13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

fantastic recipe! I've made additions according to my own personal taste but it works as a great basis. I put in a lot more flour which helps it thicken up quicker. I use the ratio of 2 cups milk (broth added) to 1/4 c flour. I also threw in a few morningstar farms fake sausage patties and chopped them up. The last ingredient I can't stress enough: Sage, about 2 tablespoons full. I wouldn't make it any other way.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OwlMonkey March 28, 2010

I changed this u a little bit! I used an onion, clove of garlic, couple tablespoons of flour, a boulion cube, and water...this was great! I used it over stuffing for the holiday :) Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie Bogart December 25, 2009

I'm a new vegetarian (after a long medical fast--I think I've learned my lesson) so I'm experimenting with a lot of vegetarian alternatives of my favorite meat dishes. This gravy tastes better a couple of hours after cooking. I used some Lipton Onion Soup Mix instead of a small onion (use in moderation). I also used lots of sliced up button mushrooms. Don't be surprised if it doesn't taste as "comforting" as a regular gravy since you're using vegetable broth. You might want to use cornstarch instead of flour if you want your gravy thick but don't want to put lots of flour in it. All in all, a good gravy! Thanks Tonkcats for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arashijing August 15, 2008

This was wonderful! I used it with the asian tofu loaf recipe. I did add a habbanero sauce to spice it up a bit. Thanks for the great recipe. Jeanie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busybee_jrs January 14, 2008

Really liked this! If you like chunky, mushroom gravies you'll like this! Easy to make, fool-proof.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BerrySweet December 29, 2007

Fabulous! Definitely needed more flour to make it thick enough. And it was much quicker than 20 minutes!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHRISTYAM November 27, 2007

We made this gravy for dinner the other night. It was our favorite part of the meal! This is the best gravy my husband and I have ever had!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephped1 November 22, 2007

I use this a lot, and just realize I'd never reviewed it. In terms of the amount of flour, I use the standard: equal amounts of butter and flour. If I'm using skim milk, I add a little more flour at the start. I've made this with and without mushrooms, depending on whether I have any or not. It's great both ways (although we're mushroom fans, so we prefer it that way). I also have occasionally increased the garlic. I served this at my first Thanksgiving--everything except the turkey itself was vegetarian. I heard a lot of compliments on the gravy from the meat eaters (i.e. everyone but me at the table). I also use it for a quick dinner, mixing it with Morning Star meal starters and putting it over noodles or rice, with steamed veggies as a side. If someone told me there was a better gravy recipe out there, I wouldn't believe them. Thanks Tonkats!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
El Bee July 08, 2007

Really tasty!! One downside was that it was a little chunky, but maybe thats how it was supposed to be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ramona D March 24, 2007

Fantastic recipe! Yesterday was my first holiday as a vegetarian and I did not feel deprived at all, thanks to a great veggie stuffing & this gravy :) Thanks you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patriotsfan1977 November 24, 2006
Vegetarian Gravy