Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2011

      I haven't boiled my lasagna noodles for years! The trick is to prepare the lasagna the night before, cover with plastic wrap and set in the frig until you bake it the next day. When you're ready to bake, take off the plastic wrap and cover with foil for half of the baking time. If you put it in the oven right out of the frig, just add 15 minutes to the bakiing time. Be sure to let the lasagna set at least 10 minutes after it bakes so it will set up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2010

    • on June 17, 2010

      good stuff--kinda labor intensive, but froze well (I made it x5 for coop cooking)---MIL who doesn't even like veggies ate it and raved about it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Mmmmmmmm.... while I do think the yummy factor depends on the yummyness of your sauce, this is a GREAT lasagna! Like others I cooked my mushrooms and drained their liquid before using them. I also ommitted the parm mostly because I didn't feel like grating any, and I had extra mozz. I also had some left over tempeh from the previous nights dinner, which I steamed, mashed with a fork and then added to the sauce, carrots, and oregano. I then heated this sauce to let the tempeh absorb the sauce flavors. I don't even notice it, or the carrots for that matter. Used a whole box of whole wheat lasagna noodles (makes a very full pan) I cooked the pasta for about 4 minutes and then used them which was a good idea because the noodles weren't mushy or uncooked, but perfectly al dente, surprisingly enough, because the dish itself was a little soupy... Anywho, best veg lasagna I've made or eaten before, so props to you Mille!!!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Delicious, rich lasagna. I'm a devoted vegetarian in a family of carni's, and everyone loved this dish. I served with simple salad and olive oil/pesto dip for warm bread. This will be a standard for casual dinner parties.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This was phenomenal!! Direct quote from my non-vegetarian boyfriend: "If you'd cook more things like this, I'd eat vegetarian all the time"!! I used frozen spinach, artichoke hearts, and mixed two wonderful Bertolli garlic and tomato + chunky mushroom sauces together. I am not an experienced cook but this recipe did not make that obvious. Fantastic - thank you Mille!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I made this for my son and I for dinner today and we both loved it! I used the same amounts of everything except for the spaghetti sauce. I used 2 (26 oz.) cans of Hunts No Sugar Added Italian Style Sauce, which gives you 4 more oz. of sauce, and just added a little more (Italian Seasoning in place of the oregano). I put down half the sauce, then the noodles (I used whole wheat), then the FF Ricotta spinach mixture, so it would be easier to spread, then more sauce, half the zucchini, all the mushrooms, then the rest of the sauce, then the rest of the cheeses, leaving me with about 1 c. of the Ricotta cheese and spinach mixture, 3 noodles, and half the zucchini left over. I couldn't fit it in the 9x13" pan. Next time I will make it in a larger pan so I can add all the rest of the stuff in to make more layers. It was delicious and will be made more often now that I have a good recipe for a Vegetarian Lasagna. Also, Thank you so much for keeping MilleR's recipes here so we can still use them! I hope you are smiling down on us MilleR :) Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Excellent recipe! It seemed like their was too much sauce because mine ended up being extra runny. I also used dry noodles rather than boiling them beforehand. Other than that, everything tasted wonderful and I got raving reviews from everyone in the house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      It was very good but it was hard to spread the ricotta mixture over the sauce. It seemed to turn pink! Ha. Very different tasting than traditional lasagna. I used a lot of extra mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      This was delicious. I made it for 3 of my friends and we all enjoyed it. I baked mine in a casserole dish for 55 mins and kept it covered with aluminum foil for the first 40 mins so that the cheese wouldn't burn. I used less spaghetti sauce (about 36 oz). I added a handful of fresh basil to the sauce, along with some chopped onions, fresh minced garlic and 1/2 lb ground beef. I used canned spinach and I thought it worked great. I sauteed the mushrooms and zucchini before adding it to the lasagna, but I added the zucchini during the last 2 mins so that they wouldn't get overcooked and mushy when cooked in the lasagna. For the cheese I used 2 cups of shredded mozzarella and 1 cup of fresh mozzarella. I followed some of the reviews and didn't cook the lasagna first. I was somewhat nervous about doing it that way but it turned out perfect and I won't cook it from now on because it's so much easier to add it uncooked. My lasagna barely fit in the pan. I was worried that it might overflow but it didn't. Next time I'd like to add 1 lb of ground beef instead of 1/2 lb. We liked the addition of ground beef but would have liked more of it, so next time I will add 1 lb of it and decrease some of the other ingredients. Thanks for a great recipe! I'll definitely make it again :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Wonderful and easy. Even my non-veggie hubby ate it up with no problem :) I used fresh spinach and it came out just fine. Just be sure if using fresh spinach to make sure it is covered with sauce or it will dry out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This is a great tasting veggie lasagna. I used artichoke hearts in place of the mushrooms. My lasagna was a lot runnier than I like - not sure if it was a sauce issue, or liquid from the veggies. I did not precook the noodles, so I thought they would absorb the extra sauce, but it didn't. Still, it tasted great, I'll just modify for the extra liquid next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      This was really good! I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta because its what I had. Turned out great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      This was great! I didn't have mozzarella on hand so I used monterrey jack and we were VERY pleased with the results. The pieces came out perfectly, and it wasn't running all over the plate like some recipes do. We'll definately be having it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Felt this was quite good for a vegetarian lasagna. I really don't like spinach but it was fine in this dish. Not sure if I just had soggy veggies or what but I felt it was a little runny, but still a great dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      my whole family loved this! i made it once last week and again this week. last week i realized my mozarella was expired so i unhappily used a mexican cheese blend and was very pleased with how delicious it was. this week i had the mozarella and parmesan and i love it both ways. i'm making another one tomorrow to freeze so i have it on hand for when my new baby is born in a few weeks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      i made this and it was great i used oven ready lasagna and i used low fat ricotta and fresh spinach which i added the spinach last. i added more spice and topped it with the mozzarella and parmesan cheese it was great i made it for thanksgiving dinner as well as a turkey everyone loved it. oh baby potabella mushrooms are the best try it youll see.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I LOVED this recipe! I even used a low fat tomato and basil Ragu pasta sauce. I used the oven ready lasagna noodles and they turned out great! I loved skipping the step of boiling the noodles. I also left out the mushrooms. This is so much better than beef lasagna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I have a question...... I want to try out this recipe; went to the store and grabbed fresh spinach instead of frozen. I see that a few other chefs substituted this too. I'm not the most experienced here and one of those people who need to measure *everything*. Can someone tell me how much fresh spinach should be used to taste great (but not too spinachy)? Any extra prep needed? THANKS! P.S. I added stars to be sure to not bring down the high rating... will come back with my real review later. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      This recipe rises or falls based on the spaghetti sauce. I used my fave as suggested but didn't think about whether it would work or not. My fave is a very sloppy sauce and this recipe really needs are much heartier one. I'll make it again with a different sauce next time as, apart from the sloppiness, it was delicious and the flavours worked well. The only other thing I will do differently is to use pre-cooked portabello mushrooms for added richness and less slop (mushrooms release a lot of liquid).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (355 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 473.1
     
    Calories from Fat 245
    51%
    Total Fat 27.2 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 15.7 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 138.5 mg
    46%
    Sodium 1133.7 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 11.2 g
    44%
    Protein 35.6 g
    71%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked lasagna noodles

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites