Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Lentil Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Lentil Stew

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2002

      This was unusual in that it wasn't a heavy tomato base, which is what I like and am used to.However, I had 3 bowls and it was delicious, almost "rustic" and, as usual, tasted even better the next day. I served this with a loaf of Tuscan bread and spinach salad. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      What a great stew! I didn't have mace and didn't know what it was. It wasn't hard to make and everyone loved it! Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      This is real comfort food. Didn't have mace, never cooked with it before, so I improvised threw in turmeric, chilli powder and ginger as well the cumin. Also added green beans for a bit of colour. Will definitely cook again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      Hi Dancer^ I made this for dinner and my husband loved it, little did he know its was healthy. lol The smell just filled the house..grate recipe thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2003

      Very yummy! I added carrots to give it a little more color and a little more vitamins! :) After I made it the first time, I noticed it tasted better the second day. So, this time, I made it in the morning and let the flavors mingle all day. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Great hearty meal! I did make a couple of changes. I used 1 cup of water and 2 cups of vegetable broth. I used more like 1.5 cups of lentils. I added 2 diced carrots and 1 diced parsnip. VERY tasty, hearty and was gobbled up by the vegetarians and non-veg. in the family! THIS IS A KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      Good recipe, but it was just to bland for me. Needed a lot more salt and some other spices that I just couldn't get put my finger on. The carrots and other veggies are definately a good idea. It was simple to throw together though - with things I usually have around the house which is surely a plus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      delightful! My daughter said "WOW! mom this is Pretty Amazing" I am not a vegetarian but try to cook accordingly for her. I did not have mushrooms unfortunately, and added 2c each of carrot and squash. As well we like spicyish so i more than doubled the mace and cumin, and added 2t blackened seasoning. after slowly simmering it most of the day,I thickened it a bit with some cornstarch because I had also made beef stew for the rest of the family. Though, they (and I)would have been very content with your recipe. It was a hit and I will make it again! Thank you for your recipe. PS you have a few others I will be trying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      the best veggie stew ever. i used sliced cremini mushrooms and i added 2 carrots cut into coins and about a cup of chopped celery. i also added dumplings at the end. amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2007

      I liked this one a lot and feel it will be a great starting point for many meals to come. Though I am a lentil lover, the highlight of this dish for me were the the meaty mushrooms. Next time I will probably add the potatoes a bit later as they were a little mushy by the time the lentils were tender. Additional seasoning would also add a stronger dimension. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      i also added chili pwd and carrots and corn and spinich ( i wanted it really vegetably) it was very good but lacked a little flavor i added more of the spices and it definatley needed more tomatoes so i mixed some salsa into my portion wich was then delicious. i served it with vegan stove-top cornbread Vegan Stove-Top Cornbread and the two complimented each other perfectly both better together than seperate. it was a hit though and i did serve it the next day as others have recommended. thanks for a great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      Absolutley delicious! I added about a teaspooon of chili powder also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      this is a great one. added things like pumpkin and sweet potato plus added some chilli. couldn't get mace but used nutmeg as it is like but not as pungent. very easy and nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Lentil Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (415 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 213.3
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    10%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 212.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.0 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 13.5 g
    54%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites