124 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I think that the people who thought it was too salty were putting the broth packets into the meatballs, (understandable because the first instruction says to 'Mix all ingredients together," which is really not correct). The broth packets are used later in the recipe and should not be mixed in. .... I thought they were delicious and not too salty at all; I served them with a sweet & sour sauce.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkeen3 April 14, 2009

These are out of this world delicious! My boyfriend (like other reviewers I noticed) said he likes these better than meat-meatballs. I used whole wheat breadcrumbs and added oregano, basil, parsley, and garlic powder (just eye balled the amounts). During the initial baking stage, make sure to turn every 5-10 minutes or they will stick and burn. Once they had cooked for 20 minutes I covered them in marinara sauce to bake for an hour. There are so many variations on how to make and use them (read other peoples' reviews like I did for ideas). These are going into my regular rotation. I love them!!! :)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuddles4ya March 28, 2011

The veggie meatballs are part of our regular roation of meals at my house. These are EXCELLENT. When i first made them I did not have the Lipton Onion Mix so I added some Onion power but now I don't even bother as it is flavorful enough at it is. Also, there are times when i don't bother to bake the meatballs for the remaining hour. This is fine if you eat all of them but be warned that they might dry out if you need to reheat them the folowing day. You may need to rehydrate them (i.e. sprinkle some water on them) before you pop them in the microwave.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ayiti_cherie June 12, 2008

I just took them out of the oven and can't stop popping them into my mouth!!!! I used almonds instead of walnuts, because that's what I had on hand, and they're delicious! The mixture was a little too salty, so I added some oatmeal and two extra eggs to the mixture.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirramar March 08, 2011

I have been making this recipe for years and forgot to review it. Fantastic! My husband was shocked when he tasted them because he always thinks vegetarian=boring. The onion mix is salty enough so no other real need for salty spices. I love putting these in a vegetarian sauce and even a vegetarian chili. Who am I kidding, I'll eat them right off the pan!

As for people with nut allergies, it is well known that we live in a world where more and more people are becoming prone to allergies. No matter if you know the person or not you should always state if their are nuts in the dish. Having said this, I'm sure NO ONE would deliberately mislead someone and not mention that this dish has nuts in it. That would be offensive, rude and dangerous. Please take into consideration of others, even when leaving reviews. They can come off as rude, especially if you are stating "not to trick people."

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Girl Kacey February 04, 2011

Lipton onion soup mix is NOT vegetarian. Please relabel this recipe so that well-meaning cooks are not feeding beef stock to their vegetarian guests.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anita_H August 26, 2012

All in all these were among the best vegetarian meatballs I have had. They were also quite easy. I would definitely not say that they taste just like meat but I think a carnivore would happily eat them on occassion. They kind of just taste like flavorful cheesy stuffing/dressing balls. That being said, I will definitely make them again but with a few possible modifications.

1) Incorporate some mashed up silken tofu to make them a little more dense and a little less spongy.

2) Use a combination of mozzarella and cheddar to cut the calories and hopefully make them a little more Italian tasting. Potentially even include a tiny bit of parmesan.

3) Use plain bread crumbs and cut out all the soup mixes, instead adding my own dried garlic powder, onion powder, basil, marjoram, oregano and thyme. It will give me more control over the exact flavor of the "meatballs."

4) Go easy on the chopping of the walnuts. It's nice to have little chunks in the meatballs for extra texture.

5) Fresh onion and garlic...would be amazing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HocoRuco November 09, 2010

This is easily the best meat substitute recipe I've found. I altered the recipe a bit to make it more like an actual meatball recipe. The most helpful thing you can do is to grind up the walnuts in a food processor. Otherwise, your meatballs have a little too much crunch in them to pass for meat. Once you do that, take out a 1/4 cup of the cheddar cheese, and replace it with parmesan cheese. It also helps to add basil, oregano, parsley, garlic, and a little salt and pepper. Make you sure you keep turning the meatballs every few minutes as you brown them in the oven, or they will burn. Then, when finished browning, instead of pouring vegetable broth over them, throw them right into your pot of pasta sauce to finish cooking. These will look and taste like real meatballs. I've already had three meat-eaters tell me they could not tell the difference!! Highly recommended.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjfeola February 25, 2008

My family loved these!!! I do not like walnuts as a rule and did not want chunks of them in the meatballs, so I threw them in my food processor and made walnut powder!! If I had not made them myself I would have thought they were beef. In fact, my hubby (he does not eat red meat) thought I was trying to feed him beef. I had to convince him otherwise. They were a bit salty, but I disagree with the other reviewers on the cause. The vegetarian broth powder is VERY salty...I really don't think it's the onion soup that does it. I think I will cut down on that next time and add some wheatgerm for consistency if needed. I used "authentic Italian Tomato Sauce" #92096 and they were very tasty ***Update: I have since made these for potluck dinners and NO ONE believes me when I tell them that they have no beef in them. My brother in law is a meat and potatoes kind of guy and declared to my sister that they were "the best meatballs he had ever had!" I decided to experiment a little and tried the mixture in a meatloaf...very tasty. My next experiment is to see if it can replace ground meat in tacos or chili. I will let you know

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alydes April 16, 2008

Have made these three times now since Christmas eve 2010. Sorry I'm just reviewing them. Made these the first time for my newly vegetarian daughter who absolutely loved the sweet and sour cocktail meatballs which have been a tradition in our family for many years.So I whipped up the meatballs(no broth packet) and dropped them into simmering sauce. Cooked them at a simmer for about 30 minutes, then transferred to a crock pot set on warm. Also made a larger crockpot full of the original recipe. Our Italian guests sampled both and continued to return to the vegetarian ones. Even after I explained what they were and how they were made, they kept eating these ones. Second time I made a recipe of Mean Chef's mushroom gravy with veggie broth and also just dropped the uncooked meatballs into the gravy, and simmered away. Served over mashed potatoes just like Swedish meatballs. Think this just goes to show how versatile and great this recipe is.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
askinnycook July 21, 2011
Vegetarian "meatballs"