10 Reviews

This was delicious! I couldn't find lily buds so I left it out and I used shitake mushrooms. My mum loved it - her only complaint was that the tofu was bland. Next time I'll saute it in some ginger and chili oil and then add it to the soup at the end.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zestylemos5834 November 26, 2013

Better than a restaurant! I used 1 T dark soy and 2 T light like a reviewer suggested and the consistency and color are beautiful. The only change I'll make next time is to use Chinkiang (black) instead of red wine vinegar. FYI at my Asian market the wood ear package says "dried auricularia" - they do look a little like ears, so that may help you find them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen December 26, 2008

Since I don't eat mushrooms I substituted matchstick carrots and red bell pepper (letting them boil for a while with the broth). I just added one egg and more tofu. Delicious soup, easy to make. BF liked this too. Vegetarian, of course, is best. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend March 20, 2013

Very tasty! Didn't have time to run to the Asian food market to get lily buds or the mushrooms-- so left out the lily buds, added extra bamboo, and used fresh mushrooms (about a cup). It was delicious-- thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah.provencal February 25, 2013

Great recipe! I love hot and sour soup but can never eat it in restaurants because of the soy sauce and my gluten allergy. I easily subbed tamari for the soy sauce in equal portions. My only suggestion is to follow the instructions on the package for the dried mushrooms. I didn't boil my dried lily buds first like the package said, just soaked in hot water. They came out kind of grainy even though they simmered for 30 min in the soup after the hot bath soak. Once I picked them out, it was great! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gfvegfan November 23, 2011

Fantastic! DH loves it too. Thank you , Evelyn/Athens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjif February 18, 2009

I have made this several times and each time it is a delight. We recently moved and now I have to make my own hot & sour soup to get anything decent. This is so easy. I found using 1 T. dark soy sauce and 2 T. light soy sauce gives it just the right color I am used to. I also like mine with a lil more vinegar. wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma256 November 04, 2008

Delicious! I had to go to China town to find some of the ingredients, but it was well worth it. I added extra red pepper to make it hotter. SO yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nycdvmlaura February 23, 2008

Excellent. No dried lily buds or wood ear mushrooms, but still excellent. I just upped the bamboo a bit to make up for lost texture. We just loved this--and it's vegetarian to boot! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock March 11, 2006

my husband and i really liked this recipe -- even though i didn't have the mushrooms or scallions on hand. i added a little more heat and vinegar to make it hotter. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
georgie January 24, 2006
Vegetarian Hot and Sour Soup