Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Portuguese Kale Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Portuguese Kale Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2014

      I enjoyed this soup for my dinner tonight and am looking forward to leftovers tomorrow. I used soyrizo. The only substitution that I made was to use dried thyme in place of fresh since I didn't have any on hand. I especially like the turnips in this soup, and as another reviewer pointed out, I was pleased how the kale holds up in the dish. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      I made this with the kale that came in my CSA box. Used some organic chicken sausage, left out the beans, added sweet potato, and didn't cook the potato separately. Turned out really tasty. I like the flexibility of adding whatever vegetables I have.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2011

      Really really good! I used turnips instead of parsnips. I get my nips confused sometimes, LOL. My brother-in-law who is from Honduras said it tasted just like his mom used to make. :) I'd say that's a compliment. I think it would be good with malanga, yucca, any other root veggies, sweet potatoes etc. Go crazy with it. Seems like a no-fail recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      This soup is so awesome!! What a wonderful flavor and so healthy!! A little time consuming with all the chopping but so worth it!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      Yumm, this is so good. I just happened to have all of the ingredients on hand, so this was perfect. It's easy to make and was really tasty. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I've recently begun experimenting with kale, and when I noticed that this recipe called for soy chorizo, I had to try it. I just love the flavor of soy chorizo. I used dried herbs since that's what I had on hand, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. This was my first time cooking with turnips, and I loved the bit of crunch. The combination of the velvety broth with the textures of the veggies is very appealing. Thanks for posting! Deelish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      This recipe was easy and so yummy! I loved it and I did use vegan chorizo. I didn't have fresh thyme or parsley so I used dried. I also did not have turnips and used celery instead. I will make this again! Thanks Sharon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      this freezes well and i used real sausage (sorry sharon) and only 1 bay leave

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      I did use regular smoked sausage in this recipe, so non-vegetarians be alerted...this is a great soup! Our stomachs and our hearts were warmed by eating this fabulous soup. It was hearty, but not heavy, and the broth was full of rich, smoky, tomatoey flavors. Kale is so much better for soup than spinach, since it holds up with a pleasing texture. We loved this recipe Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Portuguese Kale Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.7
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    20%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 241.1 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 7.7 g
    30%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    soy chorizo

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes