13 Reviews

Really looking forward to trying this one out on my Vegitarian Au Pair. I'm Irish and regularily make stews very similar to this one, normally with beef though. Little suggestion serve with mashed potato and/or add chunks of potato to the stew.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nadine81 May 24, 2007

I took this to a Lenten potluck dinner. It was delicious and I received many compliments. Once you get the ingredients together, it's very easy to make. I found the split red lentils in a natural foods grocery store and I used nutritional yeast flakes instead of the marmite. Also used textured nutritional flakes made from soy which worked fine. I made it on the stove in a pot and then transferred it to a crock pot that I took to church. I will definitely make this again, it's a pleasant and tasty change from my typical Lenten chili.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skomorucha March 19, 2016

Very good... I used a can of kidney beans instead of the TVP chunks & doubled the herbs ... It could take various combos & amounts of veggies

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beevil March 20, 2013

Just made this tonight in prep for tomorrow and it turned out very tasty! Think it'll be even better reheated. My only substitute was using equal amounts of nutritional yeast instead of marmite, and cubed tempeh instead of TVP. I also added in a bottle of Guinness (to my doubled recipe). The veggie bouillon I used is Rapunzel's no salt. I added only 1 cube per the recipe's 3 cubes, but generous on the other dried herbs. While red lentils may not be traditional, you can't even tell they are there. Seemed to add thickness and texture. I've never had true Irish stew, but this is hearty and wonderful vegetarian stew!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KittyCar March 17, 2010

Delicious comfort food! A great idea for a bunch of root vegetables that I never know what to do with. Don't let the 1-star review fool you; that was merely a complaint about beer which is not actually an ingredient in the recipe. However, beer sounded like a good idea to me so I threw in a Sam Adams and it turned out really yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferM February 17, 2010

Sooooooo good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prose February 17, 2010

Awesome! We doubled the recipe and, with the help of a couple of sets of extra chopping hands, had it and the individual Irish soda breads on the table in under an hour after a busy day! So good, we did it two days in a row! Thanks!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gretta Vosper March 11, 2009

Um, Guinness is not vegan. It's not even vegetarian. Comments from the UK Vegan Association's Raspberry Award to Guinness: Guinness's production techniques make use of Isinglass a type of gelatin made from the bladders of fish to remove yeast from the stout. Yet vegan-friendly companies such as Samuel Smiths and Pitfield Brewery have shown that fish-free vegan stout is possible.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
desjardin2002 March 14, 2008

Lovely on a stormy night. Great flavor and texture. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker January 08, 2008

Superb! I am impressed. I really wasn't sure about this one. The broth sounded bland. Wasn't sure about the lentils. But it really comes out super! I made it exactly as written using rutabega and parsnips (except I substituted diced seitan for the TVP, and nutritional yeast for the maramite) At the end of the cooking time It had boiled down and I thought it was a bit thin. So I added another 1/4 cup lentils, a cup of carrots and another cup of mushrooms. I left it to simmer on low heat for about another 40 minutes. The house smelled wonderful! This is just like regular old fashion stew!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma August 30, 2011
Vegetarian Irish Stew