Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Pasta e Fagioli (Pasta and Beans) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Pasta e Fagioli (Pasta and Beans)

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2009

      I have been trying to make minestrone soup for years, and have never been able to get the seasonings right. I started making this Pasta e Fagioli, and after tasting the broth as it simmered...AHA! This is the exact combo that my soup needed. This quickly turned into minestrone with the addition of potato and veggies. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2003

      WOW~!!! BECKY!!! THIS IS DELICIOUS!!! Ive never had anything like this before (yes, never lol) so I was rather excited about it :-) At first I was a bit nervous about the spices (I must admit I had to leave out the rosemary, as I am very picky about what I put rosemary in, hehe) and only 1 teaspoon of oregano, as Ive found that the one I have is rather strong...and Ive noticed in the past, when using recommended amounts, it always seems like too much, so I cut back a bit :-) I used 1 teaspoon of the red pepper flakes because we like it kicked up a bit ;-) but i must admit that I will use a bit less next time haha... Im not sure i have any nose hairs left! :-O lol. This is just wonderful overall. The flavors are fabulous, and the parsley, parm and ground black pepper are a great touch. I served this with a pile of sliced fresh italian bread that I quickly toasted under the broiler... soft on one side, crisp on the other hehe. Was wonderful to soak up the leftover soup broth... you will not want to waste a bit of the broth!!! YUM!!!!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!! I will be making this quite often as we love soups...and this is definitely one of our favorites to date!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      Light and delicious soup! I chopped my carrots smaller so they would cook a little quicker and added some zucchini because I had some on hand. The pasta absorbed the broth quite a bit but that was fine for us; I didn't add any extra liquid because I wanted it a little less soupy. The herbs were great in this - I liked the rosemary and was generous with the crushed red pepper. Thanks for sharing your recipe! Made for the Best of 2013 event, recommended by Nancy's Pantry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      This was a wonderfully simple, healthy, flavorful soup. I left out the pasta. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2013

      Excellent soup! Made this today and DH and I both loved it. I have made this soup before using Italian sausage; however, this is just as hearty and delicious. Will defintely be making this soup again and again! Made for February's Sun and Spice tag, 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      This was so delicious! I followed as written, grateful to have started it a little earlier since the broth has to simmer. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      This was REALLY good! I just needed an extra cup of broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      Thank you for this wonderful recipe. I added a Parmesan rind with the stock and used the full teaspoon of red pepper flake and I loved the extra kick. I will add extra stock next time so the pasta doesn't soak up all the liquid. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

    • on February 10, 2010

      I loved this soup, it was very good. I did a type of fridge cleaning and added red bell pepper, mushrooms, and extra carrots to it. The herb mixture was just right and I liked the slight heat from the red pepper flakes. I made the pasta separately and poured to soup on top. Served it with multigrain Italian bread. (Photo added)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      This was really really good! I did not post a review the first time I made it because I used too much rosemary and needed to do it right. Well I made it again tonight and we just loved it. I did add more broth at the end and it was perfect. Thanks! Update: I found that making this earlier in the day and then re-heatng really helps the flavors blend. I make soime extra broth to add if needed. Fabulous! I served this with red pepper flakes, freshly grated cheese on top along with rickv's Basic machine french bread #4651

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      This was terrific! I loved the herb combination. I used 3 cloves garlic and 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes. I had a 14 1/2 ounce can of fire roasted crushed tomatoes which I used, as well as some tubetti pasta. I accidentally added the beans along with the broth with no deleterious effects:D No other changes. This made a very thick soup but I did not add additional broth. I'm really looking forward to lunch tomorrow. BF was not as enthusiastic with this recipe as I was, but he would still give this 5 stars. I'll make this again, and I think he'll change his mind for the better. So glad I made this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      Love it! Every time I make it, I am asked for the recipe! Delicious! edit to add: I make the pasta separately and serve the soup over a scoop of pasta. I like to keep them separate so that the pasta doesn't absorb all of the liquid in the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      This was absolutely wonderful! It reminded me of the minestrone I get at restaurants but so much better! It was so filling and the aroma was delectable. My husband and I were able to enjoy it for dinner for two evenings, and we had had seconds one of those nights. The leftovers also kept well in the ziploc container in the fridge, and the flavors blended wonderfully. Thank you for posting this wonderful soup recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      A great vegetarian recipe!! Soo tasty, definetely one to keep!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      This is the BEST Pasta e Fagioli I've ever made!!! I omitted the onion (my husband can't eat them), used canned tomotoes and Wolfgang Puck's organic vegetable broth. It's easy to make (an hour is ample time) and fills the house with a great aroma. Perfect for a snowy afternoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

      Absolutly awesome. This has n amazing flavor! If desired, you can add pancetta or ground beef sauted with the vegatables. Beef broth can be substituted for the vegatable broth. At our house we use several variations, depending on our mood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      Very good, and easy. I only used 2 cups of broth, to keep it from becoming a soup. I've never gotten so much flavor out of dried spices before!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      This comes from an girl who ate traditional pasta e fagioli at least once a week growing up (great chep way to feed 6 kids!):excellent simple recipe! I do love meat in it usually, but we are watching our weight, so i tried this. Awesome! Minor changes: more garlic, fresh rosemary and thyme, i had no red pepper flakes, so i went with some dashes of hot sauce. Served with crusty whole grain bread. Try it with a bit of high quality extra virgin olive oil over the top before eating. divine! thanks... this will get us through the winter on a diet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      Delicious! Though macaroni took a lot of water from the soup, I kept adding more still it was very tasty!!! I used regular navy beans in a can, and still it tasted good! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Pasta e Fagioli (Pasta and Beans)

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.2
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    26%
    Total Fat 9.3 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 41.5 mg
    13%
    Sodium 46.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 9.2 g
    37%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    cannellini beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites