-eaters tell me they could not tell the difference!! Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Have made these three times now since Christmas eve 2010. Sorry I'm just reviewing them. Made these the first time for my newly vegetarian daughter who absolutely loved the sweet and sour cocktail meatballs which have been a tradition in our family for many years.So I whipped up the meatballs(no broth packet) and dropped them into simmering sauce. Cooked them at a simmer for about 30 minutes, then transferred to a crock pot set on warm. Also made a larger crockpot full of the original recipe. Our Italian guests sampled both and continued to return to the vegetarian ones. Even after I explained what they were and how they were made, they kept eating these ones. Second time I made a recipe of Mean Chef's mushroom gravy with veggie broth and also just dropped the uncooked meatballs into the gravy, and simmered away. Served over mashed potatoes just like Swedish meatballs. Think this just goes to show how versatile and great this recipe is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      PLEASE, PLEASE,PLEASE DO NOT TRY TO "TRICK" PEOPLE WITH THESE VEGETARIAN MEATBALLS! THIS IS POTENTIALLY A LIFE-OR-DEATH ISSUE! I have a serious, life-threatening allergy to nuts and one bite of these nutballs could potentially end my life! At the very least, it would be a trip to the e.r. and epinephrine, even if I didn't swallow it. I know to ask about nuts in almost everything but meatballs would probably not occur to me as a potential threat.

      There are a lot of people with anaphylactic nut allergies. Unless you know that the people you're feeding aren't sensitive to any of the ingredients, you should ALWAYS inform them of unusual ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      Would give this 10 stars if I could. I have experimented many times with vegetarian meatballs and while the test was good, the texture was terrible (usually too mushy). These are amazing and could fool a meat eater.

      I used 1 1/2 cups of 2% mild cheddar, 1/2 cup grated Romano cheese, Egg Beaters, no onions or onion soup but parsley, basil, garlic powder, salt and pepper and cooked them in my sauce. They taste just like the meatballs I used to make in my pre veggie days. Also, be sure to grind the walnuts very finely unless you like crunch. Fantastic! Can't thank you enough for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      These are the greatest of all time!!!!! I used French Onion Soup and just threw the balls into spaghetti red sauce. The next lot I added chopped water chestnuts, then baked and served with Hoi Sin sauce in with stir-fried vegetables. Also served them (with water chestnuts inside) at son's 30th birthday party with hoi sin sauce, sweet and sour sauce and sweet chilli sauce (all asian) for dipping! Sprinkled the balls with mung bean shoots to look pretty and add some crunch. Lots of vegetarians there, so went down really well! Completely fooled the carnivores, lol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      I am giving this five stars for the ease of the recipe, the taste, texture, and the ability to trick those who do not realize that these are not "real" meatballs. One thing I did do differently and would highly suggest, is to put the walnuts in a food processor and grind. I still want to tinker with the flavor of the meatballs, maybe cut back on the onion soup mix and possible add some Italian seasoning. Thanks for such a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      THESE ARE SOOOOOOOO GOOOD!!! I follow the recipe exactly every time and they are a HIT!!!!!!! Have done them in tomato sauce, cream of mushroom and mushroom gravy!!!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE THEM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I am a meat eater but we do not eat ground beef. I made these for a dear vegetarian friend and her family while she was very ill. They are very delicious. A little on the salty side. I am unable to find the vegetarian broth where I live so I just omit it. I get requests from her MONTHLY for the great meat balls. She says she loves them because they dont fall apart in her tomato sauce or broth. And they are just simply scumptious!! UPDATE: 12-23-2009 Made these a few weeks ago and turned them into sweet and sour meatballs for a Christmas party we had. No one could believe they were vegetarian!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      My family loved these!!! I do not like walnuts as a rule and did not want chunks of them in the meatballs, so I threw them in my food processor and made walnut powder!! If I had not made them myself I would have thought they were beef. In fact, my hubby (he does not eat red meat) thought I was trying to feed him beef. I had to convince him otherwise. They were a bit salty, but I disagree with the other reviewers on the cause. The vegetarian broth powder is VERY salty...I really don't think it's the onion soup that does it. I think I will cut down on that next time and add some wheatgerm for consistency if needed. I used "authentic Italian Tomato Sauce" #92096 and they were very tasty ***Update: I have since made these for potluck dinners and NO ONE believes me when I tell them that they have no beef in them. My brother in law is a meat and potatoes kind of guy and declared to my sister that they were "the best meatballs he had ever had!" I decided to experiment a little and tried the mixture in a meatloaf...very tasty. My next experiment is to see if it can replace ground meat in tacos or chili. I will let you know

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      Made them four times in two weeks. We also had them as burger patties and hotdog sausages. They have a great consistency and are sooo tasty! By now, we grind the walnuts instead of chopping them and we also add finely chopped onions and garlic powder to the dough. <br/><br/>I have to take more than half the meatballs away when they're done or we will eat them all in one go. This way, we have room to steal some of them from the fridge before the next meatball meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      These are really good but unfortunately they don't satisfy my family. I loved them and will make them for myself. Lipton Soup is vegan but it does contain GMO's. I used an organic brand I found at my local health food store or you can always make your own. There are quite a few good recipes here at Food.com .

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      This has become a staple in my home! I've played with it in all kinds of directions, and the fact that my 11 year old boy still gets excited when I make them is amazing. Thank you SO much for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      These are fantastic! Even DH liked them. I added these vegetarian meatballs to a mushroom sauce this time. I'll probably try the vegetarian broth next time. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian "meatballs"

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 575.2
     
    Calories from Fat 353
    61%
    Total Fat 39.2 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 245.3 mg
    81%
    Sodium 1331.4 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 27.9 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetarian broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes