Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Chili

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2003

      Super recipe! We were on a very strict veggie diet and this came in handy. Everyone couldn't stop commenting on what a great taste this chili has. I did not add the can of beer nor did I remove the basil leaves after I simmered. I did have a little trouble finding the can of diced tomatoes with onion and garlic, but I did find it! Plus I think the entire process took an hour. Thanks so much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2002

      WOWIE!! We loved this incredible vegetable chili. I did as you suggested and used plain canned diced tomatoes and added 1 cup chopped onion and 3 minced cloves. I like using fresh ingredients whenever possible. The seasonings were just right for this family and got raves from everyone. This will be added to our "make often" file. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2003

      My mom and dad have been trying to adhere to a vegetarian diet for health reasons. I made this for us all to try. A huge success with all of us. Very spicy, hearty flavor and a great chunky texture. My husband and I salted ours but my parent's are not supposed to have much salt and did not complain of a bland flavor. That is miraculous. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      This was very good. I didn't have great northerns on hand, so I used black beans. We have a vegetarian in the family, sothis is perfect because even the meat eaters loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      I loved it! I have to admit that I did not use only the vegetables that are mentioned in the recipe. I put anything that was about to go off into the pot. Everytime I make this this I still do it that way. Still it turns out wonderful everytime. Yum, Yum, Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      We liked this, however, was expecting it to be a little more like "chili".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      It's a keeper! Good hearty veggie chili. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Our family loved this Chili, and I have two teenage daughters who seldom agree on anything! Just the right amount of spice and good texture. Thanks for sharing, we'll make this often in the winter. Jan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      I used sambal oelek (a tablespoonful)for my hot sauce and I really eyeballed the peppers and celery, just using up what I had in the fridge (probably more peppers than needed and less celery). I used fresh onion and garlic, and, as I only had 2 cans of kidney beans on hand, I made up the extra can with black beans. YUM! That's all I can say. And now my house smells good. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      I really like the deep flavor that beer adds to this recipe. I used a Miller Genuine Draft(dont know what kind i was supposed to use). I also made part of the chili with ground chicken. Both kinds(meat and nonmeat) were excellent. Had a nice thick consistency and deep red color. Really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      This was a really great chili! I upped the quantities of the chili powder and the hot sauce a little--maybe too much--because the recipe didn't look like it would be spicy enough, but the flavors were great. It made a big batch, but it was so good that it was still gone in two days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      This is one of the best chili's I've had, and I served it to my meat eating friends, and they all loved it as well. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      This recipe is truly a "keeper". I always prefer to make new recipes exactly as the the person submitting it says (at least the first time). I did so with this one and it was FABULOUS! I used Guiness Draught beer in it. If I would ever choose to fool around with this recipe, the only thing I may do is to add some ground chuck to make the recipe "carnivorous". Great job Nurse Di!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      I made this without the beer, still has a great taste and very filling. A little on the bland side though, 1/4 tsp hot sauce with this much chili is barely noticable. Will definately make it again (especially for backpacking trips) but with a lot more hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      This is a very good, quick and easy-to-make recipe for chili. I've made it several times. My family loves it! I always add chopped onion and 2-3 cloves of garlic no matter what kind of tomatoes I use, just because I like it that way. Yummy with cornbread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2004

      This recipe was fast and delicious!! I added a can of tomatoes with jalapeno peppers in it, which gave it a nice punch (I only had 3 cans of diced tomatoes!) I also added quartered mushrooms. My 11-yr old loves 'em and picks them out to eat first, then leaves the beans on the side. :) Thanks for the great dinners: I'll be freezing the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      I was actually surprised at how good this recipe was. Hearty and well seasoned. Easy on the diet and a good OAMC recipe. I froze half of it in serving size containers so my son can have something to eat when he gets home from school. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      I thought this was excellent! It made more than 8-10 servings for me though, which is fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 315.5
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    13%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 44.7 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 16.2 g
    65%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 18.1 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tomatoes with onion and garlic

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites