18 Reviews

This paella tastes great! The only thing I would do differently next time is put the green beans in a bit earlier because mine were a bit hard and didn't get cooked properly. Couldn't really tell if the saffron made a difference in the taste because all the other tastes were so strong. If I didn't have any in the house I certainly would not buy any just for this recipe. We will be making this one again :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vinita December 30, 2012

It is my understanding from tv chefs that Saffron does not provide taste; it only provides color. I would use the saffron rice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brgo January 10, 2012

I was so excited to be shopping for this recipe because I love paella and I was so happy to find a vegetarian version! But my excitement came to a screeching halt at the spice aisle! I couldn't justify $20 for a spice for which I only needed 1/16 teaspoon... (And you don't get a jar full - you get an envelope of saffron which is wedged into the jar and frankly, the envelope appeared pretty empty. What is this stuff - gold dust?). Sadly, I deduced that this would most likely be the KEY ingredient in this recipe. I perked up at the rice aisle where I found yellow saffron rice and I used that instead of the other rice. I have no idea what 1/16 tsp of saffron would have done but dinner turned out delicious afterall! (And now I'm wondering what it would take to grow and resale saffron...?) Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs Majors June 04, 2007

Couldn't find saffron so substituted it with turmeric, which gave the right colour to the paella. That said, the recipe did come out bland - this could have been because of the vegetable stock and lack of saffron. I added more stock, but still. I had a look on here and followed the advice of other reviewers: added rosemary, cumin, zaatar, onion powder and a teeny tiny bit of chili powder. It seems better now. Hope the guests enjoy it - thank you for this vegetarian version of this classic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melodina June 18, 2015

This was easy to make and very good on a cold evening. I did end up cooking it an extra 5 minutes at the end to make sure the rice was completely finished. Next time I will follow some other reviewers' advice and add some extra seasonings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
margiecohen January 27, 2013

Outstanding! Creamy and delicious! I used edamame in place of green beans and did not have mushrooms, so didn't use them, but we do love them and next time I will put them in. This dish has great flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl January 27, 2010

I thought this was amazing! Since I like extra spice/herb, I added extra garlic, 2 tsp pasta sprinkle, some rosemary, and white pepper Sub: chicken with veg stock and added some grilled chicken on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook Tara K. January 25, 2010

Wow, to say that this makes a lot of food is quite an understatement! Good thing it is yummy, slightly addictive stuff :). I didn't have a problem with too little broth, though I will say that it took a bit longer than written to get all of the rice cooked. I think the quality of broth is key here--a less flavorful broth would probably yield a blander dish. Based on other reviews I did double the garlic, and I added several healthy shakes of cumin and a shake or two of cayenne. This recipe is forgiving as far as which veggies you use; I added some okra that needed to be used, and I have to say it fit in just fine! DH and I agree that next time we will increase the other veggies and omit the eggplant out of personal taste, not a recipe flaw. Thanks for posting. This was a great way to use the beautiful veggies I bought at the farmer's market this week!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian July 07, 2008

not bad, but.. i don't really like it - a little bit too bland to my taste. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.sugiarto November 07, 2007

This was great and it made my tummy happy! The only changes I made were that I sauteed in 1 T olive oil and used more green beans and mushrooms (because my garbanzos and tomatoes were short of 19 oz). Oh, and I used regular white rice because I had just bought a 10 lb bag of it. :) Next time I'll add more spices (definitely more garlic and pepper, a little rosemary).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Pixelated Vegetarian August 22, 2007
Vegetarian Paella