Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Irish Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Irish Stew

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2007

      Really looking forward to trying this one out on my Vegitarian Au Pair. I'm Irish and regularily make stews very similar to this one, normally with beef though. Little suggestion serve with mashed potato and/or add chunks of potato to the stew.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      Very good... I used a can of kidney beans instead of the TVP chunks & doubled the herbs ... It could take various combos & amounts of veggies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2011

      Superb! I am impressed. I really wasn't sure about this one. The broth sounded bland. Wasn't sure about the lentils. But it really comes out super! I made it exactly as written using rutabega and parsnips (except I substituted diced seitan for the TVP, and nutritional yeast for the maramite) At the end of the cooking time It had boiled down and I thought it was a bit thin. So I added another 1/4 cup lentils, a cup of carrots and another cup of mushrooms. I left it to simmer on low heat for about another 40 minutes. The house smelled wonderful! This is just like regular old fashion stew!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      I made this for a belated St Pat's feast, and it was my first experience with Marmite. It's, um, unpleasant in general, but absolutely great in this recipe. I used cubed tofu rather than TVP because I couldn't find chunk TVP. The tofu feel apart as the stew cooked, so that was a mistake, but it still tasted good. When I make this again (and I definitely will), I'll search harder for chunk TVP or just use the granule kind. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Just made this tonight in prep for tomorrow and it turned out very tasty! Think it'll be even better reheated. My only substitute was using equal amounts of nutritional yeast instead of marmite, and cubed tempeh instead of TVP. I also added in a bottle of Guinness (to my doubled recipe). The veggie bouillon I used is Rapunzel's no salt. I added only 1 cube per the recipe's 3 cubes, but generous on the other dried herbs. While red lentils may not be traditional, you can't even tell they are there. Seemed to add thickness and texture. I've never had true Irish stew, but this is hearty and wonderful vegetarian stew!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Delicious comfort food! A great idea for a bunch of root vegetables that I never know what to do with. Don't let the 1-star review fool you; that was merely a complaint about beer which is not actually an ingredient in the recipe. However, beer sounded like a good idea to me so I threw in a Sam Adams and it turned out really yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      Sooooooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Very good! I subbed Better Than Bullion No-Beef base for the Marmite, and added a cup of Guinness, doing my best to ignore the fish bladder thing. I subbed some homemade veggie broth for the water for some extra flavor. I also left out the fake meat and added a few extra lentils. I cooked up the onions as directed, then threw it all in the crock pot. I didn't get home until later than expected, so it cooked for about 12 hours. It was a little runny (the whole crock pot thing) so I added a bit of corn starch. Served it over red potatos mashed with scallions (I modified this recipe: http://www.recipezaar.com/Mashed-Potatoes-With-Green-Onions-54618), and some irish soda bread (SO GOOD: http://www.recipezaar.com/Irish-Rosies-Irish-Soda-Bread-20616). Great St. Paddy's Day meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      Awesome! We doubled the recipe and, with the help of a couple of sets of extra chopping hands, had it and the individual Irish soda breads on the table in under an hour after a busy day! So good, we did it two days in a row! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      Um, Guinness is not vegan. It's not even vegetarian. Comments from the UK Vegan Association's Raspberry Award to Guinness: Guinness's production techniques make use of Isinglass a type of gelatin made from the bladders of fish to remove yeast from the stout. Yet vegan-friendly companies such as Samuel Smiths and Pitfield Brewery have shown that fish-free vegan stout is possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      Lovely on a stormy night. Great flavor and texture. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      OMIGOSH!!!!! Yah, this is phenomenal! Even my carnivorous coworkers loved it. (I heard a lot of "tastes like chicken" about the TVP). I used frozen pearl onions instead of dicing, frozen sliced carrots, and I threw it all in the crockpot on HIGH for 4-5 hours. It was a HUGE hit!! Keep in mind, it will be salty because of the bouillon, marmite, and Braggs, but that's part of what makes it taste like real Irish stew. (Might try nutritional yeast instead of marmite next time - will thicken as well.) Also, I used more Guinness. Can't go wrong with that! ;o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Irish Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.4
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    67%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 53.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Braggs liquid aminos

    vegetable bouillon cubes

    marmite

    textured vegetable protein

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes