8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is awesome. The peanut butter is very subtle and the lime sticks out, which I love. I've made versions of this for years but I think this is my favorite! I ended up using carrot, celery, and cabbage for the vegetable but kept everything else the same. Flavorful and healthy, I'll be using this as my go-to coconut curry recipe from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kirsten (#1!) November 25, 2013

This was a huge hit in my house. My brother hates Tofu and Sweet Potatoes, but he said that this was one of the best things that I ever made. While I'm a bit curious to see how this would taste with a little more curry paste, I won't be straying from your recipe with this crew. Well done Sophie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Park Crazy 25 August 24, 2014

We enjoyed this last night for dinner. It was tasty, but next time we would increase all the spices and curry paste (I should have read Rita's review first). As it was, all three of us stirred more curry paste into our individual servings. We served over basmati rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny July 17, 2014

Pretty good, didn't get me excited until I added sriracha. Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexandrathegreat June 11, 2013

Absolutely delicious! We used olive oil because we didn't have canola on hand, and we added a bunch of veggies to the dish and left out the tofu (my dad doesn't like it). We had mushrooms, capsicum and zucchini, as well as sweet potato. The water made it too weak, but I just took the lid off the pot and left it cooking at a mid-low heat for fifteen minutes or so, and the flavour was delicious and much stronger! :)

Not spicy at all, which was good for my dad! :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sophietheunicorn February 05, 2013

Nice kick! I sauteed the shallots, garlic, ginger and lemongrass (that I added) in Coconut oil. I did use spicy peanut butter and used twice the amount of red curry paste.We like it hot! Kale was nowhere to be found in the store I went to, so I used baby bok choy and napa cabbage. I will add cilantro and or basil to the leftovers tomorrow. Thanks for the good eats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ October 28, 2012

Perfect! There's nothing I would change. This was absolutely wonderful and I can't wait for leftovers tomorrow! I used chunky peanut butter and that makes me think a handful of chopped peanuts would be a nice nice topping. Oh, and because I can't get kale here, I ended up using Swiss chard and it was wonderful. As I imagine spinach would be too. Will make again frequently.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook July 20, 2012

This worked out really well, and I didn't spend all day making it. A very mild curry, with lots of flavour from the peanut, lime and other good stuff in here. I just realized that I forgot all about adding the sugar. I could see that being a nice addition, but certainly not missed. The amount of curry paste is minimal here, so OK for those who don't care for a lot of spice, and perfect for a family get together I had the other night. I would add more curry paste if it were just for me, I prefer the thai flavours to be more bold. Really enjoyed the kale & yam combo, very nutritious meal. Thanks Sofie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner March 06, 2012
Vegetarian Panang Curry