27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Terrific recipe. that said, I did make a couple of changes: Used vegetable broth instead of water and bullion and cooked in my pressure cooker for about 15 min on high. Easy simple delicious. this would be highly adaptable to seasoning s for other cuisines: greek for moussaka, Indian curry mix for samosas, meat for English shepherd's pie. etc. thanks for a great jumping off point. I'll be using this often. Thanks Judy in WA

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
godbreathed01 April 12, 2010

This is the same recipe that I use, but mine is out of the Taste of Home cookbook, and is cooked on the stove. My version you saute the onion garlic, lentils, in a little bit of oil. Then you add the broth and simmer for about 30 min.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aggies August 30, 2008

So wonderful and easy! froze well, which is important for my single self!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OwlyAnnie August 01, 2011

We loved this. I have made it both in the crock pot and on the stove top and it turned out wonderfully each time. Thanks for a fantastic recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hookapotomus December 05, 2011

Absolutely fantastic!! I didn't add oil to the mix and didn't really think it needed it. It was not a "stick it in the crock and forget about it" kind of recipe, though. I tended to it often, stirring and adding water so that it wouldn't stick. I'm not sure if that was a result of the lack of oil. It came out awesome, though, in about 7 hours. What a great recipe for game day tacos!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PescatariYum April 26, 2011

I was asked to bring a main dish to a potluck where I knew that several vegetarians would be. This was a big hit with them and with many of the meat eaters also. I used frontier natural foods beef less broth powder and no sodium vegetable broth powder in place of the vegetable bullion cubes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sha_lyn68 July 07, 2010

I have picky kids and they gobbled this up. My little 3 year old said he didn't want to eat it, then he tried it and said yummy. He wanted more! Thank you for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madams July 03, 2009

Great texture and lots of flavor -- this is the taco "meat" I've been looking for! My mind is whirling at all the things I can use this in, but our first try was on tostadas and it was fabulous. One word of caution - mine cooked completely in 2.5 hours on high, so you might want to check it periodically the first time you make it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama March 14, 2009

I think this would've been terrific as written, but I was short on time so I did it on the stovetop. I was short a bouillon cube so I substituted chicken stock for 1 veggie bouillon cube. (Obviously that wasn't vegetarian). If you do this stovetop it'll take about an hour and you will probably need another 1 1/2 cup to 2 cups of liquid.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TabbyRT June 27, 2014

I don't write reviews often, but this recipe is fantastic. I was looking for a healthier alternative to the Morningstar soy-based crumbles we usually use as taco meat filling. I followed recipe to the T, except I halved the chili powder, and I pureed the salsa since picky kids were going to eat. I only ended up having to add about an additional half cup of water during cooking, and about 4 hours in I added a kitchen towel draped under the closed lid to absorb the excess moisture and dry out the mixture. It was ready after about 5 hours on high. Flavor was great, no complaints from husband, and the kids gobbled it all up without hesitation! Don't wait, make this recipe tonight, you won't regret it! So easy and very inexpensive to boot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
choppedliver December 16, 2013
Vegetarian Lentil Taco 'meat Filling' Substitute (Crock Pot)