Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Gravy

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2010

      fantastic recipe! I've made additions according to my own personal taste but it works as a great basis. I put in a lot more flour which helps it thicken up quicker. I use the ratio of 2 cups milk (broth added) to 1/4 c flour. I also threw in a few morningstar farms fake sausage patties and chopped them up. The last ingredient I can't stress enough: Sage, about 2 tablespoons full. I wouldn't make it any other way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      I changed this u a little bit! I used an onion, clove of garlic, couple tablespoons of flour, a boulion cube, and water...this was great! I used it over stuffing for the holiday :) Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I'm a new vegetarian (after a long medical fast--I think I've learned my lesson) so I'm experimenting with a lot of vegetarian alternatives of my favorite meat dishes. This gravy tastes better a couple of hours after cooking. I used some Lipton Onion Soup Mix instead of a small onion (use in moderation). I also used lots of sliced up button mushrooms. Don't be surprised if it doesn't taste as "comforting" as a regular gravy since you're using vegetable broth. You might want to use cornstarch instead of flour if you want your gravy thick but don't want to put lots of flour in it. All in all, a good gravy! Thanks Tonkcats for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was wonderful! I used it with the asian tofu loaf recipe. I did add a habbanero sauce to spice it up a bit. Thanks for the great recipe. Jeanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      Really liked this! If you like chunky, mushroom gravies you'll like this! Easy to make, fool-proof.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Fabulous! Definitely needed more flour to make it thick enough. And it was much quicker than 20 minutes!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2007

      We made this gravy for dinner the other night. It was our favorite part of the meal! This is the best gravy my husband and I have ever had!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      I use this a lot, and just realize I'd never reviewed it. In terms of the amount of flour, I use the standard: equal amounts of butter and flour. If I'm using skim milk, I add a little more flour at the start. I've made this with and without mushrooms, depending on whether I have any or not. It's great both ways (although we're mushroom fans, so we prefer it that way). I also have occasionally increased the garlic. I served this at my first Thanksgiving--everything except the turkey itself was vegetarian. I heard a lot of compliments on the gravy from the meat eaters (i.e. everyone but me at the table). I also use it for a quick dinner, mixing it with Morning Star meal starters and putting it over noodles or rice, with steamed veggies as a side. If someone told me there was a better gravy recipe out there, I wouldn't believe them. Thanks Tonkats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Really tasty!! One downside was that it was a little chunky, but maybe thats how it was supposed to be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      Fantastic recipe! Yesterday was my first holiday as a vegetarian and I did not feel deprived at all, thanks to a great veggie stuffing & this gravy :) Thanks you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2005

      Excellent directions for vegetarian gravy. Your broth will determine how your gravy tastes so use a good one. I added some tahini and tamari to zip up ours and it was so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2005

      I think it was one onion so that's what I used. Iloved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2005

      Brilliant, thanks! We use Rice Milk in place of dairy sometimes so thats always an option for any Vegans out there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 38.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    89%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites