Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Mulligatawny Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Mulligatawny Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2009

      Easy cheap recipe! Only changes I made- didn't have a potato, used an entire can of coco milk and no shredded coconut, and added some extra water and 3/4 c of lentils (HAVE to have lentils in mulligatawny soup).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      Made this a couple of times now with variations. The basic recipe is beautiful with the different colors of the tomato and tumeric and cilantro, without loosing those colors... I've used canned tomato (1/2 of a 15oz. can) in exchange for fresh with great results. I've also exchanged the vegetable broth for chicken and added 2 cups shredded chicken breast to make the soup heartier. I've (also) exchanged the shredded coconut for a whole can of coconut milk, I've also exchanged it for an equal amount of shredded Granny Smith apple. In all cases I've added some cumin (sprinkled to taste) and some ground cardamom (about a 1/4 t.), I omit the chili (or cayenne) and allow each person to add Tabasco to their own tastes. Next time, I think I'll try topping each serving with crushed pistachios. It's a wonderful recipe that stands up to so much tinkering. This lovely soup is very versital and is just the thing on a rainy spring night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2003

      I really liked this soup. I was afraid that, due to it's Indian influence, it was going to be very spicy but it was just right and even my toddler didn't have a problem with the hotness. I didn't have coriander so threw in some cumin and caraway seeds. I omited the cilantro and unsweetened coconut as I didn't have any. In the absense of the unsweetened coconut, I went ahead and put a whole can of coconut milk. I thought it turned out very yummy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      I made this for a group of friends, I still get appreciation from them for this soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      this was great and very easy. I used it as a base to make creamed spinach to accompany an Indian dinner I was making that was starting to look like the curry flavor was taking over. I wanted something cream and unique to go with all the other curry dishes and this was a HUGE hit. We are vegan and all our friends aren't, they gladly ate and went back for seconds. The only change I made was that I used a hand blender to blend the soup so I could use it as my liquid for the creamed spinach. There was plenty of soup left over and the longer it sat the better it got. Wonderful recipe! Ok, I make this often now. I serve it with garlic rice mixed with toasted slivered almonds. I puree the soup with an hand blender so it's got small chunks of vegi's in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      Yum! The soup itself has such a wonderful flavour i could eat it strained! So I'll blend half the leftovers tomorrow & see how that goes. Left out the celery. I added a tsp of garlic, extra chili, a 400g can of tomatoes & probably a tsp of ground cumin. Definitely making this again! Thanks for sharing Heather :) UPDATE: Originally i gave this 4 stars, but I've since made it often & i can't get enough of it, so now it's 5 stars all the way!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      This soup was so good. After reading reviews for this and other Mulligatawny soup recipes I made the following substitutions: instead of the 1 TBSP coriander, I used 1 1/2 tsps of cumin and 1 1/2 tsp of coriander, added 1 tsp of curry powder, 1 diced apple, 1/4 cup of red lentils, about 1 1/2 tsps each of chopped garlic and fresh ginger, and added one full can of coconut milk, omitting the grated coconut (hated to waste the rest of the can). My changes did not alter the recipe substantially enough to not highly endorse this recipe as excellent, and enjoyed by both the vegetarians and carnivores in my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      I have made this soup twice with great results both times. It is an execellent tasting soup - not too hot, but plenty of flavor. If you like the taste of coconut milk, you will like this soup. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2004

      I made this soup with a whole can of coconut milk, no grated coconut, a whole can of diced tomatoes and added a cut up sweet potato, then blended it-- it was so delicious! It gives you cravings for the soup again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Mulligatawny Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.0
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    67%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 17.7 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 330.2 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.9 g
    23%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chili

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites