Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Game-Day Grub >

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Chili, Wings, Dogs & Beyond
    Jalapeno Poppers

    Jalapeno Poppers

    A Flavor Touchdown For Your Mouth
    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    Try One of These Sudsy Sippers
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Chili

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2008

      Best chili I have made. I loved every bite of it. It is excellent in between flour tortillas with cheese for leftovers. I used extra cilantro and parsely but followed the recipe exactly as is for rest. Excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2008

      Great chili! I've made it about 3xs in the past few weeks. I like mine really spicy, so I add some chili oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      As a new vegetarian I was looking for recipes that my family would eat too. My husband loves it and takes it to work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      It's pretty good chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I honestly thought this was more like a vegetable stew, but it was great either way! A few changes - used canned fire roasted tomatoes with medium green chilies and a few shakes of italian seasoning instead of the canned italian stewed tomatoes, doubled the beans, included 1/2 cup carrots and 1/2 cup celery, and didn't add the sugar or jalapeno since the canned tomatoes were very spicy and the carrots added sweetness. I also used dried parsley and cilantro instead of fresh. This is an excellent base to turn it into your own thing given the ease with which you switch around some of the ingredients and still have it taste great. A definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      Fabulous recipe! This was second best only to a recipe that was formerly made by a health food market that no longer exists. It'll make up for the loss! I had to sub an orange pepper (the store was out of red) and left out the cilantro and cumin since we aren't fans of either flavor. We also went ahead and left out the sugar. It just didn't need it! Great meal served alongside cornbread. We'll have leftovers for awhile since it's just two of us, but I don't think that will be a problem! Thanks for a great recipe, we'll be using this one a lot over the winter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      I've made this 3 times. The 1st time I used a no-salt-added chili powder from a recipe in The No-Salt, Lowest-Sodium, Light Meals Book, and couldn't find Italian stewed tomatoes, so I added 2 tsp. of Italian seasoning. I also doubled the parsley since I don't like cilantro. It was good, but I thought it was too salty. I don't like added sugar and was going to try adding carrots like other reviewers had the next time. The 2nd time, I seeded the zucchini a bit, diced the peppers, substituted 1/4 c of julienned carrot for the sugar, and reduced the salt by half. I also switched my chili powder recipe to one I adapted from Alton Brown and it really made an improvement (Chili Powder). The 3rd time, I made no further changes since this is my favorite vegan chili recipe of the 3 I've tried (2 from RecipeZaar; 1 from a cookbook) I've been on a quest, but plan to stop here since I took it (with my alterations) to a competition last night and it won 1st place (out of 7 entries), beating the others by a 50% margin. So kudos to MizzNezz for posting it, to the 18 reviewers who gave it 5 stars, making me choose this one in the first place, and to BerrySweet and HannahLantzer for their carrot suggestion! As far as storage goes, the zucchini gets a little soft when it's leftover, but I don't mind that much. They get even softer after freezing, but that's not going to prevent me from doing it since I like having some of this on hand. Thanks again for posting and reviewing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      Awesome! The only change was that I used minced carrots in place of the sugar, and I added in some cubed extra firm tofu for protein. Next time I'll throw in an extra can of beans, too. Very healthy, tasty & with just the right amount of spice and flavor. I'll be making this more this fall!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      This was SO incredibly good. To make 6 servings, I cut everything in half but the beans. I like my chili beany. I subbed the carrot for sugar (poster Hannah's idea- great idea). I added extra firm tofu crumbles that absorbed the chili flavors. I also added cayenne. My dad had to add sour cream and cheese to his bowl but I thought the heat on mine was perfect. I like it hot. Thanks MizzNezz, it was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      This chili was wonderful! I didn't have any zucchini or squash, but the reviews made it sound so great I tried it without and wasn't disappointed at all. Now I'm excited to see how it will taste once I add zucchini. Terrific reciepe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      I LOVE this recipe. So did the kids. The 5 year old ate her whole bowl full, which is odd for her. I didn't use the green pepper and used dark red kidney beand rather than black beans and left out the jalapeno since I had a 5 year old to feed. I served it over brown rice which added to its texture nicely. I think this ended up simmering for about 1 1/2 to 2 hours. Husband said it was great but would be better with meat, but thats just him. Maybe I will experiment with ground beef or beef stew chunks. I also look forward to playing around with different veggies. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      Yummy! I tweaked the recipe (of course), but it was essentially the same. (More zucchini, added corn, stuff like that.) Added a teaspoon of cayenne for a little heat; it added a soft glow without setting us on fire. This is definitely a keeper -- thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      This was the perfect blend of flavors for a delicious chili! I added crumbled extra firm tofu and my husband thought it was hamburger. I kept everything else the same except did not add salt due to all of the salt already in the canned goods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      this was awesome!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      Wonderful! I used 2 (14 1/2 instead of 28) cans of diced tomatoes to make it a bit thicker, and added a can of dark red kidney beans. Instead of a jalapeno pepper, I just sprinkled a good bit of cayenne pepper in the dish to give it a kick. Delicious dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      This is a 5-star all the way. Every single person I have made this for (vegetarian and otherwise) absolutely love this chili! It's filling and even better after as day or two, and very flexible with adding extras. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      easy and delicious,even for a meat eater, I did add a pound of 1/2" cubed portobello's to it ,added some meaty texture , my brother the vegeterian thought it was excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      I really liked the spicy flavour of this chili. I took it to a potluck and it wasn't as popular with some others. I think I would thicken it slightly next time, half the amt of zucchini and use crushed tomatoes in place of the tomato sauce. Also, was the parsley and cilantro supposed to be added at the end? I added it with the all the other ingredients and would probably add at the end next time. Thanks, MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      This was great, and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      Made it as is and was very good. I also made it with meat...I chunked left over tri-tip roast and added it. I used tomato paste and water instead of tomato sauce and also instead of Jalepenos I put in a teaspoon of Emeril's Essence. Everybody at the family picnic raved!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.6
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    22%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 711.9 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites