Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Game-Day Grub >

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Essential Tailgating Eats

    Chili, Wings, Dogs & Beyond
    Jalapeno Poppers

    Jalapeno Poppers

    A Flavor Touchdown For Your Mouth
    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    10 Bubbly Beer Cocktails

    Try One of These Sudsy Sippers
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Vegetarian Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Vegetarian Chili

    Average Rating:

    61 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 61

    Sort by:

    • on August 14, 2011

      We have been looking for a good vegetarian chili for years - we didn't find a good one with this recipe we found a GREAT chili. The first time we made it we took it to a pot luck dinner. After lots of scoffing from the men about it being vegetarian they ALL went back for seconds!!
      The first time we used a chipotle chili in a little adobe sauce and reduced the chili powder to two tbsp - this was an ideal temp for not so adventurous chili lovers. As I said above, it was a big hit with everyone. The next time we used jalapeno and again reduced the chili powder to 1 1/2 tbsp. It made a VERY flavorsome chili which is not heavy or greasy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Favorite chili recipe! and makes a good base to experiment with a few different ingredients. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      I won a chili cookoff at work with this recipe. My meat loving competitors were pretty ticked off. I love this chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      I made a few changes as I had Roma tomatoes on hand; pureed w/ 2 whole carrots. I used drained limas as I can't tolerate most beans......very tasty! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      This was so much better than traditional chili. It was like a hearty vegetable soup chili. I thought the pintos were great, but used twice as many black beans as called for. I also added a celery stick after reading the other reviews. Very, very good, thank you! I have been looking for a vegetarian chili recipe like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This is delicious. I did not have bell peppers so I used carrots and celery. It is as chunky and hearty as any meat chili and has twice the flavor b/c of the jap and spicy tomatoes. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      Great Chili. Better than non-vegetarian. I left out zucchini and used regular stewed tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      This is a great recipe. I've made it several times in the last couple months, so it's a keeper. We prefer less chunky soups, so I whirl the sauteed vegetables and one can of tomatoes in a blender. I also use a can of chili beans (in their sauce) in place of the pintos. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Delicious and better the next day! I used black bean, chick peas, and white beans. I added carrots, and a 3rd zucchini. I skipped the jalapeno, and cumin. I added paprika and sea salt. I also used some vegetable broth, not a lot. Its good to have to add some the next day as everything thickens. I sliced some avocado on top-yum! Non vegan/vegetarians loved it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      This was amazing. I subbed the canned stewed tomatoes and tomatoe paste for homeade stewed tomatoes. Also I put morning star meal starters imitation ground beef in it. I just put that in with all the rest of the stuff and it was excellent. Just enough kick. I topped it with shredded cheese and sour cream. I served it with fresh cornbread and it was great. I will deffinately be making this all winter long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      This was great! But to be honest, I am cheap.. I went with the basic ingredients sans the the seasonings, cilantro, and parsley. I purchased a "wick fowlers" 2 alarm chili kit at the grocery store and used that for seasoning. I only used one 28oz can of italian tomatoes and one other 15 oz can. Threw the whole thing in the crock pot for a few hours on high.. Came out great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Best chili I've had in a long time. I'm not a huge fan of cilantro but I didn't mind it in this recipe at all. Made exactly as written and it turned out perfect. Thanks MizzNezz, as always you never disappoint. Adding this to my vegetarin keeper cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

    • on October 06, 2009

      This is the best vegetarian chili I've had. Most recipes I've made needed rice to add heartiness, but not this one. A couple small changes - a little extra zucchini, 2 cans kidney beans instead of 1 can pinto, and 2 jalapenos instead of 1. The suger and red bell pepper offset the heat really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      This was very good and easy to throw together. I served it over brown rice. Healthy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      This was VERY good...would make again. NOTE: Makes A LOT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      mmmmmmmm this was so tasty. I used sweet bell peppers which gave it a sweet and hot flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Best vegetarian chili recipe ever! Have made it twice-the 2nd time I cooked it a bit with lid off to make it thicker. Just spicy enough- and so low fat & good for you! Yummy with some low-fat sour cream on top, or a sprinkle of cheese, good with cornbread on the side...and even better the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      Fantastic!! Added one teaspoon of ground cloves and it turned out awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Very tasty chili! I made it the night before, refrigerated it and then heated it in a crock pot on high for four hours. Love the variety of veggies. Could add mushrooms too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Vegetarian Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (306 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.6
     
    Calories from Fat 41
    22%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 711.9 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 9.0 g
    36%
    Sugars 9.5 g
    38%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes