9 Reviews

Great casserole. There is so much flavor and it's spicy and we like it :) I haven't change a thing except that I used larger tortillas so I needed only 4. Thanks Deb :) Made for Photo tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette April 03, 2011

Good, but it would be better with a higher vegetable to cheese ratio. I'd add some portobello mushrooms, more zucchini,, and maybe some black beans. Leave the seeds in the jalapeño, otherwise you will hardly notice its presence. Double the amount of garlic. Maybe add some red pepper flakes?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rjpryan December 28, 2015

Great recipe! I skipped the corn and olives and served it with avocado and sour cream. My husband and I both loved it! Thanks for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raichka June 11, 2015

Super duper! Made this with green enchilada sauce like other reviewers, since that is what we like. I subbed black beans for the zucchini (DH is not a fan), and the beans were really great in it. I also added less cheese (just a grating on top) and used a fourth of the oil for sautéing. I used 9 tortillas in 3 layers and this fed 4 for us. Very yummy flavors, a definite repeat meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito July 27, 2013

I give this recipe 5 stars because they did not say that they used canned enchilada sauce. Make your own, it is easy. Leave out all tomato products and just use, diced onion, 4 to 5 tablespoons of chile powder and add a little oregano, cumin , garlic salt, broth, flour to make a roux and you have a great base to make it your own. (Total 5 to 6 cups of water and simmer 30 to 45 minutes.) I have other ingredients that are my signature for our familes' enchilada sauce. Experiment and make it your own just leave out anything tomato and you will have a real authentic Mexican enchilada sauce. You will never want canned again. Look at other recipes to get clues on what you might like to add. Always use corn tortilla for authentic enchiladas, flour are for burritos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_Fortuna April 30, 2013

Mmmm...cheesy, gooey goodness! I was tempted to add beans but decided to make this as written the first time, and it didn't disappoint. I used a combination of red and green enchilada sauce, which was fun and tasty :). Thanks for posting! Made for Best of 2012 Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian February 16, 2013

Really enjoyed this, scaling it down for 2. I used green enchilada sauce and added some beans. Thanks! Made for Best of 2012 event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 February 11, 2013

Very easy and satisfying. Made as directed. Thanks, Debbwl! Made for Best of 2012 tag game as recommended by Nancy's Pantry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees February 03, 2013

Wow, we loved this enchilada casserole. Didn't miss the meat at all! This casserole holds together well and the flavors just come together beautifully. Makes a great presentation dish and would be great for a Company dinner. We will definitely be having this dish again!!! This recipe is going into my Best of 2012 recipe file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration January 16, 2012
Vegetarian Enchilada Casserole Recipe