Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian French Onion Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian French Onion Soup

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2014

      Spectacular recipe. I'd increase the sherry quantity to 1/2 cup, otherwise perfect :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      This was a good base to work from however I could tell the measurements of the ingredients were off as well. For a four cup serving which equates to 32 ounces (your standard vegetable broth portion) I used two mid sized onions, two garlic cloves, two tablespoons of butter & one tablespoon of olive oil. I also adjusted the cooking sherry down to 1/4 cup and substituted out red wine vinegar for the sherry vinegar. In addition, I used regular yellow mustard for the dijon so as to not sweeten it up as much. Flour was also reduced down to one tablespoon. Lastly, I salted, peppered and added ground parsley at the end to get it exactly how I wanted it. The result was an aromatic gourmet soup that not only tasted amazing but looked beautiful as well. I would have rated this recipe five stars had they assembled it the way I have mentioned above.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I made the soup last night and had a bowl with lunch this morning and am rather disappointed. The soup is bland and I am really not looking forward to eating the rest of the pot. Made a written with one exception - no sherry vinegar on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Great vegetarian version of my favorite soup! I didn't have any sherry or sherry vinegar so I used merlot and apple cider vinegar because that's what I had on hand. Still turned out great! I also made sourdough bread bowls for this soup ... YUM! I just posted the recipe for the bread bowls on my Zaar page, but it came from http://cooklikeyourgrandmother.com/2008/09/how-to-make-sourdough-bread-bowls/ ...totally worth checking out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      The proportions were way off and there ended up being too much onion... and I only used 2 large onions. The soup was very bland (aside from the onion overload), and overall, I was very disappointed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Definitely the best vegetarian version of french onion soup I've ever made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      Very good! I added salt and pepper. DH loved it! I did not have find gruyere or jarlsberg cheese so I added mozarella it was fantastic. I used left over challa as I did not have other bread handy. This is a wonderful treat! Thnak you very much for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      I love this recipe. It really hits the spot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      I have made this soup many times. DH never had French onion soup until I made this. Now, whenever we go out, he orders French onion soup. His comment is always the same, "Yours is better," I make my own roasted vegetable broth which has almost a "beefy" taste (if you can call it that). I don't usually use sourdough bread but any Italian bread I happen to have handy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian French Onion Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 375.8
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    22%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 16.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 640.7 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 10.8 g
    21%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    sherry wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites